We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea - Disappointing”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 21, 2012

After experiencing afternoon tea at the Angel Hotel in Abergavenny, I thought this would be an ideal start to a more mature hen night out. The Hilton seemed seemed the perfect spot for us to go on afterwards. However, we were disappointed overall. I had presumed that we would be in the Razzi Restaurant but we were placed in the Metropole lounge - this does not suit an afternoon tea at all! Three small round tables placed together did not add anything to sociability and made it feel fragmented. The food was ok but the service was appalling! We were left waiting constantly for drinks and coffees and had to remind the staff we were waiting on a number of occasions. We were supposedly to receive 'bottomless tea and coffee', yet after the initial pot no one came near us to offer us more. The drinks were extraordinarily expensive! Over £10 for a glass of wine!!!!! The coffee was also disgusting and my aunties did not even drink it. If you are after a fab afternoon tea experience I would recommend either Waterloo Tea shop in Waterloo Gardens if you have to say in Cardiff or make the journey to The Angel in Abergavenny. I wouldn't recommend the Hilton sadly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank stressedteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,683 - 2,689 of 3,392 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2012

vistied here in oct 2012 for a champayne breakfast that was on offer with travel zoo. we sat in the conservatory, was served immediatley with orange juice , one glass of champyane and coffee.we helped ourselves to a full english which was very nice, toast and pastries , would defintley reccomened the Hilton in Cardiff , and i would go again reagardless if it were on offer or not .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraht74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Booked this as got a good rate, and wanted somewhere to unwind after completing the Cardiff Half Marathon in the morning, seemed ideal with the spa pool, steam room etc etc.

Hotel is clean and tidy, all communal areas areas are nice, but the rooms/spa area obviously havent been upgraded for a while, and it is starting to show a little bit.

Did expect a bit more from a hotel with the Hilton Branding, but I guess the customer service was very good, even if the hotel isnt as nice as other spa hotels in the area (St.David's Hotel and Spa was what I am comparing it to)

Overall, did the trick, comfy bed, but as I said, the fixtures/fittings need updating!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uncoordinated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely hotel with great service but be warned - expect a sleepless night at the weekend as the hotel is located amidst numerous nightspots. Kicking out time between 2 and 4pm is ridiculously noisy. A shame because it is a lovely city venue.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Businessbenbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed there on a coach to. We were a full coach and normally the room keys were handed out by a member of staff. This time all the envelopes containing the keys were placed on the counter. It was like a ruby scrum with everyone trying to find there name on an envelope. No organisation at all. Rooms were excellent. Large and airy however the lighting was very good for romantic lovers but made reading very difficult. The bathroom was wonderful with a large bath, shower that you could get four in and a wonderful power shower. An area that did give me some concern was a fire safety hazard of sealed windows ,should there have been a fire on the corridor there would have been no way out. The beds were lovely and comfortable unfortunately the sleep was disturbed from the early hours of the morning until it was time to get up by other guests who had attended a wedding. At 4-30 am I telephoned reception who stated that they would send someone up however I do not think they did because later it sounded as if someone was being murdered. The breakfasts were wonderful and varied from a full continental to a full English superb. We were asked to book the time we wanted for our evening meal, we booked for 6-30 pm however they were not ready we eventually took ourselves in at 7-00 pm. The choice of starter,main meal and sweet could not be faulted. The bar has a pianist tinkling away which is worse than a disco, it is impossible to hold a conversation.Overall experience was fairly good but they need to get themselves organised in a lot of areas. The hotel is situated in the center of Cardiff near all the local amenities , shops and places of interest.

Room Tip: do not choose if there is a wedding or a weekend when there is a marathon because there is no way ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patprice3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and it was an enjoyable stay. The rooms were very spacious with a large comfortable bed and very large bathroom with full size bath and separate shower. All staff I encountered were helpful, professional and polite. Breakfast offered a number of choices in buffet style which is now familiar in many establishments. There are good facilities in the hotel including gym, restaurant and bar. Being situated in the city centre it is handy for shopping, site seeing with a handy taxi rank just opposite the entrance.

I can't think of anything negative to say about my stay and I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending it.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank bloostraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Firstly - let me say that this is a nice hotel, centrally located, with superb views from some upper rooms and with good staff.

So why the headline?

It's simply that I found absolutely nothing that can justify a 5 star rating and the thick end of £250 for a single nights stay ... there are significantly nicer, roomier and better value for money 4 star hotels close to this one

Lack of parking is an issue. There is space for 4 vehicles on front of this hotel, but with taxi's regularly pulling in and out it's almost impossible to leave your vehicle to check in and organise valet parking without blocking the road. Also remember that if you leave anything in your car, it's a pain to walk over to the car park (about five minutes away and very cramped) to retrieve it.

We were "upgraded" to an executive room on the seventh floor (Room 702) and the view of the castle and Park Place is stunning.

However - the room is small (there's barely room to walk between the bed and the TV storage unit and is showing signs of age and neglect. The bathroom is adequate and with a large walk in shower - but the shower itself is ultra sensitive and one slight movement of the temperature control can move it from freezing to scalding! The air conditioning is eefective but noisy, and the bed and pillows are adequate - but certainly not luxurious.

The TV system is antiquated and slow, and picture quality is amongst the worst I have experienced

Perhaps most irritating was the amount of street noise that can be heard even from the seventh floor. The noise is constant, but at 3 am we were awoken by the loud noise of the emergency services and rampaging Scotsmen "celebrating" their loss to Wales in the world cup .. simply not good enough.

On to breakfast which was decidely average ... nothing wrong with it (that a little more heat woudn't cure) but certainly not five star. The only bit of entertainment as the young gent ticked our names off his list was when he said "So it's both of your for breakfast then?". When I replied that no, I was only there to spectate he seemed confused!

Check out was simply, but getting the car back from valet parking took nearly 20 minutes (due mainly to a large number of people checking out at a similar time)

So - in summary ... view and location excellent - everything else is distinctly 4 - not 5 - star, and the Hilton brand should reassess this soon as it demeans their brand.

I cannot name other hotels in this review - but if you look at other contributions I have made - you will see that there are much better alternatives available in Cardiff city Centre

Happy to answer any questions ...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LloydyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,444 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
4,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#20 of 74 in Cardiff
1,516 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $104 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing