We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel had all the usual features of a modern chain hotel, and the room had all the usual fittings. Free wifi was very slow, but a faster service was available if paid for. The main downside, not within their control, was a lot of noise from people queueing for a night club nearby.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AveragePunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. Being a city centre hotel we do face one downside like the rest of other city centre hotels with the noise problems coming from the clubs and bars locally, but I do understand the inconvenience it must have caused and would like to offer my appologies for the same.If you need a quieter room please let us know in advance and we shall get a quiter room facing our beautiful lobby.
Thank you again for taking your time to write this feedback and would hope to welcome you back when you are in Cardiff.
Warm Regards,
Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,016 - 1,022 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel is in definate need of a refurbish! Its in a great location, right next to the main Cardiff shopping centre, so you've got access to the cinema, resturants and great shops. A short walk from the train station and also the Millenium Stadium.

But the actual hotel was not what I would expect from the Carlson chain. The hotel itself looks dated and the rooms are very old and tatty. The carpet in my room was ripped, the wall paper pealing away and the wall had a number of holes left from where something had previously been fixed to it.

I did eat in the bar and the food was fine, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

To put my review in context I stay in Cardiff a couple of nights every week on business and usually in the Radisson Blu (which is just down the road) or The Marriot.

Room Tip: My advice pay the extra and stay in the Radisson Blu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinsparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback. I am very disappointed to see that we did not meet your expectation. I am aware that some of the rooms are in need of refurbishment which we are planning to undertake some time this year.
I do appologise for the inconvenience caused and please don’t hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss this issue further.
Be rest assured that we have taken all the internal measures possible to make sure this issues don’t repeat again.
Warm Regards,
Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of friends and I stayed here for one night on the bank holiday weekend, and we might as well have stayed out all night as we certainly didn't sleep in our room!

Good points - good location and room was clean, very compact and felt small, but clean nonetheless!

Now for the bad - We were in room 103, which is one of the rooms overlooking the reception area. This means you can't open the window and get any fresh air, there's also no daylight which is a really strange sensation!!

The lack of window also made it REALLY hot!! There was air con in our room but after a couple of hours getting ready in the room we had the door propped open, convinced it wasn't actually working. A floor fan was provided (I assume other people have complained of the same problem) but that was loud and having it on all night prevented us from getting any sleep.

We attempted to phone reception at about 1am to stress the fact that we couldn't sleep due to the heat and no one was there, even though the bar was still staffed.

We complained the following morning and were told that as we had paid cash in advance we couldn't be given any kind of refund (unless we had paid via credit card) so we had to contact the hotel the following week to chase a resolution.

To be fair to the management they have now offered us a £50 refund (about half of what we paid for the room) and I am happy with how they resolved the problem.

Just very disappointed about the stay, especially when the Park Inn was much more expensive than the Premier Inn nearby, and in my opinion didn't compare!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback.
It was a pleasure speaking to you the other day, and I am glad that you are happy with the out come as a solution for the inconvenience caused.
Again, I do appologise for the inconvenience caused during your stay and we have taken all the internal measures possible to make sure that these issues don’t repeat again.
Please don’t hesitate to call or drop me a line if your travel brings you back to this wonderful city.

Warm Regards,
Mahesh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Well where to start After our palaver at booking last September we had hoped our stay would be perfect. Phoned in advance to book a disabled parking space told no problem done for us. Arrived no spaces parked down road receptionist only said that no one takes notice anyway what an attitude. Went to eat in restaurant starter still frozen no sides with steaks even though previously eaten there when there were. Told menu changed fault on both sidesbut feel this should have been pointed out when we only ordered meat. Even though this meal was courtesy of the manager due to previous problems we could not eat just lumps of meat and did not have time to wait for sides as returned starter had taken a further 15 mins to arrive.Staff bent over backwards we could have eaten from room service when we returned but to avoid hunger and further disappointment we ate out. On plus side hotel is spotless rooms great staff superb but hotel is very noisy checked out before 9 to go home and sleep. Supposed to be returning to hotel in aug with grandson but will probably go elsewhere as few niggles let hotel down but staff are a credit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback about us. I do want to apologise about the parking as we do book spaces for parking if you have disabled batch. Also want to apologise for the inconvenience you were caused with regards to food in the restaurant. I have taken up these issues with the relevant department heads who in turn have taken all corrective actions to make sure that these issues don’t repeat.
I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room with all the facilities we had to offer in the room. Thank you again for the time to write this feedback as it serves as a very useful tool to fine tune the operation.
Warm Regards,
Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Got a great deal for this hotel (£42 B&B) as we were going to a concert in the Motorpoint Arena, perfect as it's literally just across the road!
Polite service and efficient check in and out from the staff. The room was modern and perfectly adequate for our needs. I think our room (113) was adapted for disabilities so we had a bath and shower and was slightly more spacious. Comfy beds!
Breakfast was good, plenty of choice & not too cramped in the dining area considering it was a weekend.
Would definitely recommend this hotel, particularly as it's in the perfect location for drinks, food, concerts and shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with all the facilities that were offered with it.
As you said about our location, which we take extreme pride in as we are situated in the city center close to all the major shopping center and the tourist attraction that Cardiff has to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback for us and I hope to see you again when your business or pleasure brings you back to our wonderful city.
Thank you once again.
Warm Regards,
Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

There are cheaper hotels in Cardiff and there are better hotels but for value for money, it's hard to fault the Park Inn. The rooms are exactly what you'd expect from a modern 3 star hotel. Comfortable and reasonably well equipped but a standard double bed rather than a queen or king size.

The buffet breakfast was pretty good too and staff were very pleasant.

You're right next to the Motorpoint Arena and St Davids Centre. Also St Davids Hall is about 10 minutes walk so the location couldn't have been better. The down side is the parking under the hotel is expensive but there's an open air car park nearby for £5 for 24 hours, which isn't too bad for a city centre.

The atrium downstairs is smart and the bar area looked good too but we didn't use it.

There's a Tesco's Extra two minutes walk away if you need anything and a 10 screen cinema too.

The hotel was looking a bit tired in areas that don't really matter like corridors but at £65 a room per night with breakfast and slap bang in the centre, who cares if the carpet in the corridor is a bit faded?

Room Tip: 5th floor rooms are further away from any traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turnertactics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with all the facilities that were offered with it.
As you said about our location, which we take extreme pride in as we are situated in the city center close to all the major shopping center and the tourist attraction that Cardiff has to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback for us and I hope to see you again when your business or pleasure brings you back to our wonderful city.
Thank you once again.
Warm Regards,
Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Located close to the city centre and close to transport links. Check-in fast and friendly and room is spacious and clean. The corridor decor is a little tired in places, but the room was well decorated and modern. Has the all important in-room free wifi and a desk, so scores well for my business needs. Slightly disappointed that it has a walk-in shower and not a bath (personal preference after a long day of business meetings and travel) but I guess that's better for the environment. I'd use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scobesfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with all the facilities that were offered with it.
As you said about our location, which we take extreme pride in as we are situated in the city center close to all the major shopping center and the tourist attraction that Cardiff has to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to write this feedback for us and I hope to see you again when your business or pleasure brings you back to our wonderful city.
Thank you once again.
Warm Regards,
Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre

Address: Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $66 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the city, opposite Cardiff International Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn Cardiff
Cardiff Park Inn
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing