We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel with Amazing view, More 4 star than 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed June 3, 2010

Its not the amazing luxury 5 star hotel it once was when it first opened in Cardiff Bay, it is looking a little tired and jaded and is more a 4 star these days, but it is still a really nice hotel. We paid a bit more for a Junior Suite and were not dissappointed as it was well worth it. We booked throught their website and got a good deal including breakfast and complimentary wine in the room. If you want cheaper parking, park in the public carpark next to St Davids its £5 for 24 hours instead of the £8 the Hotel charges. The room was very spacious and clean, the sea views were fantatic, we had two different balconies overlooking the wetlands and penarth area. There is no outdoor seating on the balconies which is a let down, we ended up using an indoor chair and rang down reception to ask for another one. We used the leisure facilities during our stay, nice pool, sauna etc. A few things in the room could do with updating such as the Cd player and bathroom, there is also no minibar. Breakfast left alot to be desired, overcooked eggs, horrible potatoes and cheap sausages. nowhere near 5 star quality. The location of this hotel is perfect. Cardiff Bay is a lively, attractive area with lots of great bars and restaurants( Woods Brasserie highly recommended). Overall this was a great relaxing stay and I would return agin.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazyvictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,890)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,534 - 3,540 of 3,890 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2010

Fantastic location short stroll to loads of eating and drinking places. Great views over the marina.Huge bedrooms full of little gifts to make your stay special, complimentary bubbly.
The pool was fantastic and big, with pools of different temperatures so relaxing, complimentary fruit and juices. Overall a very special place,however breakfast was not 5 star, but very nice anyway.Watch out the carpark charge is £8.00 overnight.Book through late rooms for a good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwensmith8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Booked for a special occasion and was a huge let down, whole hotel in need of a refurbishment rusty inside and out both for the hotel and spa. Ordered a massage they were late it lasted 20 minutes and was the worst I have experienced. To be honest was a waste of my time. We paid for a suite that as per the rest of the hotel needed a uplift, views were good but no furniture so sit outside and enjoy. Breakfast was badly organised each day with food and plates not replenished. For a 5 star hotel I expect more than economy buffet food and carton juice! Dinners in the evening were hit and miss and in fact my husband was really ill one night after the seafood. I would not recommend this place to anyone and will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank an0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

i read your reviews which were concerning as they cleary were not positive, however fortunately i did book as i was thinking it was only a two day stay, how much could go wrong? well we were met by a very pleasant door man who advised us that although the carpark facility was fully booked if we waited a few minutes there were several guests booking out which would allow us space to park - there were several weddings taking place over the bank holiday weekend so the hotel did prove to be popular. we always stay at 5 star facilities in Dubai / America /maldives and the med so i feel well placed to comment on this hotel . whilst the reception was spars the staff were efficient pleasant and professional , my bags were taken to my room although i never met a bellboy? the rooms were adequate the bathroom satisfactory although no seperate shower and no bath robes or slippers? cant remember the last time i had to take a shower in a bath! or take a robe with me to a hotel! my only issue with the hotel was the design of the reception area creates a funnel of noise which rises right through every floor this can be heard especially late at night if the hotel has special functions going on.
the hotel cant be called a 5 star as there are no facilities to purchase goods no select shops only one restaurant and only one bar.
Breakfast was a surprise as it felt cramped the food/beverage area wa not easily accessible on our first morning as the restaurant was full and everyone was using the buffet at the same time - i felt clostrophobic the area could have been better spread out where the food was accessible from both sides of the display instead of against the wall.
plus the seating area/tabels were close to each other
although based in the bay area of cardiff the facilities surrounding the hotel were excellent over looking the bay and marina their is plenty to do, food malls from mexican to alacart specialist restaurants cater for all budgets. cardiff city center is only a short taxi ride away costing no more than a fiver. so overall i was satisfied i did not feel that the hotel was expensive the gym facilities as good as any i have been in (and i use them a lot) and the staff were professional.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldfamilytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Booked this hotel for a shortbreak as a treat. Pre travel date, the 'ashcloud issue' meant our trip may have been cancelled (for us. Not 'by us'!) and I notified the hotel just to check the policy if it had to be cancelled. Met with a very inflexible response. 'Act of God' etc etc.. 'this was clear when you booked and prepaid'. True - but not really very customer friendly. Luckily we were able to travel. Arrived to an excellent check-in. The room wasnt ready which was understandable but we were happy to just lounge around. Only place to do this is in the bar... there is no other proper 'lounge/read a book' type space which is a pity. Drinks are expensive, lunch menu is quite limited. Not a major problem as there are several dining spots within easy walking distance along the bayfront. I would highly recommend Woods Brasserie. Outstanding service, great food, warm friendly and very well trained staff.. Back to the hotel... There was a wedding in the hotel on Sat night - someone vomited in the elevator - wasnt really cleaned up properly. The stench was awful. On the 2nd night, there was a mixup with taxis and our restaurant reservation in a place nearby. Concierge said they booked the time of 9.30pm as we had requested - but '2' taxis arrived at 7.30pm to the hotel ...the restaurant too had the booking for 7.30pm.... we advised concierge the following day and received a rather nonchalant and sullen reply... Spa staff were busy conducting a personal call on the phone as we arrived to sign in... so we certainly has the experience that no-one here was big on 'customer care' but the real stinger was being asked on departure to pay a £2.50 fee if we were electing to pay by credit card... Not being from the UK, we couldnt pay with a debit card and wouldnt usually carry a lot of cash for security purposes.. therefore this hotel was asking us to pay them a fee (handling/processing/whatever) in order to pay the bill ... Hilarious!! On that basis and on the basis of the overall customer un-friendly policies at the hotel plus the inconsistent staff friendliness/helpfulness - I would feel this is a hotel which has further work to do to genuinely earn its 5 stars. There is a certain aloofness which seems to apply throughout the team - with the exception of the reception desk, where we encountered 2 exceptional ladies who were helpful, welcoming and comprehensive in their dealings with us.. The bayview was nice. The room was very quiet and the bed of excellent quality. However I would not recommend this hotel as a first or 2nd option.. There are plenty of others out there who understand and practice customer care properly in my view.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossifans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

My husband and I booked a package which included chocolates, strawberries, champayne and an upgraded room as it was our anniversary. We had to phone down twice for the champayne using a mobile as the room phone was not working. We eventually got the drink but not the phone. There were two balconies, we had lovely weather and outward view but no outside seating, possibly so we wouldn't spend too much time out there looking at the rusty framework of the building. Poor selection of building materials makes the hotel look shabby and in need of maintenance. It's the least attractive on the waterfront. The decor of the lobby is sparce and they have not made the most of the impressive height. If a modern crisp finish was the aim, then the cobwebs and bird dropping need to be cleaned more regularly. The signs are not always obvious, especially in the spa. The spa is poorly laid out so that you have to walk through the spa reception in a gown, in full view of the street to get to the spa restaurant and the balcony. The balcony by the way being surrounded by temporary fencing even rustier than the building. After all of that there are some positives. The fitness centre was fairly well equipped, clean and has a great view. The restaurant / bar is attractive and breakfast was very good. The pool area was very relaxing and there was plenty of complementary drinks and fruit. I had the 'Indoceane Ritual' which lasted 120 mins but felt drawn out and the massage was too light even though we agreed on the pressure. There was also no background music. All this said I would have been happy with it if it were 3 or even 4 star hotel, but to book a 5 star for a special occassion it was a hugh let down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I went to the St David Hotel & Spa for a girlie weekend away. We paid extra for an Executive Room and wasn't disappointed. Just a shame the weather wasn't good enough to enjoy the balcony. Loved the shopping centre and Mermaid Quay in the evening; went to the Bayside Restaurant which we would highly recommend, although you might need to book. We didn't and had to wait a little while for a table.

Just one complaint, people staying in a room nearby were making a lot of noise at 4am (banging doors, music playing). Complaints were made to the reception staff and did nothing apart from ask them to turn it down. Surely at 4am, they should be asked to turn it off!!!

Breakfast was lovely and nice choice of fruit, cakes and cooked breakfast. Would like to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
#19 of 74 in Cardiff
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $122 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing