We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandringham Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$107
$101
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$70
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$91
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$62
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$88
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$71
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$89
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (978)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveler rating
266
420
189
57
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
420
189
57
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftcafe jazza family run hotelcity centremary streetslap bang in the middlecardiff castletrouser pressfirst floorfriendly hoteltrain stationexcellent locationtwin roomnight lifebit datedplenty of hot watercooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
722 - 727 of 978 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I couldn't fault the staff or the hotel. Stayed with my other half and neither of us slept for more then 4 hours as the music from downstairs was so loud. We realise this was not the fault of the hotel but whenI went out to reception to ask about a change of room and there was no one there.
The room it's self was lovely and comfertable. The bathroom needs little cosmetic makeover but that's all.
Breakfast was nice, no complaints there.
The gentalman at reception was very helpful over the parking situation as our car was too tall to fit in the multi story.
Everyone was friendly and welcoming.
We would deffinatly stay again (if not in a front facing room).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Space-Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hello and thank you so much for your visit and review.
I am really pleased that you have enjoyed most aspects of your stay and our service.
I am sorry that your sleep was disturbed. Noise is more noticeable on Saturday nights.
I would be really grateful if you could give me a ring next time you plan to visit on 029 20232161. I will ensure a room at the back of the hotel which is much quieter and a special price for you both.
Thanks again for your review.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked two nights and ended up staying an additional two nights-- centrally located in the heart of Cardiff. Warm and excellent staff willing to help who made stay very comfortable. Airline lost luggage from overseas and staff assisted wiand provided a few toiletries and basics. Truly a family run business that treats their patrons like family!!! We will tell all our friends and family about the Sandringham Hotel in Cardiff and plan to stay again later this year. :)
Excellent! Wonderful service!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Thank you so much Autumn for your wonderful review.
It really was a pleasure for us also.
It is very humbling to read such kind words. We genuinely hope that guests not only enjoy their stay in the hotel but also in Cardiff so I am glad that you have enjoyed our hospitality.
Hopefully we will welcome you later in the year.
Best wishes
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for 3 over Rugby weekend. Central hotel only few minutes walk from everywhere. Easy to find. Helpfull friendly staff. Needs updating and no lift means a bit of a hike for anyone with walking problems.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fourdogs_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
It is excellent to read that you have enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will welcome you again soon.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Checked in for 1 overnight stay with my hubby. Central hotel only few minutes walk from the train station.Easy to fimd. Helpfull check in staff. Only thing i will say is it needs a bit updating and its not suitable for disabled or anyone with walking problems as you have to walk up a steel flight if stairs to the reception

Room Tip: we had a room facing the main road but there wqs no noise,,Think was room 2
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNDAPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Hello and thank you for your visit and review.
I am really pleased that you have both enjoyed your stay.
We do not as you say have a lift but will help with luggage etc if required. I understand of course that this may still be a problem to some but sadly we have explored all options.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent one night in twin room. Great central location for shops and bars. Room was a bit 'tired'. Friendly reception staff. Lots of stairs to all rooms. Ok for an overnight cost effective city stay. Half price parking in NCP car park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBTherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for your review and visit.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and have found us to be excellent value for money.
Hopefully we will see you again in the New Year.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews