We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, just what you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Exeter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average, just what you need.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not a bad hotel all in all. Very good location if you have a car as very close to all the things to do in Cardiff such as St David's, Mermaid Quay, Millennium centre etc.
Breakfast wasn't bad as included in the price, a few hot items, tea, coffee, cereal, a lot of choice really.
A few bad points: The pillows were very flat and we only had 1 each, there wasn't any 'backup' pillows, although I'm sure these could have been arranged if I had asked.
The fire alarm went off at 1am for a long period of time and then wen't off again. Not the hotel's fault as a drunk party had set it off but no communication form the hotel as regards to safety.
Good points
Very good price for Cardiff
A very nice man on the front desk was prompy and friendly and was a credit to Holiday inn.
Parking was £5 a day - but this is cheaper than other areas in cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natztastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Natztastic

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay of our Hotel. We do appreciate all feedback received, as this enables us to continually focus on our customer service.

I was sorry to read that you did not find our pillows comfortable. Our reception and housekeeping teams are more than happy to supply additional pillows - and a choice of either soft or firm if required.

I understand that the fire alarm was activated during you stay - which can be disorientating for anyone whilst in an unfamiliar environment. I have noted your comments with regards to communication from the staff here at the hotel and will make sure that re-iterated during our training.

On a positive note, thank you for your comments with regards to the member of staff which you encountered at reception - I will make sure that your thoughts are shared with them.

Thank you once again for taking the time to let us know your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    338
    174
    45
    9
See reviews for
213
290
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nicely situated alongside the Atlantic warf, we were pleasently surprised by the standard of this hotel. It clearly appeals more to the business person, but situated only 15 mins form town or from Cardiff bays restaurants etc, it is good as a reasonably priced holday base also. The staff could not be more helpful. A couple of things stopped me giving this 5 stars:
1. Our room 119 had poor seals on the windows so there was more noise than perhaps there should have been from the outside.
2. brakfast appears to be on a first come first serverd basis. A help yourself affair with plenty of variety initially but was not topped up as it was used, so by the time we got down to breakfast all that was left of the hot stuff was, sausage, scrambled egg, beans and toast, and all these were pretty awful really. But that was it really, otherwise good place and we would go back. Another thing in it's favour is the pub next door 'The Warf' Excellent food and beer.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the warf side, at night the lights on the water are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kongogasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Kongogasho

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay.

I do appreciate your feedback with regards to the windows. You will be pleased to read that we are in the process of finalising a programme of works which will include window replacement, which means that the issue you have described will be resolved.

With regards to breakfast, in August 2011 Holiday Inn Express enhanced their FREE continetal breakfast with selected hot favourites, including Scrambled Egg, Sausage and Baked Beans. Many of our customers do feel that alongside the cereals, pastries, yoghurts and fresh fruit that it really does give them value for money.

I am really pleased to read that you will be back, and very much look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is my third time of staying at this hotel, which must be some form of recommendation. It is very typical of the Hoilday Inn Express brand. Very good value for money, especially with breakfast included. Generally, they are no frills, but certainly a step up from Travelodge and a little better than Premier Inn. It is in a good location, midway between the City centre and the Sennedd/Quayside area, which are within walking distance.

Rooms are standard for the Express brand. The heating in my room was difficult to operate - cold on arrival, but then too hot in the middle of the night having played around with the settings before going to bed. It has a bar next to reception, but with very limited choice - adequate for a night cap.

I would use the hotel again, but as a base for getting out and about, and not for spending too much time in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear MDS24

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry that you had an issue with the heating in your room on arrival. I have asked our Housekeepers to ensure that the heating in switched on prior to Guest's arrival, to avoid similar issues in the future - especially given the terribly cold weather which we have all been experiencing.

On a positive note, it's pleasing to read that our location is ideal for you - and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a 4th visit sometime soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Express for 2 nights - both nights we had places to go in city centre Cardiff and walked it in under 20 mins via the Canal/Herbert Stree under the Brains railway bridge to the Hayes. Hotel is typical of the brand - bigger than average room with double (too soft for us) and sofa bed, coffee/tea/ TV with tidy and clean en-suite and what you expect for the price. Reasonable breakfast choices included in the price... Sunday morning was busy but Monday very quiet and we were able to get a table overlooking Atlantic Wharf which is scenic even on a grey Cardiff morning. If you don't want to walk to the Bay you can drive - only 5 mins away. From the city centre the taxi on Sunday night was a fiver. Good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NottmTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear NottmTravelCouple

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A comfortable budget hotel in a good location for both the city centre and got the re-developed Quay areas. The rooms are to the usual standard for the chain - you get what you pay for! Clean, well-equipped and in a quiet location. The staff are particularly friendly and give a standard of service comparable to any of the supposed higher-quality properties in the City.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear DonnyUKtraveller

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of the team here at the Hotel. They will be delighted to read your comments as delivering high levels of customer service is something that they all pride themselves on .

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is between the Bay (including the fantastic Millenium Centre) and the City – both about 15 minutes walk away; the best way to walk to the city is alongside the canal. The hotel is pretty normal for the brand; standard room, decent bed and adequate breakfast. The shower was feeble but the towels were of much better size and quality than most budget chains. The hotel is in a mainly residential area but with a pub next door. All the staff were very helpful throughout. Get a room on the waterside (even though the dual carriageway is just across the water it didn’t disturb us and we are light sleepers!) and the higher numbers are further away from the bar. By the way, the lift wasn’t working while we were there – so glad we weren’t on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Get a room on the waterside (even though the dual carriageway is just across the water it didn’t dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear WalesBargainhunter

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to read that the shower pressure was not ideal for you. On a positive note, I'm pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our towels and I know that the team here will be delighted that you found them all to be helpful.

You will be pleased to know that we have had the issue with our lift resolved now. This was accidentally broken during a routine inspection - and I know that it was inconvenient for our guests at the time.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your comments and we very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here Friday and Saturday for the game against Ireland. Very friendy and helpful staff. Included breakfast was good quality. Very good, safe, and quiet location. Easy walk one way into city centre and Millenium Stadium; easy walk the other way to Red Dragon Centre / Millenium Centre / Mermaid Quay. Only downside was the result :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve031001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Steve031001

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. It's great to read that you enjoyed our location and that you found the team to be friendly. Sadly, can't do much about the rugby result - but there is always next time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,051 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing