We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed October 29, 2008

The hotel is in an excellent location in a quiet spot on the edge of an old dock in a residential area about a ten-minute walk to Cardiff Bay with all the entertainment and restaurants available there. Plenty of free parking. Some rooms overlook the dock and others the car park. It’s about a 15 minutes walk to the City centre. There are frequent buses to and from the city to the Bay (No 6). Return ticket £1.70, Day ticket costs £3.

The hotel is fresh and clean with a welcoming reception and bar area. Staff were friendly. Rooms are compact and ok for couples but a bit cramped with more. We had a double bed which was fine and we also had a small double sofa bed, which was just ok for our 16 yr old son, but I wouldn’t want to try and sleep 2 children much over 5 years old on it. It was also quite soft and not very comfy. But – Holiday Inn is one of the few hotels that let an older child share a room.

The room was clean with a flat screen TV and hair dryer. Not much storage/hanging space. Bathroom had a nice and fairly powerful shower. Towels were fluffy and clean.

Continental breakfast is included. Cereals, pastries, toast and jam, yoghurt, fruit etc. Unlimited orange juice and coffee. Free local and the Independent newspaper. Very civilised at breakfast, helpful staff and overlooking the old dock.

There is a bar but no restaurant although you can order take away food. There is a pub next door, which serves food (The Wharf). Lots of restaurants in the Bay.

We paid in advance - £70 for the first two nights and for some reason it went up to £79 for the Tuesday night! Good value. Booked two weeks in advance on Holiday Inn website. Noticed price had gone up if you booked nearer the stay. Was half term week so hotel pretty full.

Altogether we got what we paid for and what we expected. It was clean and functional and in a good location for visiting the sites of Cardiff. Would use it again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

819 - 825 of 874 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in September and found the location close to the bay area (about 10 mins walk) and 15 mins from the city centre, which was ideal.
Reception very helpful and hotel is comfortable although a little bit 1980s. Free breakfast (cereals, croissants, etc) is a nice touch and there is also a small bar area.
Room was spacious, but only has a shower.
Parking is free, which is great in a city where parking is quite pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoodleandFaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2008

It is true that you get what you pay for but here you get that bit more. The holiday inn express is not in the center of Cardiff near the castle but as I was staying here with work for 2 weeks I wasn't after the sightseeing. I was surprised to find the Cardiff Bay near Mermaid Quay with loads of bars and restaurants. You are also on the tour bus route if that is what you are after.

The hotel itself is by the river and has a great outside space / bar if the weather behaves itself. The breakfast is simple but perfect - just like any other Express. The rooms again are clean and spacious and there is plenty of parking.

I am struggling to find any negatives, I would say this is hands down one of the best Expresses I have stayed in and I would guess I have probably stayed in most. The only thing I can say that is a minus point is that because the weather was really really bad when I was there you didn't feel like going out of the hotel and that is where you miss a hotel restaurant. There is only so much takeout pizza one person can have!!!!!!!!

I can imagine this is a great stop over fir families as well as us sado business travelers!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

we stayed here for one night on 14th july 2008. The first thing is the car park is free, always a plus point if traveling by car. the hotel is situated near the river and is a pleasant view if you get one of the over looking rooms. we found the hotel staff very pleasant. more than happy to help in any situation. each member of staff greeted us upon arrival and throughout our stay made a point of saying good morning/afternoon etc. the cleaners were also very polite and greeted us with friendly good mornings while passing, you dont get that many places. the rooms are fair sized and clean. The bar is nice and has a good pint at reasonable prices. on our leaving of the hotel our bill was delt with quickly and was made to feel welcomed back. This has been my first express holiday inn stay, usually i go for travel inn travelodge etc, but i would for sure look out for these hotels again and will stay in cardiff again for sure. thanks to all that work there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank thegooners2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I was a little apprehensive having seen some of the hypercritical reviews about this place but was pleasantly surprised overall.

The location is great for a visit to Cardiff with city centre and the revitalised and vibrant bay area only a short walk away. Car parking was adequate and free and road access very good.

Welcome at reception was warm, friendly and most helpful as was the reception staff at all times. Room was light, airy, well equipped for a budget hotel and serviced/maintained to a very high standard. No complaints here! Housekeeping staff dealt with my requests quickly, efficiently and in a pleasant manner.

Breakfast was "busy" but staff always at hand to deal with refills and queries.

Our only problem during the stay was due to a raucous youth rugby touring team with little or no respect for other guests though staff did their best to deal with the problems as they arose.

I would stay here again and would recommend for location, value for money and service.

Dave Evans - Pembroke. w. Wales

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank daydster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

Stayed here on business in July this year. Had to change rooms three times before we got a clean one, one which had windows that actually closed (necessary to shut out the road noise), and a sofa you could actually want to sit on. All the rooms we saw were dingy, but I did note that some were being re-furbished.

On the bright side - Breakfast was a simple but good (self serve light buffet) and the location was spot on for exploring the Bay area and the town.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizaWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Stayed here for 1 night in Aug 2007. The only non smoking room they had was a wheelchair access room so we took that. We found the room to be very comfortable and spacious. The only problem was the shower flooded the whole bathroom as it was a wetroom.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from Cardiff Bay and about 10 minutes to the city centre. You are allowed to leave your car in their car park after you've checked out at a charge of £2 a day so we found this cheaper than parking in the city.

There is a large restaurant/pub next door and lots more choice in the Bay which is where we chose to eat.

Breakfast is ok being the usual selection of cereals, toast and croissants.

Overall we found the hotel to be very clean and would definately recommend staying here to visit Cardiff.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lori62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $59 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing