We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at The Holiday Inn Express overnight,we had requested a room with a view of the Bay and this is exactly what we got.
On arrival we were greeting very warmly with smiley staff,booked in very quickly and then given a map of the area with advice as we had asked where we could eat out that evening within walking distance.
Our room was lovely,clean modern,view of the bay,nice large tv and excellent power shower.Mega comfy beds giving you a fab snuggly sleep.Linen and towels great,tea coffee making facilities and when I asked for more milk nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast is help yourself and quite sufficient.This hotel does what it says on the booking website,I would recommend this to anyone,we walked toCardiff Bay which took 10mins and were amazed at the choice of restaurants and bars,English,French,Spanish,Italian,Turkish,Indian,Chinese and many more.Great setting,great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snooks5970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear snooks5970

Thank for taking the time to write such a lovely review of our hotel. Team here will be thrilled to read your comments - I know that they value the feedback which we receive from all of our guests.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    330
    172
    43
    8
See reviews for
210
282
30
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here one night at the weekend to visit family. The hotel is not exactly on the bay strictly speaking but is well located for the city centre and the bay. The hotel is clean and modern We didnt have a room overlooking the water unfortunately but a view of the carpark which was ok as we werent there for the views. The breakfast is included and was adequate hot and cold offered with plenty of choices we thought in a pleasant room overlooking the canal.
The only problem we had was with the bathroom which was a wet room and unfortunately when the shower was usd the water didnt drain away but pooled all over the floor to a depth of a couple of inches and just would not flow away presumably because the floor is sloping the wrong way for the water to just drain as it should slope down to the drain and not the other way. We had to use towels to mop up and try to swoosh the water towards the drain. The floor was still wet in the morning when we had to use it again! Its obviously a design fault and not a major thing but when we were checking out and mentioned it to the chap at reception his attitude was horrendous! He talked over us and kept on saying the same thing over and over that they had a maintenance team and it would have been fixed if it had been reported before etc etc We were not complaining about this per say but merely mentioning it as it needs to be addressed His attitude was astounding it was as though this was a personal attack on him and the hotel and it really wasnt! He did not charge us for the parking which is £5 but we were not after any refunds or anything We had paid in advance ! It was a shame as we have family in Cardiff and this hotel is ideally priced and positioned and is well worth staying at in the future. It has not put us off staying there again but it did spoil what was a good stay in a nice hotel. Maybe he was having a bad morning?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Lynne T

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us.

Firstly, I'd like to apologise for the way that your comments were handled during your stay. I do appreciate you bringing this to my attention and would like to ask you to contact me direct - karen.matthews@exhicardiff.co.uk, so that I can investigate this further.

I am really pleased to read that apart from this, you enjoyed your stay and this has not deterred you from staying with us again and very much look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
547 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip as handy for Cardiff Bay and seeing the customer. Karen Matthews the GM and her staff are very well drilled in terms of checking in, out, servicing, helping etc. When asked about where to eat we got recommendations, a map to get there and a reservation made. Hotel is basic but has everything you need but you will pay extra for everything from parking (£5/night) to Wifi (£7/day) which pushes price up. Rooms are also basic and a bit tired and only toiletories are screwed to the wall but again its functional. Lift is very slow and creaking! No evening meals (but only 10 mins to Cardiff Bay restuarants) only breakfast which includes 3 hot buffet options including space age powdered scambled eggs - yummy not. Tip the Wharf Pub next door has free Wifi! Without the great staff this would have scored AVERAGE!

Room Tip: Get a view of the Bute East Dock/Atlantic Dock - not much to see but better to look at than the carp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear DoctorFeelgoodDorset

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I'm delighted to read that hat we have exceeded your expectations with regards to customer service. This is something on which I pride the whole team - and will certainly make sure that your comments are shared with them.

You will be pleased to know that we are in the process of painting our bedrooms and public areas and I value your feedback on this. As a brand, we launched our Free Breakfast in August 2011, which also included hot favourites - although I'm sorry to read that the scrambled egg was not to your liking.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here for the recent Scotland v Wales game. Staff were very friendly, rooms perfectly fine for what we needed and it was only a short walk into the city centre. Only criticism is that the shower was quite low (for a 6ft 3" person) which can be quite annoying, no big deal though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear RossMcA

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us.

I do value all feedback - both positive and negative, so that we can continue to improve the service which we offer our guests. Thank you for your comments with regards to the shower - I will certainly keep these on file for consideration the next time we are due to have a major refurbishment.

I was pleased to read your comments with regards to the room, staff and of course our great location in relation to the city centre.

I do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, North Wales
Level Contributor
123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This is the first time my wife and I have been to Cardiff sight seeing and we booked this hotel using reward points.
We have stayed in HIX hotels in other parts of the UK so had a good idea what to expect.
The location is excellent. 20 mins walk to the city centre and 10 mins to the bay area. The whole place is very clean and quiet and as expected is fairly standard for this type of hotel.
The staff are some of the most helpful, friendly hotel staff I've ever come across. From giving you pointers on the local area to getting the lift for you when you have your hands full of coffee. Nothing is too much trouble. Special mention must go to Barry. This guy is excellent and knows his job well. He made check in and the first half of the stay very pleasurable.
The rooms are very clean and a decent size for a few days but this is the only area where there could be improvement. The beds and bedding isn't particularly comfortable, one of the lights in the room didn't work too well and the shower curtain needs to be longer as water drips on the bathroom floor when you are showering.
These are minor blips though in an otherwise excellent hotel. This is the only reason the place didn't get 5 stars. The breakfast is also standard fare. Nothing mind blowing but more than adequate.
We like Cardiff and will return. I would have no qualms about staying here again, but they could really do with tightening up the maintenance a little.
A very, very good hotel overall which we enjoyed.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lugg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Lugg2004

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I also want to take this opportunity to say thank you for choosing to spend your Priority Club Rewards points with us here at Cardiff Bay.

I was really pleased to read your comments with regards to the team and in particular Barry - and will ensure that these are shared with everyone.

With regards to the maintenance issues which you encountered during your stay, you will be pleased to know that we are currently looking at a programme which will include replacing our shower curtains and will certainly take your comments into consideration.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave such a lovely review and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are visiting Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We wanted a 2 night break in Cardiff and came across this hotel at a good price £55 per night for 2 inc breakfast and after staying at other Holiday Inns for a lot more than this and being very good, thought that's a bargain.
Hotel is located approx 15-20min walk to the city centre but the Cardiff Bay train station is only approx 5-10mins and quite cheap. It is in a quiet location with not much around but the Bay was only 10mins walk away.
The staff were pleasant and the hotel was in OK condition. We were checked in earlier than allowed as they had a room free and was overlooking the water, not the best of views but was OK.
The room was not in the best of conditions, window was letting in cold air and had seen better days as the seal on it had broken but I managed to temporally fix it. It also looked a bit dated.
Bed was uncomfortable and not the best. Heating system did not really heat.
Breakfast was OK but how can you have a buffet breakfast that should include bacon, hash browns, mushrooms, fried eggs etc. as all the other Holiday Inns I have stayed at but have none of these and just have cereals, sausages, beans, scrambled egg and toast. Don't get me wrong it was nice and well cooked but when I stay somewhere I expect to have bacon at the very least, but maybe that's just me!
Overall its an OK hotel for a few nights but not any more.
I think if I went to Cardiff again I would have to look at a different hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lrboylin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Lrboylin

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

Firstly, I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and found the team here to be pleasant.

With regards to the issues which you encountered in the room, if possible, can you contact me direct on 029 20449000 to let me know which room you were staying in, so that I can investigate this further for you - and of course to make sure that future guests are not inconvenienced in the same way.

Holiday Inn Express as a brand launched our Free Breakfast in August 2011 - which is a continental breakfast with added hot favourites - Scrambled Eggs, Baked Beans and Sausages.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay when you are planning your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights whilst visiting my family! Have stayed in many holiday inn's and this is one of the more run down of the group. I believe it is franchised and is not up to the standard of the others! Beds are small and uncomfortable, radiator gets very hot and burnt my friends leg web getting out of bed. Car park barrier is hard to use as the code plate is too close to the barrier.

The staff seem nice, the hotel is in an ideal location for the centre of Cardiff. The value for money was good as not too expensive to stay here.

As I said an average hotel but don't expect the usually Holiday Inn standards or you will be disappointed. Expect budget and you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelb553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear travelb553

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do value all feedback whether these are positive or negative comments as this allows us to improve the service which we offer to guests.

I am concerned to read about your friends incident with the radiator in the bedroom and would appreciate if you could call me direct on 029 20449000 to let me know which room you stayed in so that I can investigate this further.

I am pleased to hear that you found the staff nice and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting family in the area.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing