We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #21 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Centrally located budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

The standout feature of this hotel was the excellent service, beginning with the young woman who saw me struggling with my case and helped me carry it up the stairs, to the lovely and helpful young woman on reception, to the friendly people who served breakfast. My room was a little shabby but it was clean, the bed comfortable, and sufficiently heated. The bathroom was large and contained a bath, which I was very grateful for. The location is fantastic, a short walk to Cardiff Castle or Millennium Stadium. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and many shops too. The bus and train terminals are also a very short walk away.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank spyndleshanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon6567, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review.
It was a real pleasure for us to meet you. I am very glad that you have enjoyed the service which as you say is our best feature. It really matters to all of us that guests enjoy their stay.
We do not have the massive advertising budgets that the chain hotels enjoy so I am very grateful to you for taking the time to write this review as it should help immensely.
Hopefully we will get to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    383
    169
    54
    41
See reviews for
123
272
156
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel during the bank holiday. When I arrived I was greeted by the receptionist and made to feel very welcome. The receptionist explained everything to me and also offered me to upgrade to breakfast as I had opted out of it. She also explained to me what was happening in the hotel that evening (entertainment etc) The Room was lovely to me it was like a home away from home - had all the basics you could want (well for me it did anyway) the room was clean and tidy and was a great place for me to rest my head at the end of the night. This hotel is central to Cardiff and I would stay here again, I would also recommend this hotel to family and friends as the rooms are priced superbly and the staff are friendly. Big thumbs up to the Sandringham Hotel :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you so much for your smashing review.
I am really pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you.
Anne-Marie (receptionist) has asked me to pass her thanks on to you for your kind words.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Stay at this hotel very good location . Rooms were average. Toilet seat was wobbly but the staff were excellent with excellent service. Only down fall was the noise from the disco we had a room around the back but it still kept us awake As it went on till 2 am breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for visiting us recently.
It was a pleasure to meet you and hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
I will get the maintenance issues sorted. Thank you for taking the time to let me know.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed for one night on a quick trip to Cardiff. Location is VERY central, with easy access to transport, restaurants, shopping. Staff was very friendly and helpful - even arranging breakfast for us at 4:45 AM to accommodate our early departure! Our room was very clean and our bed was comfy. Had a great sleep. The building is indeed old and a bit shabby, but that's why it's so cheap! If you want shiny new chairs and this season's carpet colour, go somewhere else. If you want a clean, friendly place in central Cardiff, stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review.
It is very kind of you to take the time to write your comments.
It was a pleasure for us to meet you and I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed our homely atmosphere.
Hopefully we will welcome you again.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

stayed for 2 night, hotel in a great location in city centre and 5 minutes walk for central station. had a good night sleep, good breakfast, friendly and very helpful staff. one down side the hotel was very dated and décor shabby the carpet in the bedroom was very wore and needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwyneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing to stay at the Sandringham.
I am very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay.
I note your point about the carpet. I am changing them as finances permit and have done some recently.
Hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Once again thank you.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great venue for visiting City Centre of Cardiff. Come by train. Walk about the city and visit the sights. Clean Hotel with great breakfast. Would recommend for shopping trips. Theatre visits. Rugby game visits. Just chilling in Cardiff.

Room Tip: All rooms are good for enjoying the City life, at night in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks John for your lovely review.
I am glad that you and your colleagues have enjoyed your stay.
I am sorry that I missed you on this occasion but hopefully we will see you again
in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Our first and last night at the Sandringham! Never again! OK, good central location but that is the only positive thing we can find to say. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, the decor shabby and dated, the room small with burn marks on the carpet and the bathroom had a broken toilet seat. Studded walls meant we could follow the many drunken conversations (and other nocturnal activities) in adjoining rooms and the noise from the street was deafening (discos, brawling etc.) until 4.30am. Then the seagulls and dustcarts arrived. We got no sleep at all. Cannot comment on the breakfast - we were so desperate to get out of there that we left at 7.30am. They advertise car parking at 9GBP per day but we were charged 18.75GBP from 5.00pm to 7.30am, so be warned.
We have stayed in many central Cardiff hotels and this is beyond doubt the worst in its class. Not worth the money - a truly horrible experience!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank judsandcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonSandringham, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I am very sorry to read your review.
I am also disappointed that you did not feel comfortable enough to talk to us.
I will investigate your comments to try to improve the experience for future guests.
Car parking is £9 for 24 hours but you need to buy a validated ticket from reception so that the NCP know you are staying with us. I may still be able to get you a refund on the parking and I would like the opportunity to talk with you about your stay.
If this is of interest to you then please e-mail me on sandringhamsales@gmail.com
Kind regards, Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#14 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: 21 St. Mary Street, Cardiff CF10 1PL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandringham Hotel is a well established family run Hotel with good service and friendly atmosphere. It is situated in the heart of the City of Cardiff and only a few minutes walk from the many Shopping Malls and Arcades, of which the City is justly proud; and, just a 'long pass' from the famous National Rugby Stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing