We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Nearby Hotels
$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$160
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$74
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$100
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$73
$71
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveler rating
283
378
195
52
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
378
195
52
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscardiff bayhi expressscrambled egg and beanscar parkcity centremermaid quayminute walkbudget hotelthe breakfast areahot itemsper nightfree wifiquiet locationparking chargethe sofa bedbreakfast was includedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 920 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A comfortable budget hotel in a good location for both the city centre and got the re-developed Quay areas. The rooms are to the usual standard for the chain - you get what you pay for! Clean, well-equipped and in a quiet location. The staff are particularly friendly and give a standard of service comparable to any of the supposed higher-quality properties in the City.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear DonnyUKtraveller

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of the team here at the Hotel. They will be delighted to read your comments as delivering high levels of customer service is something that they all pride themselves on .

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is between the Bay (including the fantastic Millenium Centre) and the City – both about 15 minutes walk away; the best way to walk to the city is alongside the canal. The hotel is pretty normal for the brand; standard room, decent bed and adequate breakfast. The shower was feeble but the towels were of much better size and quality than most budget chains. The hotel is in a mainly residential area but with a pub next door. All the staff were very helpful throughout. Get a room on the waterside (even though the dual carriageway is just across the water it didn’t disturb us and we are light sleepers!) and the higher numbers are further away from the bar. By the way, the lift wasn’t working while we were there – so glad we weren’t on the 4th floor!

Room Tip: Get a room on the waterside (even though the dual carriageway is just across the water it didn’t disturb us and we are light sleepers!) and the higher numbers are further away from the bar.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalesBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear WalesBargainhunter

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to read that the shower pressure was not ideal for you. On a positive note, I'm pleased that you enjoyed the quality of our towels and I know that the team here will be delighted that you found them all to be helpful.

You will be pleased to know that we have had the issue with our lift resolved now. This was accidentally broken during a routine inspection - and I know that it was inconvenient for our guests at the time.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your comments and we very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here Friday and Saturday for the game against Ireland. Very friendy and helpful staff. Included breakfast was good quality. Very good, safe, and quiet location. Easy walk one way into city centre and Millenium Stadium; easy walk the other way to Red Dragon Centre / Millenium Centre / Mermaid Quay. Only downside was the result :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve031001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Steve031001

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. It's great to read that you enjoyed our location and that you found the team to be friendly. Sadly, can't do much about the rugby result - but there is always next time!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

A warm friendly welcome and great value for money. I stayed here with my husband and two daughters for two nights and we were all comfortable,warm and felt welcomed here. The free breakfast is a bonus if you have children as it keeps costs down and there is plenty to choose from. You can walk to Mermaid Quay and The Red Dragon Centre from the hotel where you will find lots of places to eat and shop. A great place to stay in Cardiff Bay well done Holiday Inn Express.

Room Tip: Book early for bigger discounts
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KazSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear KazSun

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review for us. It's great to read that you found us to be value for money and that you all enjoyed your visit to Cardiff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to the city.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel before during the working week and have found it to be a typical HI Express: clean, well presented a decent breakfast and an affordable price.

This visit was the first time I'd stayed on a Friday night, and the place was full of drunken revellers. They were coming and going all night, making lots of noise outside of the hotel and in the corridors. The particular highlight was one genius singing 'show me the way to go home' as he staggered past our door at 4am.

I needed to make an early start the next day, and was able to get a limited early breakfast which was much appreciated.

The staff were courteous and I think problems are much around the clientele, binge drinking culture etc.

I also noticed that the car park had been plastered with 'lock your valuables' posters since my last visit, so suspect car crime may be on the up in the area.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Andy C

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.
I am sorry to read that you did not sleep well on the Friday evening due to the noise from other guests in the hotel. I know that the team are usually very quick to remind guests returning from a night out to be considerate to our other residents.

We have been displaying advisory notices in our car park regarding valuables for the past couple of years, to remind our guests not to leave anything in their cars - on the advice of the local police and to remove temptation from any opportunists. This was done at the same time as we installed CCTV Cameras in the car park for additional security.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave this feedback for us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews