We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday family get together”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed on the weekend of 12-13 October 2013 for a get together to see my cousin for mine and his birthday .We were greeted when we arrived with a very warm welcome and shown to our room where my boyfriend and I were staying . The room was very pleasant and warm and comfortable and had good tea and coffee ,sleeping facilities Breakfast was excellent lots of choice .The hotel is very close to the Park and did not take long to walk into the main area of Cardiff for shopping and look round the Castle there is also a bus stop close by if needed .We would go back and stay in the hotel again it was excellent and we would recommend it to people too .It was recommended by my cousin Mr David Hill as he had stayed there before and he booked it for us as well . It was an excellent choice and we would highly recommended it to anyone. Jacqueline Hill and Martin Clough

Room Tip: As this room was booked for us I can only say about this one but even though it was on the road at t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqueline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing Lincoln House to stay whilst celebrating a joint 50th celebration.

Many happy returns and we hope you had a wonderful birthday!!

So glad you had a great stay with us here and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Diolch en fawr
Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Lincoln House Private Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 729 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed there on 12th October 2013 and would highly recommend the hotel. Fabulous welcome room and a great breakfast. Very clean and great parking facility. Thank you and we will certainly be returning.
Len and Louise Davies

Room Tip: Book well worth it and you will not be disappointed
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwtchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Many Thanks for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you again.

Diolch en fawr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Yet again (third time now) we have enjoyed a two night stay at the Lincoln House. I cannot really add much to my previous review however suffice to say - just as before - perfect. Friendly staff, private parking, same large comfortable bed in lovely quiet room at the back of the house, superb breakfast. Well that's it - can't think of anything to complain about!

Room Tip: We always have the same room at the back - I don't know if it is quieter as have not stayed at t...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCandNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Many thanks for returning to the Lincoln House for your third visit!

We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you again for your fourth visit!! Take care.

Diolch en fawr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A friendly, helpful hotel on the edge of the park and on a main 'bus route. Good, variable sized rooms, excellent breakfast ( with Welsh Cakes and lots of fresh fruit. Really helpful staff who will help with really odd requests!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank gauntlettandhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review, glad you had a good stay with us and hope you return again in the future!

Diolch en fawr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Lincoln House hotel is situated on a fairly busy road adjacent to Bute Park. It is a very pleasant 20 minute walk to the castle/city centre through the park - although this closes at night. The hotel is traditional in style and decor, and the room we had was pleasant, but with a very small en-suite. If you are a light sleeper ask for a room at the back where it is very quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially at breakfast. Breakfast itself was good but in our opinion not outstanding. The big bonus with this hotel is the on site car park - so much easier than trying to find a space on the road. Would we stay again? - Yes, probably.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilliantomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We hope you enjoyed your stay at our 3 star family run hotel.

Diolch en fawr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We normally stay in one of the big hotel chains but I have to wonder what we have been missing out on. Friends in Swansea had actually recommended we look at one of the smaller hotels in Cathedral Road so that we would be close to Cardiff City Centre. We found a gem; attentive staff, lovely room and excellent breakfast. Goodbye to the larger hotels, and with the Cricketers pub just down the road for an enjoyable evening meal, we will certainly be returning to the Lincoln when next in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolo555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Yes larger hotels don't seem to be able to add the personal touches and homelike feeling of a small family run hotel.

Very pleased that you had a such a pleasant stay and we hope to welcome you again at Lincoln House!

Diolch en fawr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We found Lincoln House in Trip Advisor and now we just wish to emphasise all the good reports that you see posted! We were looking for a base for our group - some 18 strong! Three weeks ago we did a recce to try to ensure that the 4 night/5 day group visit would be troublefree.
Neil and Kathy were so helpful, obliging and friendly - it made our job so easy. Then the group arrive in car loads and everyone fitted very conveniently into the private car park at the rear. We are not young but bags were taken up to our rooms without asking!
We were warned that breakfast might be slow as everything is cooked to order (and what a menu!) but we never experienced any holdups. The bar at 6.30 was a lively place with their smiling bartender, before we ventured out to our dinner venue. We chose about 5 restaurants/pubs/cafes all 5 - 10 or 15 minutes walk of the hotel. All were good, but see in particular my reviews on Almada and Cafe Brava!
Cardiff is a great place for "things to do" and the Welsh system dictates that all museums are FREE!
We loved the tour around the Millenium Stadium, the tour around Cardiff Castle, both chargeable, and the Welsh Assembly tour (free) and of course St Fagans Museum of Welsh Life. (try to go on a fine day here because of the walking.)
For Art lovers the Cardiff Museum is special and free!
On the way to Cardiff, we had stopped off at Caerleon Roman Museum and Baths - very special and free again.
On the way home some went to the Big Pit, some 50 mins away, and again reported that this was an exceptional visit!
But we come back to the service and welcome we received at the Lincoln House Hotel. They have perfected the best of everything that a quality B & B and a small hotel could provide. Family run and it shows. Don't see Cardiff unless you stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Many thanks for your review! It is is great to hear trip advisor served you well.

Yes we had arranged for two people to be working especially so that bags were able to be carried to rooms and tea/coffees were ever flowing.

Nice to see you got so much sight-seeing done whilst in Cardiff and surrounding areas and yes there are lots of free museums in Cardiff.

It is a nice touch these days to be family run, as it gives an added cosy homelike feel.

We hope to see the Waterlooville Tangent group again in Cardiff soon.

Many Thanks for staying with us.

Diolch en fawr.
Lincoln House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,303 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $120 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing