We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Restaurant. It would be quicker to catch the fish myself!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I didnt stay at the hotel so cant comment on this, however, i did use the restaurant for dinner before attending a show at the CIA. We arrived 2 and 1/2 hours prior to our show starting to give us plenty of time to eat. The restaurant was about half full when we were seated. We had to wait over ten minutes before the waitress asked us if we wanted a drink. She then disappeared without taking our food order and it took 15 minutes for the drinks to arrive. We then ordered food which was simple fish and chips. After 3/4 hour waiting for our food i asked the waitress how long our food would be as we had a show to go to. She looked blankly at me and then went to find out. She returned stating it wouldn't be long. Another 15 minutes went by and still no dinner. The waitress then told me that another waitress had mistakenly given our food to another table. Another 15 minutes later my food arrived and it wasn't even edible. The fish was burnt and dried out and the peas and chips were cold. Not happy. I heard several other tables asking where their food was. Terrible food and terrible service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ALC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am very disappointed to hear about your recent dining experience in our hotel. Please contact me directly on maheswaran.thangaraj@rezidorparkinn.com as I would like to discuss a solution to your experience if you would like to.

Sorry once again.
Hope to hear from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,122 - 1,128 of 1,533 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed at the Park Inn for the Donny Osmond covert that night, perfect location to be able to walk across the road into the Motorpoint Centre to see Donny.

Hotel parking limited and we managed to squeeze the Astra into the last corner space. Reception was efficient and the room was ready on time. Good room comfortable bed and well appointed as you would expect at a Radisson Group Hotel. A few small details such as the shower could have done with a better clean to get the mould off the shower screen edges, by and large the room was good.

Almost the entire hotel was booked for Donny Osmond concert people and the restaurant was open at 17.00 hours to get us all fed and into the concert for 7.00. We booked a table for 17.30. That is where things went wrong, people were complaining after more than hour no mains had been served, I went up spoke to the restaurant manager and asked for our food to be expedited as we also waited over an hour. We were lucky and got fed although several started walking our as they had not been served.

Only problem we had was my wife ordered fish and chips with tarter sauce and they served up horseradish, asked the waiter to change it for tarter and again we got horseradish. We did not send it back as we probably would never have seen any food before the concert. I order spatchcock chicken with Lyonnais potatoes and got boiled new potatoes with a cream sauce which was an interesting variation on Lyonnais. Chicken was fine.

Breakfast was good standard buffet style with well cooked decent quality fair.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyHilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am pleased to hear that you did enjoy the location of the hotel and as you said you can’t be much closer that this to the Motor point arena. I have shared your comment with my reception team and they are happy to hear that your check in process was quick and efficient.
Thanks to bring to my notice the minor deficiency in the room and I am sure to take it up with the concerned department.
With regards to the poor service in the restaurant I do want to apologize for the service and we never overboard with the intention of accommodating too many guest ,one of our order taking system went down that night which mainly let us down.
I do want to assure you that it’s a one off occasion and this is not the usual standard that we practice in our restaurant.
I would like the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and give us the chance to serve you better.

Kind Regards,

Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel, but a little disappointed to find they could not cater your requirements because the hotel was full. We only wanted two pillows, but it seems when the hotel is full, they have no spares! The toilet roll holder had broken, and because we were over the foyer, it was extremely noisy with singing at the top of voices until after midnight - having a good time obviously, shame everyone else had to suffer.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room over the foyer and bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to see that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. I do apologize for the inconvenience you were caused as you didn’t receive the extra pillow you requested. Just be assured I have taken all the internal measures to make sure this doesn’t happen again. And the problems in your room has been addressed and corrective actions have been taken. With regards to the noise we do have a very strict no tolerance policy and when we receive any complaints we tend to take immediate action to sort out the situation as long as the guest informs us straight away. Again, I would like to take the opportunity to apologize again and hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you better.
If you wish to discuss the issue further don’t hesitate to contact me directly at Maheswaran.thangaraj@rezidorparkinn.com
Warm Regards,
Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was wary of where I was staying at £54 for 2 adults including breakfast!!! Amazed at fab location, polite & helpful staff. It was a lovely hotel, room was huge, breakfast fab. Only down side was even though heating was on full, the room didnt seem to warm up. Will defo stay there again

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niknak1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
What a nice start of my day !! I am so delighted to see that you had a enjoyable stay with us.
As you said we take pride in our location and make sure to keep the rates at par with our competitors. My staff are pleased that their service was appreciated in this forum. We have already sorted out the heating issues in the room taking the recent weather into account we have increased the temperature in the rooms.
Again, thank you for the wonderful review and would hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed on a Wednesday night for a business trip and paid £65 for room only. The room was ample sized with a good sized bathroom beds comfortable. The mattress errs on the firmer side which I prefer.

Location wise it's within a couple of minutes walk to St Mary's street and lots of bars and restaurants. The lobby/atrium also has a good if a little small bar area which was good to finish the evening off in.

Overall very good value for money and I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bacardo_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review. I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your room with all the facilities that come with it.
Most of our guests agree the fact of our perfect location to enjoy Cardiff with everything that the city has to offer.
Hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,

Mahesh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Overnight stay travelling on business. Well situated, in the city centre,messy reach to the main shops and close to the railway station. Well appointed and a delightful central atrium with reception and bar.

Room well furnished, lots of extras unexpected at this price point, hair dryer, ironing board, iron and free safe.

Breakfast was buffet style and plentiful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmyS383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahesh j, General Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your time in posting your feedback.
I am very pleased to know that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

stayed here when we went up for the ronan keating concert which was brill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!after a bit of confusion over booking which was sorted very efficient by the duty manager rabbi he was brilliant always smiling and very helpful made our stay very relaxed ,thank you rabbi ,lovely clean hotel with amazing food .will be booking again right opposite the motorpoint arena a big bonus !!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mags l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre

Address: Mary Ann Street, Cardiff CF10 2JH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $62 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located in the heart of the city, opposite Cardiff International Arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Hotel Cardiff
Park Inn Cardiff
Cardiff Park Inn
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Park Inn By Radisson Cardiff City Centre Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing