We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cardiff
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveler rating
233
94
45
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
233
94
45
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aveda toiletries great views across the bay master suite star hotel stunning hotel corner suite hotel guests super comfy bed fresh milk spa facilities parking charge fantastic room floor to ceiling windows afternoon tea mermaid quay nespresso machine the hotel car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On arrival we were pleasantly greeted given the key to the room and told were we would be having meals and the way to the spa. The hotel on entrance was clean and quite spacious. On entering our room it was lovely and clean with all the curtains closed which we had a pleasant surprise on opening them with the outlook of Cardiff marina. The food spa and service was excellent and by the hotel there are of other places to eat. This certainly one hotel we will going back to

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank henrybrown03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear henrybrown03,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. I am delighted to read you stay was outstanding and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We received a very warm welcome and immediate recognition of our Platinum Elite status.
We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and were upgraded to a beautiful suite with spectacular views of the harbour.The person who dealt with us on reception was lovely and went out of her way to make sure our stay was special.We enjoyed drinks in the bar area which was very comfortable and had a pleasing ambience.The quality of the food in the restaurant was good but could have been served hotter.We wouldn’t hesitate to visit the hotel again.It is located in an interesting area and within walking distance of Penarth.

Room tip: Higher floors have better views.
Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Glyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Glyn C,

Thank you for your review and your loyalty as IHG Platinum Elite Rewards Member. It was great to hear you enjoyed yourselves whilst staying with us for your Wedding Anniversary.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is very good if you need to be in the bay/parliament/millenium centre area. Other than that, the hotel is mostly isolated from the rest of the city and offers very little options in terms of public transport, food and shops.

The beds are good and the bathrooms are large and modern. (Mine had no heating, which I like, but might not be to everybody's taste.) Sound isolation is good.

The two reasons I will not return are:

The pricing policy of the restaurant. The food, a little bit adventurous asian fusion, is quite good but far too expensive. The wines are poor and extremely overpriced, even by London standards.

Breakfast is just not good enough, in fact not acceptable. Appalling low quality industrial bread, poor coffee, processed products and far too loud music. Staff mostly interested in the paperwork.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nblnk,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

There are different options for public transport in the city from the hotel. Our friendly Concierge team can assist by arranging a taxi or other links such as a bus and a train within a short walk. Being close to the water a water taxi can be taken right up to Cardiff Castle from Mermaid Quay.

Mermaid Quay offers a wide range of restaurants and not to forget our very own Admiral St David Restaurant & Bar as mentioned by yourself. Most of our all day and bar menu can be altered to offer without the spices and blends of an Asian theme.

I am grateful to hear your constructive feedback regarding your dining experience at The Admiral St David and they will be shared amongst our Food & Beverage Manager and Kitchen Brigade for future consideration. Our pricing for food & drink is in line with other 5-star hotels found in the area.

However, it was disappointing for this reason you will not be returning and I trust you would re-consider when your plans bring you back to Cardiff.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My and my wife visited st.davids for our first wedding anniversary. The spa and pool could not facilitate the large amount of guests (it was packed the whole time we were there) the pool was ice cold. The alarm clock also went off at 1am 3am and 5:30am and once I went down and told the front desk they said it’s not possible and then 20 minutes later the front desk called the room! To tell me to unplug the alarm! Once again waking us up.
We were regulars but not again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jay69ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jay69ha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay with us to celebrate you First Wedding Anniversary. I was very disappointed to hear of your experience.

We are sorry to hear the disturbance during the night which occurred and will ensure your feedback is carefully investigated with the relevant department. Any relevant actions will be taken to ensure this remains an isolated incident. I understand our Guest Relations Team has reached out to you privately for additional feedback to allow us the opportunity to resolve the matter.

We trust upon conclusion you will reconsider returning to voco St. David’s, Cardiff as it would be a shame to lose a loyal guest such as yourself.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome day at a wonderful venue. Staff were brilliant as was the food. And for a five star very reasonable value. The rooms allow a great view across Cardiff Bay and have super comfy beds. Particular call out to Claire Gale and Emily Brown who helped make the day so amazing

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank davidrA7212OY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear davidrA72120Y,

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing the hotel to host your special day with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the celebrations and that the team lived up to their reputation in particular Claire and Emily whom ensured your special day was a memorable one.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel \Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews