We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware expensive internet access!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #10 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beware expensive internet access!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed here in April 2014, and as with many previous stays the hotel in general was absolutely fine; very quiet room, spacious bathroom, great breakfast, perfect location for the city centre, polite and helpful staff. HOWEVER, in an age when free WiFi is pretty much taken for granted just about everywhere, and considering the daily room rates at Hilton hotels, I think a charge of £15 A DAY (!) for in-room WiFi is absolutely outrageous, and I would seriously think twice about staying here again until they provide free WiFi in-room. They do provide free access in the lobby area, but that is subject to a maximum of 1 hour, presumably over the whole of your stay, and is not really convenient when all you want is to check emails etc in the morning and the 3G phone signal is poor/non-existent in your room!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Trevor,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your visit to the hotel but was disappointed with your feedback regarding the internet charge and do apologies for any inconvnience this caused you and your comments will be taken on board.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    941
    424
    165
    87
See reviews for
488
1,157
127
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Although we didn't stay at the hotel, my friends and I enjoyed a day using the spa facilities. It didn't start very well when we arrived to find that the coffee available had been there since 6am and as a result was stone cold. We went to the bar where the manager could not have been more accommodating, serving us coffee and pots of tea that were thoroughly enjoyed. Returning to the spa the staff were pleasant and helpful. We were disappointed that a charge was made for robes as in other spas they are usually complimentary and the robe we hired was worn with a torn pocket. Although small, the spa area is clean and well maintained although beds are limited. The main reason we all would return was the amazing treatments. Both therapists were excellent, I had Bethan who gave one of the best massages I have experienced, it made the day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesPoochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am very sorry to hear of your experience in The Escape Spa and I have brought this feedback directly to the attention of our Spa Manager and Livingwell Health Club for their immediate attention.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and my room was Deluxe with 1 king bed the room rate was £139.00 per night via hotels.com, but I would always check on line with the hotel as many times you can either match or better the deal. WiFi is £14.00 for 24 hour if you need access in your room, which I think in this day an age is a rip off! if you have BT Broadband at home you can log in to the hotspot at the hotel for free. The room was clean and very comfortable, but no fresh air windows were sealed and only air con available which was a shame as I like fresh air at night. Car parking is not an issue as park at the front of the hotel and they will park the car for £20.00 per night and deliver the car back to the front door when given a time that you want it. Beer in the bar is expensive I had a pint of Brains at £4.10 a pint, I asked for some peanuts one night and a small bowel cost £2.00
Lovely hotel, lovely staff, just fix the wifi and look at the prices again please.

Room Tip: Parking £20.00 per night, BT hotspot available for WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found the hotel to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is in a good central location. Our room was on the second floor, very spacious and comfortable with a modern bathroom. The hotel is very noisy at night, you can hear people walking down the corridors and clearly hear their conversations. Staff were quite friendly, but it was disappointing that you couldn't buy a coffee after 10pm in the bar. Overall this is a nice hotel, but it has the standard Hilton feel, it wasn't an over and beyond experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysider1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience.

I am pleased to hear you found hotel to your liking and enjoyed our central location and please do apologise for the noise you experienced from the corridor during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future and please do contact me direct and I will happily organise a coffee order for you after 10.00pm.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed for a few days with 38 colleagues from India and Europe - check in in spite of the numbers very smooth as the hotel had kept everything ready; the hotel is very well located - welsh parliament and museum in front, Cardiff castle on one side, shopping, eating and walking streets within minutes; good clean comfortable rooms, good breakfast, a nice lounge bar in the reception area and all the other standard facilities expected from a Hilton; highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
A big thank you for your first class review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed our facitilies in the heart of the City.

I do look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Booked a 2 night stay as working in Cardiff. Very easy to find, smooth check in process with friendly staff. Hotel cleanliness and facilities of a very high standard.
Room immaculate but what we were not prepared for was the noise at night.
The hotel is above clubs and comes alive at 10 pm ... just when you want to settle if you are on a business trip.
The constant booming of music continues through until the early hours but then the drunken clubbers pour into the street and continue screaming and shouting until 330. Just when it seems peace is coming (now 4am), along comes the street sweeper and goes up and down until half an hour before you have to get up.
Not the hotels fault but definitely not somewhere I would return to as I am now 2 nights with less than 2 hours sleep per night!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mitch1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I was very sorry to read your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Please do accept my sincere apologies that you were disturbed during the night by external noise in the City and please do contact our Guest Relations Manager, Rachel Cornelius, rachel.cornelius@hilton.com regarding this matter.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and restoring your confidence on a future occasion.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel with colleagues after spending a week at the Hilton Kensington previously and had high expectations. The hotel is situated centrally and a 2 minute walk from shops and restaurants. It has a valet service and there is no cost for parking. The rooms are spacious with both separate bath and shower facilities. The gym facilities are very good and there is a spa to enjoy afterwards. The breakfast is lovely and a buffet so no need to wait for service if you are rushing in the morning. There is a lovely bar area in the main reception and drink prices were reasonable. Overall I had a lovely stay here in a comfortable bed and spacious room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
A big thank you for your fantastic review of the Hilton Cardiff.

It is always really great to read such lovely comments regarding the hotel and I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,034 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Property: Hilton Cardiff
Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing