We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Cardiff”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We took our 2 children here for the weekend and this hotel was in a fantastic location for the castle and national museum. We upgraded to Executive and our only niggle was as it was a Saturday night the Executive Lounge only served alcohol 6-8pm, which although we didn't plan to drink a lot it would have been nice if it was a bit later, so we could have had a glass of wine or beer after a full day out. Otherwise the staff were superb, the Excutive Lounge had great veiws of the castle and we would already want to go again. Ideally I would have liked to have a suite with a separate room for the children, but I don't think they have them here (unlike Hilton Aviemore), but it was still great, with a lovely big bathroom with large walk in shower and separate bath. The pool was nice and quiet when we went Saturday early evening, although they mentioned they have swimming lessons Sunday mornings from 9am. There are not much in the way of individual changing rooms but perfectly adequate. The kids also loved the glass lift which went up through the middle of the atrium, although the one time we used the stairs we got lost on the first floor as they seemed to stop there. Our room was on the fifth floor, which was quiet with no road noise. The air conditioning was also user friendly although it did tend to blow on the bed a bit. Parking is a bit pricey at £20 valet parking at the hotel or £18 at the nearest NCP car park, but it is a capital city.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for travel noise and castle veiw if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,354 - 2,360 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel and left car with concierge which was great. Rooms a little dated and too much mould in shower for a junior suite. A little too noisy at pub closing time but is a city centre hotel Staff helpful and friendly and location is perfect for stadium shopping and nightlife.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePennells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the time we stepped in until the last moment of our stay, everything was PERFECT:
Wonderful staff with friendly approach and nice smile on all faces.
A very nice surprise was arranged for us, to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
Clean and tidy room with a very comfortable bed. A wide variety is served at the breakfast, satisfying all tastes.
Perfectly located close to the shopping centers and other interesting places to visit in Cardiff.
Had dinner once at the Razzi Restaurant. The food was delicious and the service excellent.
Would highly recommend this hotel.
Youyou

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YouyouF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

Your comments are a pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here again for our second visit , but this time we decided to book the king executive room,with access to the VIP lounge , which we found great , with free beers and wines and snacks ,
The room was spotless again ,and staff very friendly , especially the gentleman outside who helps with luggage etc ,great location and room service was very fast and food delicious ....

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARK w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and your comments are a pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hilton Cardiff is our place to stay when down south. On our last visit at the end of May we were celebrating my daughter's birthday. My wife had casually mentioned this when making the booking, and without making a fuss or embarrassing my daughter, everyone seemed to know and wished her a happy birthday. A decorated plate of chocolates was delivered to our room, and dinner was capped with the presentation of a birthday cupcake. Thankfully, tastefully, no singing.

Everything about the Cardiff Hilton is relaxing - from the time I pull up and hand over the keys for valet parking (worth £20), and hand the bags over to the porter. The hotel is modern and spacious with an atrium layout. The leisure facilities are great, the dining options are reasonable and the barman makes a mean martini.

However, I have yet to get a decent view from my room, irksome as the hotel is just across from Cardiff Castle and the National Museum of Wales - two superb but very different structures. So Hilton Cardiff, what do I have to do for a good view?

Location is unbeatable. Because this is a modern Hilton, the rooms are spacious.

If I had to choose two reasons for staying at the Cardiff Hilton, or any Hilton for that matter for matter, the two reasons would be the ridiculously luxurious marble bathrooms (with ridiculously fluffy white towels) and the consistently superb silver service buffet breakfasts - if you can have a silver service buffet....

Staff friendly and helpful, rooms immaculate, good restaurant and a great bar. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor facing the castle. That way you get a good view with a minimum of noise from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RC_RIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice comfortable beds, good clean linen, neat and tidy bathrooms but no soul or character. Its position is ideal and central and close to everything other than the Bay area. Our room overlooked the atrium and was wonderfully quiet at night, a plus in an inner city hotel. But it's so clinical and dull. Charging £17.99 for breakfast when the room rate is over £100 and then trying to charge over £3.00 for a bottle of water reminded us of RyanAir- and both were offers we found it easy to refuse. We'd stay again- it's comfortable. But memorable it isn't.

Room Tip: Try and get a castle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in The Presidential Suite for 3 nights around my wedding, as well as setting up a group booking for guests. From the moment I contacted the Hilton until the moment I checked out, the service was impeccable and made it very memorable. Amy, my main Group Res. contact was amazing and dealt with my little bridezilla questions, and the Group Res. page is a great, personal extra touch. To every member of staff - thank you x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wakers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CWLCardiff, PA to General Manager at Hilton Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your First Class review of the Hilton Cardiff following your Wedding.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise and gratitude to our team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Cardiff once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Louisa Stride
PA to General Manager
Hilton Cardiff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $94 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing