We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. David's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Took my fiance for her birthday and it was the best hotel i have ever stayed in, I work all around the uk and stayed in many hotel's but this hotel is the best by far, great service by staff and all round brilliant hotel, 5 star plus i say

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and I am delighted you and your fiance had a enjoyable stay with us at The St David's Hotel & Spa.

We very much hope to see both again soon.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    990
    667
    299
    157
See reviews for
415
1,925
79
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (817)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly recommend this hotel. I emailed the hotel prior to our visit asking for a top floor room due to the wonderful views - and was pleased to get this. The room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful and gave the 5* experience. The only very slight negative was the tired decor in the spa - it needs a bit of tlc. But all in all a fantastic hotel in a great location and would absolutely recommend it for a luxury break.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I am delighted overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am pleased you got to enjoy the views that St David's Hotel & Spa are proud of.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to St Davids.

Kind regards
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just spent two nights in this fabulous hotel. Perfectly located in Cardiff Bay, with the most amazing views across the water. Don't be fooled by the outside, inside it is stunning with a contemporary feel. Rooms are spacious and beautifully furnished, could have sat and gazed out across the water all day.
All staff were polite and helpful, Ayesha on reception, could not have been more helpful, she gave us lots of useful information and went the extra mile for us.
Heartily recommend the breakfast, plenty on offer and again, fabulous views across the bay.
Plenty to do in the area, lovely walks, and if you enjoy a walk, the city centre is also within striking distance.
Will definitely return,perhaps for some Christmas shopping!

Room Tip: Corner room over looking the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankszie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review on the St. David's Hotel & Spa. I am delighted overall you enjoyed your time hear. I have noted your comment for Ayesha and i will pass your kind words on to her.

We look forward to you returning in Christmas.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

New construction is ok but will date.
Reception small and pokey, but staff very nice.
Car park not big enough for clients.

DISGRACE that a 5star hotel and spa does not offer free internet in this day and age.

Major disappointment having come from Celtic Manor in Newport (that's a real 5star hotel and spa).

Wouldn't recommend.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brussels_spouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, the contents of which I am disappointed to read. It is unclear from your review whether you had the opportunity to speak with the Duty Manager during your stay to afford us the opportunity to rectify any issues.

In the meantime I apologise for any shortfalls and not meeting your expectations on this occasion.

I do hope we have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the future.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

I agree entirely with Tamara D's comments. The only negatives being the excess heat in many areas with AC not good enough. We slept with the balcony door open wide both nights - in late October!! And the superb food we had for dinner, sumptuous breakfasts and wonderful helpful and friendly catering and bar staff, were all spoiled by being too hot in the restaurant.

Likewise the suite. So comfortable and well appointed that, apart from wanting it cooler we couldn't ask for more.

The only other slight negative was an administrative one - some confusion over what we had paid in advance on account. I'm still not sure we weren't a little overcharged, but am yet to check my receipt.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your constructive feedback, I will of course address the heating and billing issues with the relevant departments.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at the St David's in Cardiff, staff all happy to help with a smile. Had a great meal in the restaurant with friends from the city. Highly recommend the Burger the best for me! The concierge department is an asset to the hotel. As soon as we arrived at the hotel Oliver was there to greet us and make us feel welcome and as we were departing Jeffrey was there to see us off! Nothing was too much for both. The only negative I have regarding my stay was the room was too hot and after putting the AC on it still was not cooling down.. All in all an enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: Penarth view the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise especially to our concierge team.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to St Davids.

Kind regards
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I wanted something special for my mothers birthday in August. I've stayed at the hotel before so knew this was a lovely place.
I booked the summer spa day deal. We had 2 treatments, use of the spa and lunch.
We really enjoyed. Would recommend these deals to anyone.
Lunch was a salad, chicken wrap and apple tart. We were served lunch in one of the rooms. The waitress was so nice! The soup to start was lovely. With views over the barrage and penarth this added to our relax.
I had a back, neck and Indian head massage. The massage room was so relaxing and the relaxation room after was soothing- mum fell asleep!
The sauna, pool & jacquzzi was lovely with beautiful views.
I am getting married soon & hope someone is nice enough to book it for me :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 410AngharadJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise to our team at the hotel. A huge congratualtions on your engagment from all at St Davids and we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back once again in the near future.

Kind regards.
Andreas Maszczyk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,096 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing