We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for City, Cricket and Park”
Review of Dexby Town House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dexby Town House
Ranked #7 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for City, Cricket and Park”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was a great little guest house, Ideal for the cricket ground, the park, the river walk and within a reasonable walk of the city centre. The room was decorated to a very high standard and quite traditional. The bathroom was especially good.

Nice continental breakfast a full breakfast was available for those who wanted one. Staff were very good and keen to make sure I enjoyed my stay.

Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    69
    15
    8
    14
See reviews for
23
74
63
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Looking for a place to stay I, remembered this place from 4 in a bed. Booked two rooms and this place offers good value accomodation close to Cardiff City Centre. Street parking outside and nearby and also numerous restaurants. Good breakfast and clean facilities.
The road outside can be perceived as busy depending on where you live. But any location close to a city centre is like this. Good friendly staff that have humour and this not part of a tedious chain of hotels, where you could be anywhere. Cool light fittings that the high ceilings do justice to in the rooms. Will be back.
Close to Millennium, SWALEC and Cardiff City stadiums.,

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jango1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely time, was shown to the room by Susanna who was really helpful and explained procedures to me.
The room (#4) was spotlessly clean, bathroom clean and the toiletries supplied by the b&b are lovely. The real showcase is the bed, really comfortable!!!!!! Memory foam mattress, nothing will compare to this now! Ultimately, this is a lovely accommodation that I would not only gladly recommend but also happily use again! Thanks :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamTheboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights, the room was spacious, clean with quality furniture and a very modern bathroom. We were welcome by Susana she was friendly helpful and warm. The accommodation is within easy walk to Cardiff Castle Millennium Stadium and a high shopping centre.
The breakfast was good with a wonderful array of cereals etc. A Welsh breakfast was also available at extra cost

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeM5618SU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Four of us stayed one night here, in nicely updated rooms, with great new bathrooms. Warmly welcomed, available information, and walking distance downtown. A continental breakfast was included and was quite generous. A bit of road noise, but that's what happens if you leave windows open. Good for a quick trip, easy to find as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clipperplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst visiting relatives and friends. We did not arrive until just before 9pm but received a very good welcome. Our room was lovely beautifully decorated the ensuite was lovely so modern and fresh looking. Great tea and coffee facilities in the room,

The room itself was very large and comfortable two lovely chairs. the breakfast was a continental breakfast which was great, more than adequate so much choice. You could have a cooked breakfast if you wanted and the cost was only £4 so very cheap. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

I would say if you are a light sleeper then you may wish to get a room towards back of property. I was suffering with a cold and was not sleeping well and found the road outside very busy, however this would not normally have bothered me had it not been for me being unwell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tilehurst40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed for one night here whilst down for the opera. The rooms are tastefully furnished, very comfortable beds, and Susana gave us the warmest of welcomes. Tea and coffee in every room, and toiletries. Soft towels, large rooms, and a great continental breakfast. Full Welsh breakfast is available for a tiny supplement (£4) when we stayed - and it was most enjoyable. We would happily return here again, at less than half the price of the standard 4 star chain hotels, with rooms twice the size and friendly service. Some lovely restaurants, bars and coffee shops within only 5 minutes walk too!

Room Tip: A room at the back of the house away from Cathedral Road will be quieter, although I wasn't dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dnhbham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.0 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.5 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church Guest House
Church Guest House
#3 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dexby Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dexby Town House

Property: Dexby Town House
Address: 126 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LQ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dexby Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Dexby Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexby Town House Hotel Cardiff
Dexby Town House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing