We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon tea!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. David's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant with a friend as a birthday celebration. We had the champagne afternoon tea. It was £26 each, which seemed quite pricey so we had high expectations. It didn't disappoint! The service was fantastic throughout our visit. There was a wide range of teas to choose from and the staff seemed to know their stuff! We are vegetarians and were provided with egg mayonnaise, cheese and tomorrow sandwiches. My only criticism is that the cheese and tomato sandwiches were a bit boring! Literally just bread and cheddar cheese and bread and tomato. After this, we were presented with a cart loaded with a wide variety of cakes and tarts. We were allowed to choose three kinds each. I had the lemon tart which was beautiful (and not enough!), a slice of coffee cake and a scone which was served with fresh cream and jam. All in all it was a lovely experience and I will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank L87SW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to us for Afternoon Tea. I am delighted you enjoyed the St David's experience and we very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,444
    995
    668
    300
    157
See reviews for
415
1,932
79
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

this is a world class hotel in a fantastic location, the service was the best we have experienced in a hotel in many years. Fantastic room, world class facilities.. we loved staying here and will do so again. The staff were just wonderful, helpful, knowledgeable and very polite. The view from the room was amazing and the location is just perfect, a short walk to a wide range of bars and restaraunts. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lizziea664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your first class review of our hotel. Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read. I will most certainly pass on your praise to the team at the hotel, where no doubt they will further be inspired by your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to St David’s once again in the near future.

Kind regards.
Graemen Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for a second time and travelled with 3 other couples. The four rooms we booked were ready on our arrival and one of the rooms had been upgraded to a junior suite. The rooms have beautiful bathrooms, fabulous views over the bay and are well laid out. The hotel has a cocktail bar which is popular with non residents too and as such is busy and has a great atmosphere.
The ony criticism I have is that the breakfast was not the best quality but there was plenty of it.
Throughout our stay the service was exemplary from the valet to room service. Wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kim g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your excellent comments regarding your stay with us which I have shared with the team. I am delighted you enjoyed all that St David's has to offer and that the team were able to look after you throughout your stay, however I apologise if there was an issue with breakfast.

I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I'm going to agree with other reviews here that say it's probably more of a 4 star hotel, not a genuine 5 star experience. That's not to say we had any major issues, just the overall feel of the place, I personally wouldn't call it a 5 star hotel. The breakfast was really quite poor for a hotel of this quality, I would say that is really letting them down. All of it was cold, the toast, egg (which was like a bullet) and bacon, and I think the coffee was too! I can't understand why they're serving up such a substandard breakfast when the dinner coming from the same kitchen was excellent. My guess is they're cooking it all in bulk early, then letting it sit and get cold/hard. But, for a five star hotel, I expect them to fry me a fresh egg. It was actually a worse breakfast than the canteen at my work place, and trust me, that's going some...
Onto more positive things, the rooms were really worth the price in my opinion, for the amazing views, and also the size and comfort. We had an issue with noisy neighbours on the first night, which I'd like to stress was really not the hotel's fault, it was some drunken wedding guests that we had the misfortune of being next door to. They were told immediately by the night staff to shut up, when I phoned down at 3am to complain, but unfortunately they didn't, so we had a sleepless night. As I say, this is not the hotel's fault, I can't expect them to evict another paying guest at 3am, all they can do is ask them, and if that doesn't work, they're in a difficult situation. To make it up to use, they upgraded us for free to the master executive suite, which was several hundred pounds more than the room we'd paid for, so that really made up for our first night being ruined by [--]. Both rooms were excellent, very comfy beds, nice big size (obviously the suite being massive compared to what I'm used to!). The balcony in the first normal room was small but nice, I agree with other reviews that some seating would be nice, but I understand why they can't. We just dragged the chair from the room out anyway.. The balcony on the suite was much bigger, and had table and chairs, was really nice to sit out in the sun in the morning and enjoy the spectacular view of Cardiff Bay.
Didn't use the spa apart from the swimming pool, it was empty when we went down first thing, and we enjoyed it.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, and I probably would stay here again, hopefully on a night when they have no weddings going on! My main advise would be to not bother paying for the breakfast, it's rubbish, and you're better off walking over to the Bay area (5 min walk tops) and choose one of the millions of cafes, bars, restaurants to have your breakfast in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank limadelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were able to look after you after a disturbed night. To confirm, had you brough the repeated disturbance to our attention again, we would of course have approached the guests again, or alternatively made a desicion regarding the mutual respect that is required at that time in the morning.

I note your comments in relation to breakfast and apologise for your disappointment. I hope you will appreciate that as your stay was in May it is difficult for me to investigate your claims now however for future reference a Duty Manager is on shift 24/7 to resolve any issues immediately. I have however passed your comments to my respective Managers for review.

Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back to St David's in the future.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

I had a lovely surprise when i was taken here for my birthday in may :D we have previously stayed at the hotel in November 2011, for my partners birthday (when we got upgraded!! That was a stunning suite & a fantastic birthday for him).
We got a nice room on 5th floor this stay. The view over the reserve was lovely & as the weather was nice it would have been nice to sit out on the balcony but we had no chairs! Only chairs from inside the room which were heavy.
We got a bottle of rose in the package- which was lovely.
We have had food on both occassions we stayed & both times have enjoyed so much! We say its the best food we have had. This time there was a singer, who we really enjoyed. He sang classics, new songs- a good mix! And such a lovely view overlooking the barrage. See my view for breakfast to appreciate!
We made full use of the pool, sauna & jacquzzi! We had a massage each last time, which we both enjoyed, but this time decided to make use of the sun & explore Penarth.
It was such a lovely stay! Im hoping to come back again soon

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 410AngharadJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind review and I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your second stay with us for your birthday . I am pleased that once again you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and particularly the live singer in the bar which is indeed very popular.

A warm welcome awaits your next stay.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Chosen because it was near the glee club and had a spa the price was good but only because use spa was included. Didn't opt for breakfast as the price is rediculous. Room was lovely. Bar was lovely as we're the staff . Would go again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessicarabbit1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly the Marine Spa.

Breakfast, priced at £12 if pre-ordered, includes a full Welsh cooked breakfast, a continental buffet, fresh pastries and bread, fresh fruit and yogurts, cereals, juices and of course tea and toast.

I am pleased to hear that you will return to St David's in the future and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I came here late April as a surprise from my boyfriend for my birthday, I was always told st.davids was the best hotels in Cardiff but never experienced it before. Upon arrival, we were expecting a deluxe room but when asked what is the occasion and explained it was my birthday we was upgraded unexpectedly to a suite. Entered our room with a bottle of champagne and chocolates and it was a wonder. Even bringing up presents that my grandparents had sent to the hotel prior to being there. The spa was amazing me and my boyfriend didn't want to leave. The breakfast was exceptional as well. Couldn't complain one little bit. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauzmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you ever so much for your kind review which has been shared with the team. I am delighted you and your boyfriend enjoyed your birthday treat and that the team looked after you so well.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,099 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.6 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing