We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Service and a Comfortable and Convienient Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for one night as a "spur of the moment" visit to Cardiff.
The staff welcomed us in a warm and friendly manner and our room was available before our expected book-in time so we were made to feel welcome. We were given advice on how to reach our intended destination - the Dr Who Experience - and where we could eat.
The hotel is about a 20-30 minute walk (more of a stroll) to the Dr Who Experience.
The car park is barrier controlled as is secure. Our room overlooked the old docks and was very well soundproofed. The room itself was very clean with tea and coffee making facilities; free wifi and a flat screen TV (free normal tv). The desk and sofa bed were useful for doing a little pc work.

The breakfast is of the buffet styled and is well provided for.

I would recommend this hotel for its excellent customer service and its location within the Cardiff Bat area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bravo_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 881 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

Upon arrival, we were greeted by a lovely lady who made us feel incredibly welcome. We were provided with lots of information and a map that the lady marked out for us with a highlighter. Our room was lovely and very clean. The bed was comfortable, we were given free wifi, normal tv was free and we had a lovely view of the water. We stayed for 3 nights. We slept wonderfully on the comfortable bed and awoke each morning to a free breakfast buffet which offered something for everyone. Not only is the hotel next to a very charming pub, it is also within walking distance of The Red Dragon Centre, Cardiff Bay, The Millenium Centre, Mermaid Quay, The Doctor Who Experience, Cardiff Bay Barrage and Cardiff City Centre. Absolutely brilliant. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear LeighMcCarthy

I am so pleased to read that your found your stay with us to be 'absolutely brilliant'. We are really lucky with our location here close by to so many of the great attractions which the city has to offer, which we think makes us the perfect base.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

After experiencing suburban Cardiff (Took the wrong turning off the motorway), this hotel was just what I needed.
The location is picture-esque. Situated near part of the dock, it is great to sit outside with a drink on a warm summers evening. Not just that, but it is only a 10 minute walk to the Bay one way and 10 minute walk to the city centre to other.
The staff were superb what I saw if them. They were scarce but we're doing something every time I saw someone.
The room was fine, clean which it slavery room should be.
Breakfast was standard but was constantly restocked due to the demand. Hot food stayed hot which was a positive.
To my surprise the bar/restaurant was reasonably priced but sadly I chose to eat out in the city centre and didn't buy a drink when I returned to the hotel.
Overall a fantastic location, great staff and a reasonably priced bar makes for a swift return and five stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baxi3719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Baxi3719

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times and as I needed to visit Cardiff again I checked out the website and found rooms for £25.00 per night; a great post-Christmas offer. The service was friendly and my stay was comfortable and relaxing. The staff are helpful and attentive and the hotel is clean, tidy and well run. The price included breakfast, internet access and a copy of the i Independent. When booking it is as well to be clear what you are being offered because my reservation said no breakfast and internet access was not free to the hoi polloi. However, that turned out not to be true, which is a sensible move by the hotel management because it costs little and it is mean to ask guests to pay, as many other hotels do. I can recommend it as a modestly priced, unpretentious, conveniently situated hotel that will not disappoint.

Room Tip: The hotel has a central corridor with rooms either side. One side face the car park the other looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakselus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear Lakselus

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, which was on one of our fantastic offers. I'm pleased that you were able to take advantage of this deal, which included our Free Wifi and Free Breakfast.

I'm very pleased to read that you were able to relax during your visit and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Arrived tired after long journey , receptionist welcoming and smiling. Nothing too much. Immediately arranged for extra duvet to soften mattress and extra pillows. Room pre heated when we arrived.

Breakfast - the area clean and the food fresh and plenty available.

Free newspaper available. The reception clean, the bar and snooker table also clean and bright.

The only snag was the dispensers on the wall - much prefer little bottles of shampoos etc., not enough hand tissues.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked a last minute, child free night away as a treat for ourselves. It was only £51 for a double room including breakfast even though we booked direct through the Holiday Inn website.
It is located in the more industrial side of town, however, views are ok and location is excellent.
The main shopping/bar area of Cardiff is only a 15-20 minute walk away. A 10 minute walk in the opposite direction leads to the harbour front area with bars/restaurants and also a river taxi to town. Buses run frequently (even on Sundays) to and from the town centre too.
Hotel staff were friendly and even though we turned up early (10am) they bent over backwards to find a room for us that was ready.
Car parking is £5 although there are some free spaces just outside.
Breakfast was usual Holiday Inn buffet and not bad either.
Definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Odd numbers have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buzzjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Dear buzzjordan

Thank you so much for the great review and recommendation of the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon - and remember up to 2 kids can stay free in one of our family rooms!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

The hotel is set in a useful location in that its both walking distance to the bay and the city centre. It also has nice views over the wharf, and a handy pub next door if you want lunch/dinner close by during your stay.
Staff were friendly. Room was reasonably clean and functional - nothing jaw dropping but perfectly adequate for the price and what you would expect. Breakfast surpassed my expectations for an included in price buffet and compared to some of the reviews on here.
Slightly begrudged paying the parking although I knew of this when booking (and probably saved more in parking fees because we could walk places so maybe i shouldnt grumble too much!) - perhaps 1 space per room could be free then those with more than 1 car or who took up more than 1 space with their parking could pay?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan007hughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $58 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing