We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A nice place to stay, close to the centre, with a lovely entrance hall, breakfast area and lounge. Breakfasts were freshly cooked and lovely. We stayed in a room which was in the attic and was very slightly smaller than we expected with no bath, but was immaculately clean, and the bed was very comfy. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not in the attic for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Exbackpacker78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay in our 3* family run hotel!!

I am glad you had a great stay. Just to make you aware, we do have a selection of rooms, ranging from compact doubles to super-king size and also four-poster rooms. We do have rooms with baths, however it is always best to request this at the time of booking or on check-in if we are to allocate a room with bath!!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Regards,

Kate Howard-Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    173
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
382
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing we wished we had heard of you sooner .
What a way to celebrate our 50th W.A. friendliness and knowledge of Staff first class, rooms and food where perfect .Also so easy to walk into Cardiff .
we hope to come again soon .
many many thanks Keith Jill Whitehead

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rusticman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your review Mr & Mrs. Whitehead and many congratulations once again on your 50th Wedding Anniversary!!

It was our absolute pleasure to have you as our guests and we very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kate Howard-Williams
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked for a one night stay after reading the excellent reviews of the hotel and were not disappointed. Great location, lovely room, super staff and a fantastic breakfast. Stop hesitating and book, but please, leave us a room!

Room Tip: The comment regarding the "Restaurant" relates to the breakfast as the hotel does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Many Thanks for your review, we are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay!

"Great location,lovely room, super staff and a fantastic breakfast" All you can ask for really and wish to expect! :-)

We will make sure we have a room for you and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Turn left out of the hotel into Dyfrig Street, go through the gate at the bottom and walk across to the River Taff. In a couple of minutes you’ll be at the Swalec Stadium. Go on for a few minutes more, cross the road and you’re at the Millennium Stadium and just a few more metres further on there’s the City Centre. If it’s a decent day and you are feeling like some exercise (we were!) carry on along the Taff on the same side as you started, thread your way round past Penarth Quay Marina and walk across the Cardiff Bay Barrage and then on into the Cardiff Bay Development. You can either walk back from there (we did but then we’re old!) or get a bus or train back into the City Centre. That’s how convenient the Lincoln House is. Now ally that to an immaculately kept establishment, sumptuous breakfasts and service that is warm and attentive without being “in your face” and you have a really great proposition. Put more succinctly, we really enjoyed it.

Additionally, although we ate in the City, there look to be some decent places to eat nearby and there’s a fine pint of Evan Evans to be had in the Cricketers just a few doors down.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MorrieBund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Wow it really does sound like you got to know Cardiff very well during your stay and did some great walking, how lovely. That is certainly the beauty of Cardiff, everything within a short distance of one another.

Thank you so much for saying we are an immaculately kept establishment. Glad you had lovely breakfasts and as always here at Lincoln House, you can be sure of a high level of warm service :-)

Thank you for choosing our 3* star family run hotel and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

My mother and aunt stayed for the second time - as world travellers their commentary that this is the best is worth noting particularly the superb breakfast and absolutely wonderful service. A great place to stay in Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bay-back
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Wow it really does make us feel quite special to learn that your mother and Aunt have said were the best. Thank you very much. :-)

Yes our breakfasts are yummy! Glad you enjoyed them, We are extremely happy to hear as always that your received wonderful service.

Hope to see you again in the future and thank you for choosing our 3* family tun hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed at the hotel 8 Feb 2014 for 1 night and found everything spotlessly clean and the staff were welcoming and very knowledgeable. The Welsh breakfast was absolutely delicious as the fruit was fresh and the cooked breakfast was cooked to order. It was only a 15 minute walk through the park to Cardiff Castle and the city centre so no need for buses although there was a regular service if needed. We found a fabulous bistro close by on Saturday night and had a wonderful meal. Thank you Neil and all the staff for making our first stay in Cardiff a memorable one. Chris and Sally.

Room Tip: Our room was large and roomy with no traffic noise so no concerns next time we book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, it is great to hear staff were welcoming and knowledgeable :-)

We have very high standards of cleanliness here and a very good team of staff, so thank you for your lovely comment on cleanliness. Indeed our breakfasts are delicious and certainly don't leave you hungry.

We hope you choose to come to stay at Lincoln House for your second visit :-)

Many Thanks for choosing our 3* star family run hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The Lincoln House Hotel pulled out all the stops for my mother's 90th birthday celebrations. we booked three rooms, all beautifully decorated and spotless, the housekeeping department was superb. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were very professional. A first class family run hotel that will give the Savoy a run for their money! I will recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: the four poster beds were terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Many Congratulations from all of us here at Lincoln House on your mother's 90th Birthday!

Very pleased to hear that staff were very helpful and professional. Yes our four-poster rooms are beautiful and have lots of Victorian charm.

We would all love to think that we were as good as The Savoy and what a lovely compliment, thank you. :-)

Many Thanks for recommending us to all of your friends! We hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,128 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,108 reviews
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Best Value Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing