We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandringham Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$117
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$72
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
$160
$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Clayton Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$73
$70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$97
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (985)
Filter reviews
985 results
Traveler rating
269
423
190
57
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
423
190
57
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftcafe jazza family run hotelcity centremary streetslap bang in the middlecardiff castletrouser pressfirst floorfriendly hoteltrain stationexcellent locationtwin roomnight lifebit datedplenty of hot watercooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
733 - 738 of 985 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spent one night in twin room. Great central location for shops and bars. Room was a bit 'tired'. Friendly reception staff. Lots of stairs to all rooms. Ok for an overnight cost effective city stay. Half price parking in NCP car park.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBTherapist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for your review and visit.
I am glad you have enjoyed your stay and have found us to be excellent value for money.
Hopefully we will see you again in the New Year.
Wishing you a Merry Christmas
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Took a large party to Cardiff for staff Xmas party, stayed at the hotel and had Xmas meal and party in associated restaurant next door to the hotel. Staff were so helpful and restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate our needs by moving the tables around at the last minute so we could have a large square table rather than a long skinny one. Food was lovely, atmosphere great. Hotel s a bit old fashioned, but clean and warm, lots of hot water for showers and comfy bed. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 638Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2012

Thank you so much for your review and for choosing my hotel to host your staff party.
I was not present on the day that you stayed but my assistant Mireille was and she would like me to pass on her thanks to you for taking the time to post this review.
It is very kind of you and helps us enormously in our effort to compete with the major chain hotels.
I am also pleased that you have enjoyed your time in our bar and restaurant Cafejazz.
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and all in your team.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Tyler and I just wanted to wish you a VERY VERY MERRY CHRISTMAS! I'm sure yours will be as busy as mine! Hope you have a wonderful festive season!

Our sincere love and best wishes to all!

P.S I think we might down again in February! So we'd love to see you all again then!

Kenan

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenandavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Wow how kind!!!
A Merry Christmas to you both also. Hopefully we will welcome you again in February where Tyler can tell us what he got for Christmas. It is a really nice touch to send us your message and we would like to say a big, big thank you.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed there two nights 10/11 December. Right in the middle of Cardiff, just fall out of the hotel and go where you like. No parking but you know that before you go there. You get half price in the Westgate NCP across the road. The owner, his wife and all the staff were most helpful, couldn't fault them. Yes the rooms look a bit tired and could do with a makeover but nevertheless very comfortable and the bathroom/ shower was more spacious than many we have stayed in. No noise at all as it was mid week, suspect it might be a bit rowdy on weekends. Bar downstairs does a nice meal reasonable prices. Definitely will stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 105 recommended. We had a choice too.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chowWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to meet you both.
I am really pleased that you have enjoyed the hotel and our bar / restaurant Cafejazz
Cardiff does as you say get more lively on the weekends but a recent report has confirmed it as being in the top ten of safe cities in the UK.
I hope we will welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our 4 days in the Sandringham. Couldn't fault it - location was perfect (5 minutes from St David shops, Cardiff Castle & the Millennium stadium), food was fine, staff friendly and there's a discount on food and drink in the attached jazz club. A special mention for Dave from the club who looked after us so well! All in all good value for money and highly recommended.

G Robertson

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G0rd0nR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owner123, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hello and thank you very much for you visit and kind review.
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed all areas of the hotel. I am also delighted that Dave has helped contribute to your enjoyable stay. However as I am sure you are aware with Dave being Dave we will now not hear anything else for the next month. :-)))
I hope that we will welcome you again in the near future.
Kind regards, Simon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews