We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Decor, Great Location, but Bad Air Conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Modern Decor, Great Location, but Bad Air Conditioning”
Reviewed September 5, 2009

We like our rooms to be cool inside. The St. David's advertises that it has air-conditioned rooms, but they don't cool the rooms at all--just fan the air around. Location is great, close to the Mermaid Quay entertainment district. Rooms are clean and modern. Spa is great. But don't expect a cool, comfortable night's sleep.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    1,019
    683
    306
    159
See reviews for
435
1,990
79
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We stayed for one night as a last minute get away, hotel was fab from the minute we pulled up, reception staff great, rooms large but cosy and the bar staff were professional and made it feel like you local unlike other hotel bars whereas they make you feel like a bad smell. If your in cardiff i recomend spending an extra £50-60 and going to this great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianpamconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2009

My partner and I stayed at the st Davids Hotel for a short leisure break, we found the whole stay very pleasant and relaxing. The room we stayed in was a deluxe room, very clean and comfortable and a good size with a private balcony and great view of the bay. Breakfasts were delicious and catered for every taste, we did not eat in the restaurant in the evening but sampled some of the local restaurants.

I would certainley recommend the hotel and facilities, worthy of its 5 star rating, I will be planning a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princess_charl
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We decided to go to St David's Hotel mainly because we couldn't get tickets to see The Sound of Music at Wales Millennium Centre due to them being sold out. However, a pair of tickets were available as part of a hotel theatre package, so we tried to book one online.
Perhaps we should have realised then, when we had such problems trying to book the break we wanted that it wasn't a good sign.

We had to call the hotel eventually as the website wasn't working properly. It all got booked up and we were told the complimentary bottle of champagne in our bedroom that was offered in the online deal would still stand as the website wasn't working correctly.

When we arrived at the hotel, we checked in and although the staff member was polite, he didn't seem to know anything about the package. We were given our voucher for a cocktail each at the bar, but we had to ask when the show started, we had to ask what the complimentary transport to the theatre was and were told we had to book it ourselves . He had no idea our package included a 20 minute treatment at the Spa and again we were told we had to contact the Spa and book it ourselves. We also were having a three course meal as part of the deal and he didn't know what time our table was booked for, so we had to find that out ourselves too.

When we got to our room, lo and behold, the champagne was not there as promised. The room was ok but absolutely not five star. The balcony was dirty and tatty, the bedroom was clean but worn and as my husband said, "I would hate to see the normal room if this is supposed to be a deluxe".

The bathroom was nice and clean though and there was a good selection of tea/coffee.

We popped out and when we returned, the champagne was there. We were unable to get a space in the carpark but as I have a disabled badge, we parked on the hotel roundabout and our car was moved for us when a space became available.

When we went down for our meal, we had our free cocktails without a problem. Again, the bar was clean but everything was tatty and nowhere near 5 star standard.

We were seated for dinner and given an "Early Bird Menu" which had a very poor choice of food. I had read that some choices for meals had been steak and sea bass so we brought this up with the waitress who then brought us proper menus! We were supposed to have a glass of house wine each with our meal but they tried to charge us for them when we checked out.

The food was ok - soup to start which was nice, steak for main which was ok but very fatty and Eton mess for dessert which was awful. I'm not quite sure how you can mess up an Eton mess but they did! It was also spelled "Eaton" mess on the menu which is quite bad for a supposed five star hotel! The service was very efficient.

The show went without a hitch, we really enjoyed.

Breakfast was great - I would advise getting there early as it really started to fill up after we were seated.

On checking out, not only did they try to charge us for the complimentary wine, but they also tried to charge us £70 something for the meal that was included as part of our deal, plus some other random charge that was added for no reason whatsoever.

Overall, our stay was disappointing. We were expecting to be very impressed with everything about the hotel, but we had a nicer room and better food when we stayed in the Future Inn just up the road!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princess_charl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton On Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

My sister and I booked this hotel through an Interent agent due to the excellent value the deal offered - 5 star hotel, 2 nights with breakfast, dinner for one evening and a 25 minute spa treatment for each of us. This seemed almost too good to be true! We were not disappointed in any way, the hotel booking system was good, we managed to prebook our treatments with ease. We also reserved a table for our meal on the first evening.
When we arrived at 2pm, the room was not ready but we were asked to leave our cases with coincerage who later delivered them to our room, along with a complementary bottle of sparkling rose wine - very nice!
We were thrilled with our spa treatment - a back and neck massage. The evening meal had ample variety and we could choose up to £30 worth of food. How I wish we had not sampled Harry Ramsdens in the Bay at 2.30pm! Due to this I missed out the starter and pudding and made the mistake of having a dessert cocktail. I realised later it was not included in the meal and ended up paying for it on check out. However, this would be the case at all other hotels - I should have recalled that point for myself and gone for the delicious desserts!
Our room was spacious, well decorated and had the most amazing view of the Bay, especially at night. Cardiff it self has a lot to offer - the open top bus tour was informative and helped us to understand the history of the city. We used the bus to get around from the bay to centre over the 24 hours. The musuem was well worth a visit, but it's closed on Monday. Sound of Music (with Connie Fisher) was on at the Millenium Centre. We were so disppointed to find that we have not discovered this before we arrived in Cardiff. As were were only there from Sunday to Tuesday and there was no performance on Mondays, we missed this fantastic opportunity - it would have been the icing on the cake. Instead we went to a superb Indian restuarant called MOKSH, who serve the best Goan Fish curry in the world (my opinion and I have had many curries since birth). MOKSH is Cardiff Bay, near the little Tesco.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Extremely helpful and friendly staff in a rther impressive hotel. Room was excellent with brilliant views across the bay.

Restaurant could have used a few more staff on our fitst morning and there was quite a wait for breakfast, but other than that really enjoyable stay and we would come again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BargainHunter001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2009

Nice room, very spacious, great view, helpful staff, good breakfast, clean, decoration of room could be more up to date, but still nice to look at.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing