We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lincoln House Private Hotel
Ranked #1 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel with great staff!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding as part of the bridal party 2 weeks ago! The hotel staff went out of their way to make everything extra special and was much appreciated by all the wedding party.
The rooms were clean and spacious and the breakfasts had a great range of choice. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the hotel and we felt truly welcomed. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evansjl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding!

Nice to hear that staff went the extra mile and that you had such a pleasant stay.

We do hope to welcome you here again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    173
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
107
384
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed the place, a spotless hotel, very comfortable, and excellent breakfast. The staff were so helpful even supplying a vase for some flowers and carrying the cases to the room and parked the car!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay and found staff to be very helpful.

We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for my wedding weekend with family and friends. We could not of chosen a better hotel the staff were very friendly and the service excellent.
We had one of the four poster rooms which was good value for money and had a sitting area and was large and airy. The room was remade each day and before bed. My family stayed in a standard room which were also clean and tidy but smaller. We also hired the penthouse which came with tea and coffee etc and was light and airy with a living and dining area, breakfast was included.
There was free secure car parking which is unusual for the area of Cardiff, also direct access to the park and Cardiff Castle 15mins walk away.
Breakfast was very good and had a wide and freshly cooked selection including local welsh products served from 8-10.
We would definitely stay again and highly recommend this hotel, they made the weekend special by their attention to detail and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Four poster rooms were excellent value, large and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Many Congratulations from all of us here at the Lincoln House Hotel, we do hope you had a magical wedding day!

Thank you for your lovely comment on staff being helpful and friendly. We are a family run-hotel and are very keen on customer satisfaction and providing very high standards.

The four-poster rooms are very luxurious and I am pleased you got to stay in one for your wedding night!

Yes you are right, parking is extremely difficult in Cardiff and we offer this for free, plus free wi-fi. Which is as you say great value.

Many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My brother, sister and her boyfriend and I stayed in Lincoln House a few weeks ago for a wedding in Cardiff. We were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the rooms and bathrooms. They were modern and clean. The breakfast was supurb - I had a bit of everything and they obliged but wish I stuck with the seaweed bread stuff which was really tasty! There were a couple of things though - the room was boiling when we got back - I didn't realise that the radiator was on but it was easy enough to open the window. The second thing was the wifi was very weak - you had to go to the lounge downstairs to get a proper signal. Otherwise a thoroughly enjoyable stay and a great little find!

Room Tip: I stayed in the front room upstairs - 207? My brother got the side room which had a really nice fren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgeybarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you had a lovely stay at our hotel.

Unfortunately two of our wi-fi access points were down during this time, which has now been restored. Apologies for this.

We do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here in late September. It's in a great location - walking distance to great restaurants, nightlife, a beautiful park and the castle. The rooms are a little tired, but clean. However, what makes this place and the reason I rate it 5 stars is the breakfasts. They were the best we had on a 2 week tour of Ireland and Wales bar none - fresh fruit, yoghurt, baby cheeses, cereal as well as all the usual hot stuff. Fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am glad you found the location to be convenient or you, we are very lucky to be central to everything in Cardiff which is great.

Yes I agree, our breakfasts are the best in Cardiff, everything you could possibly want and more.

Many Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I would really love to give this hotel a higher rating but the standard of the room lets it down.
Firstly - the good;
Staff - the staff were genuinely friendly and good at what they do. Attentive, helpful and a good source do information about Cardiff.
Breakfast - the breakfast buffet was quite impressive. There was a range a fresh fruit and cereals, cakes, jams etc. plenty to start the day off. The cooked breakfast was also good. Generous serves. My only complaint about the cooked breakfast was that the eggs appear to be cooked in quite a bit of oil and you can taste the oil - everything else was very nice.
Location - the hotel is conveniently located in Cardiff. Cardiff Castle was a very pleasant walk away through Bute Park.
Parking - free parking available at the rear of the hotel. This is a godsend as parking in Cardiff can be a nightmare.
The not so good;
The room is VERY dated. And I'm not just talking about the style of decoration. The bathroom in particular is not what you would expect of a modern (and fully priced) hotel. I've attached some pictures to give you an idea.
The bed was uncomfortable and poorly made. The bottom sheet only just came up to the top of the bed meaning that it slipped down during the night exposing the rough mattress protector.
Poor offering of toiletries. The only things in the bathroom were the wall mounted squeeze bottles of soap (something I rarely use given I can't be sure of their origin) and those little round paper wrapped waxy soap blocks....can't stand them.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Stormboy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Owner at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We were very pleased you thought that the staff were genuinely friendly, we also try to give all our guests a Warm Welsh Welcome, also that you mentioned that our breakfasts were quite impressive. I understand your partner and yourself asked for 3 fried eggs with your cooked breakfast, which was no problem, on both morning's and that you said you could taste oil, our fried eggs are cooked in sunflower oil, you could have opted for a more healthier option and had scrambled eggs or poached.
You also mentioned that the ensuite in the room you stayed in was dated, most of the ensuite's in the Hotel have been totally refurbished, expect three although spotlessly clean, these will be completed in January, when we have our low season, we have been unable to take these three rooms out of use due to advanced booking's.
We are not a modern Hotel as you stated we are a 112 year old Town House with character rooms of different styles and sizes.
The price you paid £89.50 inclusive of VAT at 20% with free parking which could cost up to £20 a night in Cardiff, and a Full Welsh Breakfast, is a very fair price for two persons.

Kindest regards
Kath Howard (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Three of us have just spent two nights at the Lincoln House Hotel. We had two rooms, a kingsize and a small double occupied by one person. We were very happy with both rooms which were spacious, comfortable and clean.
Breakfast was excellent, including plenty of fresh fruit. The staff were both friendly and helpful.
We were disappointed when we couldn't get booked into our usual hotel for our short break in Cardiff, however, we now feel that it was fortuitous and will definitely be making The Lincoln House Hotel our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinCatfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseCardiff, Front Office Manager at Lincoln House Private Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Many Thanks for your review, it is lovely to hear you were happy with both rooms, staff and our delicious breakfasts.

I am delighted that you will be making Lincoln House your first choice when in Cardiff again.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,264 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,137 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
2.1 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Private Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Private Hotel
Address: 118-120 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Private Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Victorian splendor! Built in 1900, The Lincoln has retained its original features and relaxing atmosphere. The bedrooms are individually decorated and furnished to a high standard and equipped with all facilities required by today’s guests. A deluxe 2 bedroom apartment is also available. Relax in the lounge bar or reading lounge, or enjoy a short walk through the Castle grounds to the city centre, Museum and sporting stadia. As well as being close to the city centre, we are within easy reach of the rapidly developing Cardiff Bay. If you are visiting for business or pleasure, Cardiff, one of Europe’s fastest growing capital cities is an ideal base for discovering South Wales. A full Welsh breakfast, car parking and Wi-Fi are all inclusive in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lincoln House Private Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lincoln Hotel Cardiff
Lincoln House Private Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing