We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My sister and I had an excellent stay at this hotel and I'd recommend it to anyone for either pleasure or business trips. The location is just lovely with views over the bay and is only a ten minute walk from the centre of Cardiff. The hotel has unusual design features, such as the lobby, which is spectacular, and the decor helps to create a calm atmosphere. The restaurant is very good indeed, with reasonably-priced food of a very high standard. However, the best thing about this hotel is the staff. They are professional beyond anything I've come across at other four and five-star hotels and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them. They are highly motivated and readily admit that they look forward to going to work because of the way everyone works together to constantly improve standards. They are highly trained and they know exactly how to react to the needs of different guests, either in a friendly way or in a more discreet and unobtrusive manner. The hotel guest is the centre of everything and the hotel's ethos is to ensure the best possible experience for those who stay there, with attention to detail being important to all staff. The décor is being updated beautifully and, although our room hadn't yet been refurbished and was a little tired in places, this didn't detract from our enjoyment because the overall standard was exactly as one would expect. There are some lovely art-deco features in the rooms and I do hope they retain some of the very attractive woodwork, which is a characteristic of this hotel. A most enjoyable visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but I think views from the higher floors might be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review and I am delighted you both enjoyed every aspect of your time with us. The team here at St David's Hotel & Spa are indeed very committed and passionate about ensuring the guest has the best stay possible and your recognition of their hard work will continue to motivate them and for this I am very grateful. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    1,033
    689
    307
    161
See reviews for
436
2,018
79
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (849)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
297 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Spent one night at the St David's on business.

The hotel enjoys a good location, overlooking Cardiff Bay. It is near restaurants and bars and is therefore well located for leisure, although rather far from the city centre.

The entrance hall was vast and towering, with an atrium going up several floors. My check-in was pleasant and the receptionist was efficient and welcoming.

I was rather disappointed in my room, which was on the fourth floor. It was reasonably large, but rather sparsely furnished. There were no decorations whatever on the walls and the whole feeling was stark and rather unappealing. Disappointingly, there were two single beds. There was a flat screen television, with a wide choice of channels. Pleasingly, there was also a trouser press.

The bathroom was rather disappointing. It had a wide range of toiletries, but was not very big and not particularly luxurious.

I had a very poor night's sleep. The room was equipped with air conditioning, but clearly the system had not been turned on so as to expel cool air. It whirred away all night, but the room nevertheless became increasingly hot, and as a consequence I slept badly.

I ate in the restaurant, which was attached to the bar. On the night in question, there was a live singer, but, to be frank, he was not particularly good, rather noisy, and detracted from the evening rather than enhanced it. The meal itself was good and there was a reasonable and fairly-priced wine list.

Breakfast the following day was very good indeed.

This is quite a good hotel and I do not believe that any traveller could go wrong by staying there. However, it lacked personality and I would not rush to return. To sum up: it was ok, but not outstanding and the lack of air conditioning was a major fault.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospero1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the spectacular views and the breakfast.

I apologise for any issue with the air conditioning and your further comments have been noted and will be discussed with my management team.

I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a relaxing two night stay and enjoyed the spa. Drinks in the bar were a little pricey but great views over the bay. The room had a panoramic view of the bay and its own balcony. Reception staff were very welcoming and explained that cars can be parked opposite in the hotel's car park but there is a charge. I had a beauty treatment and bought products from the salon.

Room Tip: The room with a view of the bay was worth having.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa, particularly the spectacular views of which we are very proud and indeed the service provided by the team.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.

Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwall, Malvern,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely location. Stunning hotel inside. Looks a bit tired on outside. Had views over Cardiff Bay and very close to all attractions. Staff were amazing. Excellent breakfasts. Bar in evening had good atmosphere and we felt really well looked after throughout . The sauna, pool and other spa facilities were really good.

Room Tip: Some rooms have wider view and semicircular balconies so I guess they are the most expensive. Would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, which has of course been shared with the team here at The St David's Hotel & Spa. We love to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and particularly the location, stunning views, Tempus Bar & Restaurant and of course the exceptional service levels provided by the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel situated in Cardiff Bay and only a ten minute taxi ride into Cardiff city centre. The hotel's public areas are modern and stylish but we felt that the rooms were a little dated and needed modernising. For this reason, we didn't feel that it was a 5 star establishment. The staff were very professional and always friendly. We enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuckyStarSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa. We hope you come and visit again soon to experience more of our ongoing investment.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
179 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights .check was good car was parked and luggage was put in room while we enjoyed a glass of wine in the bar .
Room was an excellent size .bathroom nice .
The view from our window was fab across the bay .
Had my hair done in the hairdressers in the lobby ,very nice too.
Went to the theatre one night only a stones throw away .
Definitely come back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank neilmaxbartholomew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased overall that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning very soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Took my fiance for her birthday and it was the best hotel i have ever stayed in, I work all around the uk and stayed in many hotel's but this hotel is the best by far, great service by staff and all round brilliant hotel, 5 star plus i say

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you and your fiance had a enjoyable stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa.

We very much hope to see both again soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing