We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience in a great location”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night with my children.

As you would expect with Hilton, every was well executed from the webbooking to the late checkout. We had a double room which had 2 double beds in and was therefore perfect for the 3 of us. The hotel was a 10 minute walk from Cardiff Central and set opposite the Castle.

We tried the pool and gym which were both very good and we also ate in the hotel as part of a half board deal which was also good and great value.

Liked : Good food, service, location, room, contemporary design & pool
Disliked : At £120 HB for 3 - Nothing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wg284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank your for taking the time to write a review of our hotel following your visit to Cardiff.

It is great to read that the hotel lived up to your expectations of Hilton and your feedback will be shared with the team.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,323 - 2,329 of 3,277 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

in city centre opposite the castle. Very stylish art deco building, well equipped and comfortable, excellent restaurant and leisure facilities. Good for business and leisure trips. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Hilton Cardiff.

It was great to read your feedback comments and praise of the hotel and we are all very happy to see that you enjoyed your visit with us.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here as part of a group attending a conference in Cardiff. The hotel is opposite Cardiff Castle and ideally located for shops and restaurants.The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful, The rooms were a good size and beautifully fitted out. We had dinner as a group in the restaurant and both the meal and the service were exceptional. They even brought out extra vegetables on request. Breakfast was just as good. Parking is a problem but they offer a valet parking service which worked beautifully. They have a Costa Coffee shop on site and it takes less than 5 minutes to walk to the main shops. A good spot for a city break in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKlady56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the hotel as part of a conference.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Its a good quality Hilton - and well placed for the city centre opposite the Castle.
Rooms are a good size and same design.
If you have a car dump it in the small forecourt and they will park for you down the road in the NCP - 3 mins walk.
Executive lounge is on the top floor with outstanding views ( and look for the stuffed owl to ward of starlings).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your First Class review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

A run down poor excuse for a five star hotel.

On check in we were told that our rooms were not ready, no problem check in time was 3 PM and it was only around 1-2 pm. So we left our bags with the concierge and had a wander around Cardiff. Return and ask for our bags and were asked:

"What bags?",
"These ones on the receipt I just gave you."
"Yes but what do they look like?"
"They're black."
They're all black in here though" Obviously a very experienced and competent concierge in this hotel.
After some rummaging and a bit of "This one? No!" we get our bags and the clowncierge tells us he doesn't deliver to rooms. Good start.

Otherwise it is a bland hotel with decor that needs tidying up and a gym that needs some stuff taking out of it as there is not room to carry a cat let alone swing one. The room was standard Hilton fare, but with extra mildew in the shower, a nice touch, though it didn't quite make up for the lack of robes or slippers. Overall like the rest of the hotel the room just appeared to be tired. We had the upgrade for a view of the castle, great. Unfortunately what we could see was a cracking view of North Street and the bus stop there, though to be fair the castle wall was behind. Apparently the castle is then behind that wall, I am not certain though as we could not see it.

The location of the hotel is good though the Travelodge just down Friary Way can make the same claim.

We had breakfast on the Sunday and found out that as we had not booked the breakfast when we booked the room we were to be charged £17 (ish) each for breakfast, not exactly value for money. More of a rip off to be honest and the next day we wandered down the road and had a lovely breakfast in one of the local cafes, who unlike the Hilton had not run out of yogurt by 9 AM.

Overall I think I would rather stay in the Travelodge just down the road, the Hilton offered nothing more than that and at least I would not have to pay five star rates for a budget hotel experience.

Room Tip: Don't have the breakfast unless it is booked on your room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterdenevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Cardiff.

I was very concerned to read your review and your constructive comments and may I offer my sincere apologies that you were disappointed with your visit on this occasion.

Our Guest Relations Manager will contact you direct to discuss this further as this is certainly not indicative of our normal high standards.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been staying at the Hilton Cardiff for almost 6 months with work. The service has always been exceptional, especially in the restaurant and reception. The food is great (the breakfast buffet is to die for) and the rooms are always big and clean.

If I come back to Cardiff once this project is over, I wouldn't stay anywhere else than the Hilton.

Room Tip: Request a castle view if you are staying on a Monday night, there are a few bars on the other side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymous1234675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your First Class review of the Hilton Cardiff.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

We rented on of the function rooms for our Dinner and Dance. I thought the hotel was very well located. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was a pretty clean hotel. The hotel didn't seem to mind the noise coming from 17-18 year old student's. I think more should of been done about privacy of other guests though.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bro1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

Your comments are a pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel and I am glad to see that you enjoyed our central location in the heart of the City.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
3,930 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $104 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing