We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Cardiff
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (291)
Filter reviews
291 results
Traveler rating
185
65
31
7
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
185
65
31
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great views across the bay aveda toiletries master suite rocco forte stunning hotel corner suite star hotel spa facilities fantastic room hotel guests mermaid quay an upgrade floor to ceiling windows hot buffet the hotel car park relaxing stay amazing location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 291 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disappointed that reception service so bad we didn’t book this hotel despite it being closest to venue we are going out. As a light sleeper, having read a few reviews about the thinness of the walls, I’d rung to ask if there was any pet of the hotel with better sound proofing we could request. The gentleman in reception’s English was so poor I could understand most of his answers, and he kept disappearing for minutes on end to answer any questions. After long time waiting said yes that was possible - asked where we would be. He said ‘anywhere we want’ so clearly had not actually understood what we were asking which was for a specific room/ area that might be quieter. We obviously don’t know where that would be!
On top of that they said that to use the pool is £35 even if a hotel guest (unless using the spa) so we just booked Park Plaza where free to use pool for hotel guests and doesn’t appear to have the sound proofing issues. Sell yourself as a luxury hotel then do need better service at point of reservation.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank FerryWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTraveler820770, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear FerryWind


Thank you for your review.

It was a shame that you were not able to communicate to with one of our booking agents. Some of our guest rooms have interconnecting doors, which can allow some noise to pass through. It appears on this occasion you may have spoken an agent at our off property central reservations office. Please rest assured we have shared your feedback with the team to review this for future consideration. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the misunderstanding and any disappointment caused.

We hope that despite this recent experience, we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.


Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived for a two night stay before travelling to Devon. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was a pleasant surprise and the room was excellent. The food in the restaurant was amazing although fairly pricey and the staff were very friendly.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maggie R,

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear your break with us was excellent and the upgrade was appreciated. The team and I are delighted from arriving to departing and everything in-between met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Weve stayed at most hotels in cardiff. But voco st davids is levels above the other hotels. We are frequent visitors to the hotel and the staff are always amazing to us especially Christopher guest relations manager. We are always well looked after if rooms are available for upgrades they provide them for us which our last room was amazing and blown away by it.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank andrewllewellyn1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear andrewllewellyn1988,

Thank you so much for another lovely post you have provided us following your recent stay. Chris is thrilled to have received such lovely feedback. Chris and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just left Saint David's after a one night stay to celebrate,what a lovely place,the staff where all great and we even had a upgrade and a card with vouchers for free drinks at the bar.
All the resturants and bars are just around the corner,all in all what a comfortable stay at a great place in a great location,also thanks to whichever staff member who handed my jacket into lost property after I left it in the bar.
Hopefully see you again in January for my wife 40th birthday celebrations.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank simonh613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FellowTraveler820770, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear simonh613


Thank you for your review. It was great to read of how our hotel and staff helped to make your first wedding anniversary, a memorable one. It was lovely having you both, fingers crossed we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in January.


Warm regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed 1 nite we have stayed before but some time ago. I read some negative reviews and was a bit concerned but as soon as we arrived the reception staff was great friendly and very helpful. our room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable we also had a great view. there was no furniture on the balcony as I had read but we put the seat to keep the door open and turned the seats around and really enjoyed the views. Breakfast was great large selection but really important to us is service and again from the gentleman who greeted us at the door to all the service staff was friendly very personable and happy to help with everything. Thanks for a great stay we will be back soon and bring our children for a weekend.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samjane321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dream823260, Manager at voco St. David's Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear samjane321,

It is great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and I am also pleased the service received was accommodating from both Front Desk and Restaurant teams.

Looks like you were able to enjoy the view from your room. There is no plans to provide furniture to the balcony to our bedrooms, however, there is a very large outdoor terrace at the restaurant overlooking the whole bay with comfortable lounges and chairs where guests can dine or drink whilst taking in the wonderful views.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to St. David’s soon.

Kind regards

Brady J Smith
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews