We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night using public sector discounts. The rooms and service were fantastic. We had a problems with our first room but were dealt with professionally and promptly. If you are visiting Cardiff the location is great and we would really recommend this hotel for value and service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuAnontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Please do accept my apologies for the problem you encountered with your initial bedrooms but I was pleased to read that this was rectified immediately and efficiently by our team. Your comments concerning our location, value and service were greatly received by our team.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,133 - 2,139 of 3,356 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel is nice, clean and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are of a high standard and the bathroom was very clean with no signs of wear and tear. Nice big shower. Because of the central location you will get noise from the local clubs until late, 3 am. Then the street cleansing at 5 am.
Food..... ok, personally I would eat out, we had breakfast 15 seconds walk opposite in Brown's two for ��9, very nice and plenty of it. Evening meal plenty of nice restaurants not too far. We ate in, food was bland and lacking any real taste, not what we expected.
The Health suite on floor two was nice, clean and staff friendly.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shaddack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the high standard of our room and your facilities and I will share this information with our team. I have also noted your constructive comments regarding our Restaurant and your feedback will be taken on board.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Extremely helpful staff. great location for shopping and a wonderful breakfast. The concierge staff were particularly friendly and obliging.This is the best Hilton that we have visited in the United Kingdom and will certainly visit again very soon. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for your First Class review.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here a couple of months ago and yet again the same disappointment at not being upgraded despite being a Diamond member which meant another night on a rollaway for me!
We got a newly decorated room which was ok and certainly larger than last time. Poor to see the grout in the shower needed some mould removing and the fact that the tv remote was missing did make you wonder about what small details had been missed. Oh yes and the mini bar decided to lock itself in the morning which meant we could've access the water bottles we'd left in it overnight.
Small things count, so having to challenge the internet charge shown on my bill and highlight this should be free when the receptionist had supposedly already amended this the night before was a little annoying.
Hotel location is great but the standard and service less so. More attention to detail needed here.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Sdbsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was very sorry to read your comments and I would like to offer you my personal apologies for the issues you encountered.

Please do contact me direct before your next visit and I will ensure everything is in order with your reservation.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you enjoy a place often depends on your expectations before you get there. I think mine for the hotel were possibly too high.

It's easy to find although to get into the entrance we had to do a loop close to the castle to get in. Car parknig is 100% valet, which was quick and efficicent. Staff greeting us from the Concierge and doorman to car parker were smashing - friendly, smiling, informative and since we were here for football, very welcoming. A great way to enter the hotel.

Functional is probably best to describe the rest. THe atrium style is definately austere and souless in the core. The room was cool bordering on cold so we had to up the thermostadt yet the bathroom was always chilly. The corridors did not get cleared well - there was a half bottoel of Champagne on the floor near our room for most of the second day. Cleaners were visible, sadly so was the bottle despite them being around.

The bar is in the foyer and as a reslut quite austere, small and more important, cold for a late evenig drink. The staff in it were nice, but a sweater at least was required. Certainly not welcoming or condusive to sitting in for any length of time.

The Exec lounge was small and someone brought in very small children - fortunately they were quiet but it always worries me that this is permitted. For an executive/club area to have kdis is a risk to ruining everyone's evening, except of course the parents. Service was "I'll smile because I have to" and I did feel at one point I was encroaching on staff time - the balance of the staff in there is not good. One is happy, one could turn milk sour with a glance.

Breakfast was bust but good, with food well done.

Overall expensive for what is was - i've no idea of Cardiff rates but his was close to Lnodon price and higher than Edinburgh Waldorf for less. Overall ok, but could and probably should be nicer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I appreciate you taking the time to leave both postive and constructive comments regarding our hotel and your feedback will be taking on board on ways we can further improve our standards and comfort for our guest.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to get in touch.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
louisa.stride@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

No character but predictable Hilton standards. Concierge team are outstanding and the hotel offers valet parking. Fantastic central location. Literally minutes from the city centre. Bathroom was rather grotty on my last visit. Mouldy and generally dirty looking. A bottle of bleach and a Brillo wouldn't go amiss.

Food is ok. Overpriced so it's better to eat out especially as there are so many fantastic restaurants nearby.

Be careful to check if there are any events happening as music reverberates throughout the whole building. Also noisy on Rugby nights!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth_Devon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

It was great to read your comments regarding the service your received from our team here at the hotel but I was disappointed to read your additional feedback and may I offer my sincere apologies.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back and restoring your confidence on a future occasion and if I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
louisa.stride@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We really like this hotel - its excellent location makes it a good central base when you want to treat yourselves and make the best of Cardiff. Near to many of the attractions of the city especially if you want to shop. Enjoy the comfortable beds, excellent executive lounge with views over the castle. A good place to meet friends or simply relax and enjoy

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank mike l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Mike,

It was our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hilton Cardiff and I would like to say a big thank you for your review.

Looking forward to your next visit to the City.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $89 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing