We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The park”
Review of Bute Park

Bute Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.76*
and up
Cardiff and Wales Day Tour From Oxford
Ranked #5 of 160 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Bute Park & Arboretum, an extensive area of mature parkland that forms the 'green heart' of Cardiff. The site is managed by Cardiff Council and recently benefitted from a major £5.6M restoration project, supported by a £3.1M grant award from the Heritage Lottery Fund, which restored important historic features, provided new facilities and helped tell the park's fascinating story. At 56 hectares (equivalent to 75 football pitches), Bute Park is one of the largest urban parks in Wales and comprises a broad mix of historic landscape, urban woodland, sports pitches, arboretum, horticultural features and river corridor. Bute Park offers something for everyone including the Bute Park Education Centre, 3 wonderful cafes, toilet facilities, a woodland balance trail, sculpture trail, fitness trail and a varied events programme. Easily accessible from the centre of Cardiff, Bute Park is listed along with Cardiff Castle as a Grade 1 historic designed landscape and contains the fascinating site of a former Blackfriars Friary which is a scheduled ancient monument. The magnificent Arboretum contains 41 Champion trees, the tallest or widest of their species in the UK or Ireland, which is more than any other public park in the UK. Along with the rest of the rare tree collection, the stunning Herbaceous Border, and the range of wildlife present, Bute Park and Arboretum is worth a visit all year round.
Bari, Puglia, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“The park”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Relaxing atmosphere, good services and families everywhere! We liked the great spaces to walk and relax there!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giuliana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    364
    31
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great Park”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bute Park is such an amazing space - right in the center of the city too. Now even better with Pettigrew Tea Rooms opened up in the old gate house at the junction with Castle St.
Our top tip is to park for free off Cathedral Road and then cut though Sophia Gardens to the River Taff, cross the bridge into Bute Park and enjoy a lovely walk into town. The flower borders are very impressive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Park In The Heart Of The City”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

As previous reviews stated, Bute Park is a stones throw from Cardiff City Centre, (although to appreciate it you need to walk right into the Park away from the City Centre....) You cant really get lost as the River Taff will always guide you back to Cardiff City Centre. Walk north out of Cardiff with the Taff on your left hand side, at ANY distance from the start, turn 90 degrees right for a while and then walk back down through the park. There is now a choice of 3 Cafes in the Park, PLUS the one in the Music and Drama College and they all have toilets.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travela100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful open space in the middle of the city”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bute Park is a beautiful large open space right in the centre of Cardiff. The grounds are fabulous and run alongside the river. A water taxi stop is also there to take passengers to Cardiff Bay.
The trees and parkland are well kept and there are interesting wood carvings dotted here and there and on one of the walk ways there is equipment for an outdoor gym workout spaced along the path.
The two cafe's in the park serve lovely coffee and cakes and great food in a lovely open plan space - great on a dry day but not so good if it rains. I have been for coffee in the winter on a dry day and they usually have a basket of blankets to wrap around your legs - a lovely touch! Oops I forgot the other tea rooms at the park gates and I can't remember the name. This also serves lovely food and I have had a super afternoon tea there once.
Altogether a lovely park to spend some relaxing time - I would like more information about the trees to be available as there are some fantastic specimens in the park.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CardiffBeachbums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bute Park”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I will be honest, I live 3 blocks from Central Park in NYC - so, I am not an easy person to impress with city parks. BUT, Bute Park was utterly gorgeous! I loved the gigantic open spaces and fields as well as all the little nooks and crannies that could be found within the park. Babbling streams, centuries old rock formations..... this park has it all. I can;t wait to get back there to explore more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpbasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bute Park also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Bute Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing