We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful staff”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. Room was standard but comfortable with a nice bathroom. The location is good and it is easy to walk to both the city and the bay.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. We arrived before check in and they locked our bags away, they had maps and gave helpful directions and recommendations and also ordered takeaway for us on our second night.

The only slight negative was that we stayed on a busy weekend and were woken in the middle of the night by people returning to their rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear AnnaMLondon

Many thanks for leaving a review for us. I'm delighted that our staff made you feel welcome here at the hotel and will certainly share your comments with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    341
    175
    45
    9
See reviews for
215
293
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

There is nothing special really about this hotel. It is just a basic Holiday Inn Express. It is very clean and tidy and modern but thats about it. There is no resturant but you are allowed to order in take-away and there is a lovely pub called the Wharf next door.
The Bay area is very pleasent, however, I am sure that for £75 you would be able to find more welcoming accomadation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Ian D

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I'm glad that although as a limited service hotel, we were not able to meet your dinner needs, you found us to be clean and comfortable and in a convenient location.

We are fortunate to have the facility where we can organise any meals taken at the Wharf Pub next door onto our guest's bill - and of course as you pointed out there is also the Takeaway service which we can have delivered straight to the hotel.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

As 3 star hotels go this one is a cat above the rest. The rooms overlook the dock of the bay and make for a fantastic evening stroll. The bay area is an easy walk and the hotel also offers a cooked breakfast and not continental only which is the norm for this type of hotel. The staff are very friendly and the car park is secure, although not free!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor overlooking the dock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardnailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Richardnailor

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review - and I know I am biased, but must agree that we have one of the best locations in Cardiff - and a very friendly team waiting to welcome you back!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Lovely hotel for 1 night, perfect Holiday Inn Express. Nice big, clean room! Brilliant location, walking distance to Red Dragon Centre, Millennium Centre and Train Station for Cardiff City Center. Helpful staff, no faults!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Joanne S

Thank you for taking the time to review us and I'm delighted that you found our hotel to be so convenient and the team here helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stay here quite a few times a year and it never fails to deliver . I am PCR Platinum so stay in quite a few IHG properties through out the year , this is the only HIX I stay in , cant praise it enough . The staff are always polite and friendly and nothing is too much trouble .

Room Tip: 327 on the top floor right at the end so pretty quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank executivesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Sterlingsteve
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments on our hotel. We do pride ourselves on customer service and I'm delighted that you agree!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to the HIE in Cardiff Bay every couple of months for the past five or so years, and it is one of our favourite places to stay. We generally pay between £65 and £85 pn online, which (including a pretty good breakfast buffet) represents excellent value for money. The staff have always been welcoming and attentive, and this is obviously a well run hotel. The situation is perfect - half way between the Bay and and City centre, and in a lovely setting by the old docks. The rooms are warm, clean and of a contemporary feel, and perfect for a stay of a night or two. Cardiff is our favourite "weekend away without son" retreat, and the hotel (as well as the local shops, restaurants and pubs) make it something special every time we go. The times when it has been fully booked and we have stayed in another hotel (Holiday Inn in the City generally) it has not been as good, even though the cost is higher. So to sum up - a home from home for us!

Room Tip: We generally ask for a view of the old dock basin
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear mrburb

I'm so pleased that you feel that this is home from home for both of you and that you find the hotel such good value for money and just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to put this in such a lovely review for us.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

title says it all really, very basic. basic breakfast. basic everything. room a little noisy for us, we could hear everything going on in neighbouring rooms. bed felt like jelly! very weird to sleep in. Good I guess for what you pay for but id rather pay a little bit extra and have a decent breakfast, more comfortable rooms to relax in and a bath tub!

Room Tip: away from the lift/stairs/main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frost16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Dear Frost16

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review of our hotel and although you did not find the bed to be as comfortable as expected I'm delighted that you found us overall value for money.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,079 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing