We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Cardiff
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
233
95
46
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
233
95
46
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews aveda toiletries great views across the bay master suite star hotel stunning hotel corner suite hotel guests super comfy bed fresh milk spa facilities parking charge fantastic room floor to ceiling windows afternoon tea mermaid quay nespresso machine the hotel car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is very good if you need to be in the bay/parliament/millenium centre area. Other than that, the hotel is mostly isolated from the rest of the city and offers very little options in terms of public transport, food and shops.

The beds are good and the bathrooms are large and modern. (Mine had no heating, which I like, but might not be to everybody's taste.) Sound isolation is good.

The two reasons I will not return are:

The pricing policy of the restaurant. The food, a little bit adventurous asian fusion, is quite good but far too expensive. The wines are poor and extremely overpriced, even by London standards.

Breakfast is just not good enough, in fact not acceptable. Appalling low quality industrial bread, poor coffee, processed products and far too loud music. Staff mostly interested in the paperwork.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hblnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear nblnk,

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

There are different options for public transport in the city from the hotel. Our friendly Concierge team can assist by arranging a taxi or other links such as a bus and a train within a short walk. Being close to the water a water taxi can be taken right up to Cardiff Castle from Mermaid Quay.

Mermaid Quay offers a wide range of restaurants and not to forget our very own Admiral St David Restaurant & Bar as mentioned by yourself. Most of our all day and bar menu can be altered to offer without the spices and blends of an Asian theme.

I am grateful to hear your constructive feedback regarding your dining experience at The Admiral St David and they will be shared amongst our Food & Beverage Manager and Kitchen Brigade for future consideration. Our pricing for food & drink is in line with other 5-star hotels found in the area.

However, it was disappointing for this reason you will not be returning and I trust you would re-consider when your plans bring you back to Cardiff.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My and my wife visited st.davids for our first wedding anniversary. The spa and pool could not facilitate the large amount of guests (it was packed the whole time we were there) the pool was ice cold. The alarm clock also went off at 1am 3am and 5:30am and once I went down and told the front desk they said it’s not possible and then 20 minutes later the front desk called the room! To tell me to unplug the alarm! Once again waking us up.
We were regulars but not again.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Jay69ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jay69ha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your stay with us to celebrate you First Wedding Anniversary. I was very disappointed to hear of your experience.

We are sorry to hear the disturbance during the night which occurred and will ensure your feedback is carefully investigated with the relevant department. Any relevant actions will be taken to ensure this remains an isolated incident. I understand our Guest Relations Team has reached out to you privately for additional feedback to allow us the opportunity to resolve the matter.

We trust upon conclusion you will reconsider returning to voco St. David’s, Cardiff as it would be a shame to lose a loyal guest such as yourself.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Awesome day at a wonderful venue. Staff were brilliant as was the food. And for a five star very reasonable value. The rooms allow a great view across Cardiff Bay and have super comfy beds. Particular call out to Claire Gale and Emily Brown who helped make the day so amazing

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank davidrA7212OY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear davidrA72120Y,

Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing the hotel to host your special day with us.

We are glad you enjoyed the celebrations and that the team lived up to their reputation in particular Claire and Emily whom ensured your special day was a memorable one.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel \Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

First time I’ve visited St David’s Hotel for some time, despite living opposite, an absolutely huge improvement in the main bar and lounge, staff superb and welcoming, which is a big leap forward from previous experience, well done all. I just visited for the evening so can only comment in respect of the bar area, food expensive but good, drinks not cheap but hey, you’re in a 5* setting.

Overall enjoyed evening and the overall atmosphere was more becoming a 5* hotel than previously experienced at this venue.

Well done all staff and management.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank comcare25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear comcare25,

Wonderful to hear of your comments in relation to spending time at The Admiral St David Bar & Restaurant, Thank you for your loyalty as a local resident and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

Had an excellent lunch with superb service, delicious food and a lovely hotel. Will definitely go back and hope the weather will be better as the views are great. Well recommended for events of all categories.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank J6850YKmaryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Dear J6850YKmayp,

Thank you very much for your review.

It was great to see you had an enjoyable lunch experience and we are most grateful for your recommendation. Our chefs and hosts were very delighted to hear of your wonderful comments.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.


Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews