We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really in downtown Cardiff!”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really in downtown Cardiff!”
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Unlike other hotels that claim to be in the center of town, this one actually is. It is literally right around the corner from the downtown shops and has a taxi stand out front for everywhere else. Beyond that it's a British run Hilton (experienced travelers will know what this means.)

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gekkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at the Hilton Cardiff. Indeed our location is fantastic the best in Cardiff – right in the heart of Cardiff City Centre! We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel. Kind Regards, Rachel, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,346
    944
    428
    165
    88
See reviews for
495
1,166
129
661
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We arrived home today after staying at this hotel. The check in was fine. We stayed in rooms 225/226. They were rather shabby. The noise from 11pm was horrendous mainly from a bar 2 doors away playing live music. I may as well have sat in the bar except we have a 2 yr and 3 yr old so not entirely realistic. The hotel overall was good....not quite as polished as our stay at the Marriott earlier this year.. but still fine. We were looking forward to a relaxing break but unfortunately my husband and I are significantly more exhausted after our stay..

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiptopspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at the Hilton Cardiff. I was extremely concerned to read your comments regarding the quietness of your rooms and please accept my sincere apologies for the upset caused to you and your family. We do hope that you will return to Hotel so we can make amends and fully restore your confidence in our Hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me in the future and I will be more than happy to assist you. Kind Regards, Rachel, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Everything about our stay at this hotel was excellent. The service was first class and nothing was too much trouble especially as it was over the Christmas period and the hotel was very busy. The only complaint would be the extortionate cost of parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for completing a review regarding your stay at the Hilton Cardiff. Your feedback is very kind and we are thrilled your enjoyed your time with us over Christmas. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our cost of valet parking but as we lease the car park there will be a charge to all guests that use this facility. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Rachel, Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales,uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, in Junior Suite room no314. It overlooked the winter Wonderland, which was nice lit up at night. The room was ok, no problems at all. The Executive lounge gets very busy around 6pm onwards, so get there early as it is very small. The lady who works in there, called Wendy is extremely polite and helpful. Good stay if you want a city centre location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for your great review following your stay and glad you liked the view of Winter Wonderland from your room. Your comments regarding Wendy are fantastic to read which I will be delighted to pass onto her. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind Regards Rachel Cornelius Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

.As it was our wedding anniversary we decided to treat ourselves with an executive suite. It was a lovely room, very clean and large. The staff were very helpful and friendly on check in and congratulated us on our wedding anniversary. We were given a lovely plate of chocolates for a gift which was a really nice touch.
Our room had use of the Executive lounge which was very good. The staff were very helpful, quality of food and drink was again very good.
The hotel is very central, which is excellent for shopping or seeing the sites.
The only thing to remember when staying in a central hotel is that you have to pay for parking per day of your stay which can be expensive, but concierge are very fast in parking and returning your car to you.
There was only one thing we did not like and that was the cost of the internet access in the room which was £15.00 per 24 hours, which we felt was too expensive.
We would defiantly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
We were thrilled that you decided to stay at our Hotel to celebrate your Wedding Anniversary and glad we could help you celebrate your special occasion. Your comments are fantastic to read and unfortunately there will be a charge to all guests that use our valet car parking service as we lease the car park and do not own it. Thank you for your lovely review from your stay at our Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again very soon. Kind Regards Rachel Cornelius Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Where to start? The reception/open plan bar area as we entered to check in was absolutely ram packed with people drinking and it was extremely loud, and not at all welcoming.

Our room was freezing cold, and the very noisy air conditioning unit, which was not on when we arrived in the room, did not seem to be very effective in improving the temperature of the room. No apparent heating in the bathroom, which again was very cold, especially the tiled floor. Too cold to walk across barefoot to go to the loo in the night, let alone to have a shower in the morning!

The room and bathroom were by no means clean, thick dust in places, sticky marks on bedside units, what looked like mould in the shower cubicle in the bathroom. Complimentry toiletries in bathroom were in large pump action bottles in holders, to me it appeared that these bottles could easily be tampered with, and whilst I appreciate it is probably an attempt to be environmental, I don't think it can be very hygenic. The room was a disabled access room, which I understand they need to have for disabled guests, but with all the plastic attachments and chords in the bathroom, and no toilet seat (which to me isn't very hygenic) it hardly felt luxurious as I would have expected from Hilton, and I think guests should be told before booking if their room is going to be of this type.

TV in room very basic, no built in electronic programme guide on set, so only way to check what is on is to keep channel hopping. It only had a few channels, didn't even seem to have a proper full freeview selection. Internet access is charged at £15 for a 24 hour period - even coffee shops, fast food outlets, and motorway service stations offer free wifi these days. Hilton are certainly not a budget hotel, so I really think some kind of free internet access should be available.

Swimming pool was not heated to what I consider to be a suitable temperature to relax in, too cool. Plus I didn't use it due to the strong smell of chlorine, which contrary to popular belief does not mean there is too much cholorine, rather that there is not enough and the smell is actually the chlorine reacting to the ammonia, and the fact there is not enough free chlorine to keep the pool clean and healthy. (That comes from someone trained and qualified in pool maintenance)

Whilst the location is very good as far as being central for things, it is an absolute nightmare for getting any sleep at night due to the extreme amount of very loud noise throughout the night. Loud music, partying, screaming and shouting. I know it's a city centre location, but buildings can be soundproofed, or at very least hotels can warm customers before they book if the hotel is in a location that suffers noise pollution to that degree at night, I've seen plenty of other hotels offer warnings on their sites.

The blackout curtains were usless as they did not fitted the windows properly, light came in at the sides, which was the bright street and security lighting through the night, and daylight during the day, so the room was never really dark!

My mum had booked us in to this hotel as a special treat for me, sadly it turned into a very disappointing stay, not at all the relaxing, quality, luxury stay we had hoped for, and we certainly wouldn't stay in or recommend this or any other Hilton again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBlakeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
I was very disappointed to read you feedback regarding your stay which is extremely rare to receive. I am sorry that you were disturbed by external noise which unfortunately is out of control being a City Centre Hotel. I am sorry that you found your stay at our Hotel very dissatisfactory and thank you for your valued feedback. Kind Regards Rachel Cornelius Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
205 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

arrived by train from london. took taxis to hotel.
hotel is within a 15 minute walk from the train station and less than 10 minutes from city centre shopping centres..
nice modern building with very pleasant public areas.
excellent breakfast buffet included in rate.
tourist bus circling downtown core from train station to hotel and back around to train station and transport centre.
room exceptional value and quality and a staff that reflected the hotel standard..
took a day trip by train/bus to hay-on-wye, the book town.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muscletongue3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCardiff, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for your lovely review from your stay at our Hotel. Your review was a pleasure to read and it is great that you covered so much location during your stay. We do look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Cornelius Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing