We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant Breakfast!!”
Review of Hilton Cardiff

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Cardiff
Ranked #8 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Like an awful lot of people, we stayed here for the Wales England game. Fortunately the hotel was far better than the game!! There were a lot of famous faces from the world of rugby staying at the Hilton too. All staff were helpful and polite. Our room was large, and had an almost equally as large bathroom. Both were very clean. We found the kingsize bed to be probably the most comfortable hotel we have slept in. The rate was good (at the time of booking, there was a very favourable deal on. I think this was changed when the match was advertised!) My only negative for our whole stay was the air conditioning. We stayed in room 238 which was stuffy and stifling and several degrees warmer than 239, whose aircon was on exactly the same settings. If we could be guaranteed a cooler room, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSMnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,867 - 2,873 of 3,300 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the hotel in August. It's in a very central location, easy walking distance to most places. The hotel itself overlooks Cardiff Castle. Hotel has valet parking which is £17 per day which in my opinion is excessive. We booked a double room and were upgraded to a spacious Junior Suite. The only problem that we had with the room was that the shower control broke. Staff were very helpful and maintenance rectified the problem quite quickly. We had access to the Executive lounge( as hubby has Hilton Honours Gold card) during our stay which has lovely vews of Cardiff Castle. The hotel is only a minutes walk into the main shopping area. We used the hotel pool and gym during our stay which were more than adequate and very clean. The hotel's Razzi restaurant serves delicious food too. Although there are many good restaurants nearby. All in all we had a lovely visit and would not thik twice about returning. Special mention must go to Wendy who works in the Executive lounge who in my opinion is a true asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: Book an executive room to get access to the Executive lounge which gives you daily snacks, breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemstonetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We were staying at the Hilton on a Saturday night after the Wales England rugby game. As you may image they were singing on the streets of Cardiff that night, but by and large we were away from the worst of the ravages in the Hilton though even on the sixth floor you could hear the party continuing into the night. This would have been unavoidable anywhere in Cardiff however, and was only a minor inconvenience.

The room was large with an equally large bathroom and both were clean and functional and the bed was huge and comfortable. However, having stayed in a number of modern hotels recently, the brown and orange office utilitarian furnishings and decor could certainly do with an update. There was no in-room wifi, and the wifi in the public areas was £6 for an hour. However, you could get free BTOpenzone access in the Restaurant if you're able to connect to this.

One of the reasons for staying at the Hilton is for the service and location, and both could certainly not be faulted. The highlight for me was the breakfast - an enormous choice of food, cooked fresh and using quality ingredients.

Overall, the Hilton is not a cheap option but has a lot going for it and would definitely return - for the breakfast alone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sqwawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on a busy rugby weekend. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and all areas of the hotel and rooms very clean, especially considering it was full.
Great location 1 miniute walk from the shops and castle and about 5 minutes from the millennium stadium. Breakfast had everything you could want and staff were very attentive and everything that should be was very hot.
Only downside if I have to be picky is the rooms are a bit bland, and could do with modernising slightly, but on the plus were very clean. There is no Wi-Fi in the hotel which is a shame and the car parking is £17 a day, which does add up. But would return as fantastic location and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleflossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here at the beginning of August to celebrate being together 5 years! And I couldn't have asked to stay at a better hotel! Firstly, it is very central and less than a 5 minute walk from all the main shops and restaurants etc and there is a bus stop right outside which we used to go to Cardiff bay!

The hotel itself is lovely and feels every inch 5*- we personally loved the glass elevator! The reception were very friendly and asked where we had come from and our plans etc which we thought was nice and when we checked out the staff had remembered where we were from. Little things like that can really add to your stay and made us feel like valued guests. The room was nice and spacious; the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom is really big with a cubicle shower and a bath and the shower itself is one of the best i've used.

The real highlight for us was the breakfast... it was fantastic!! There was such a big selection to choose from, from real kelloggs cornflakes to smoothies and danish pastries and fruit and everything was of the highest quality. The chef was behind all of the traditional english breakfast and there was scrambled eggs out ready to take or you could request the egg of your choice. I really want to highlight how friendly the Chefs' were and they are assets to the Hitlon Cardiff. On the first morning the Chef even waved goodbye as we left breakfast and on the second morning there was a different chef who was just as friendly. So if management read this, please pass this message on!

Overall, I couldn't have asked to stay in a better hotel- everything you think you want in a hotel is catered for by the Hilton Cardiff.. we certainly recommend it to people visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Cardiff Hilton as part of her birthday celebrations and we feel we couldn't have chosen a better hotel. The location offers easy walking access to all the major sights, restaurants and pubs. As a Honors Diamond card holder we were upgraded to an Exec Room and had access to the Exec Lounge which was a bonus given that we had free drinks and pickies for a couple of hours each night of our stay. The room overlooked Cardiff Castle and despite the "Admiral Weekend" fair and other celebrations we found the outside noise to be minimised by effective double glazing (at odds with other reviewers). I mentioned my wifes birthday on booking and a plate of chocolates was put in tour room with "congratulations" iced around the edges, a nice little touch of recognition from the hotel. The staff from the front desk to the bar and Exec Lounge, and not forgetting the breakfast Chef, were all consistent in their efficient professionalism and friendly dispositions. Overall, we would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cardiff.
The only negative for us was the pricey hotel car parking but we overcame this by using the £8/day Castle Mews on street car parking, a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: We booked during the January Sale to get the best prices with breakfast thrown in and late check-out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GordonMcQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I can't believe that here is a better run hotel anywhere. If there is, I am yet to stay in one. If you ever visit Cardiff then you must stay at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
3,950 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,485 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Cardiff

Address: Kingsway, Cardiff CF10 3HH, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cardiff
#2 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#7 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $94 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Cardiff 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Cardiff Hotel Cardiff
Hilton International Cardiff
Cardiff Hilton International
Cardiff Hilton Hotel
Hilton Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing