We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, ideally situated for cosmopolitan Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here this week with my family and can honestly say this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The room was so incredibly relaxing with beautiful views over the bay. My youngest daughter thoroughly enjoyed the swimmimg pool. We took in a show at the Motorpoint arena which is only a short taxi ride away. We dined in Cardiff and the whole family had a superb time. The staff are very friendly and eager to help. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Cardiff has an incredible amount to offer and just gets better every time we visit.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fantastic views over the bay, which adds to the whole experience
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniemSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your excellent feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed the comfort of the hotel’s unique location and individual service and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,856)
There are newer reviews for The St. David's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,778 - 2,784 of 3,856 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My first visit here and was very disappointed. Nice large room, clean but nothing spectacular.We sat down for evening meal and were told that 4 things were off what was already a fairly limited menu - including Sirloin Steak for goodness sake. 25 minutes wait between each course and nealry died of thirst waiting for drinks to arrive even though it was not busy. Worst soup I have ever tasted in my entire life - I think it was butternut squash but it tasted of absolutely nothing!! Waitress smashed a glass under our table and left most of it behind when she cleaned up. Two out of 5 toilets in reception were out of order. Breakfast quite nice once they managed to get our order correct Changing rooms for the spa were a mess. No help with lugagge - they tried to overcharge us on checkout and we had to pay 10.00 to park - what a joke!Would NOT go back especially at these prices.

Room Tip: 7th floor has large suites
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALLYSON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day break to St David's, this being our 5th time (so you can tell this was one of our favourite hotels). On arrival we were told no rooms available on 7th floor as per our request. We had also advised them at booking stage this was my wife’s birthday and our anniversary. We were then directed to our room on the 6th floor, well I have to say the curtains were filthy with all the hems hanging on the floor , the carpet had seen better days and the double bed was 2 single beds partly pushed together with a double mattress over the top. The base of the bed was also very badly marked , We did try and push the beds together to avoid a hole in the middle. Day 2 we spoke to a very nice receptionist who said she would move us la ter in the day, which we did to the 7th floor. This bed was more comfortable, but the room had no relaxing chair, but after raising this, one was delivered to our room. The view to Penarth was, as always, superb.

Breakfast used to be one of the highlights , but not anymore, no freshly squeezed
orange juice anymore, just a cheaper sweet drink. The other juices, such as cranberry was also sweet cordial like. The brown toast tasted like a well know value brand !, no more quality breads or granary. Coffee was best avoided, well stewed. Cereal was choice of two from dispensers, Corn flakes or Allbran, if you wanted anything else you were out of luck. Cooked breakfast to order, rather than a buffet (although Sunday was a buffet).If you wanted something a bit different , such as poached eggs rather than fried was a costly £5.00 supplement on what was a very expensive £18 breakfast in the first place. The breakfast was not freshly cooked, but appeared to be served from those warm containers, prepared in bulk which results in dried up bacon and mushrooms, it was all served luke warm on luke warm plates. Our service was reasonable but others were complaining around us.

On checking out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay only if we had used their car park, but we did explain about the breakfast and was told others had also complained and they would report it.

This hotel used to be our favourite but not anymore whatever happened to 5 star quality?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPKJSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. I am aware that our Reception team were able to assist you with a complimentary upgrade on the 2nd night of your stay to a 7th floor Deluxe king room and I also hope our team were able to assist throughout your whole stay. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

the hotel itself is very nice the room we had on the 5th floor gave good views the room was ok nice big bed pleasant bathroom and was clean however a small fridge would have been nice the room had no bath robes or towels and we had to ask for them via room service The Spa was nice yet the changing roomwasn't that clever although I thought the lift straight to the spa from your floor was helpfull although rated 5 star after staying in other 5 stars this is nowhere near in comparison
Now this is where I thought they really let themselves down ........the food and restuarant we booked a table the first night for 8pm we arrived to be told we would have to wait even thou there were empty tables 20 mins later we were took to our table the food when it turned up wasn't that warm and not much of it either we ordered sweets waited 20 mins to be told .....we haven't got what you want plus be warned this to me is really bad if you are full board you are only allowed a set price each visit and the price isn't that high so you could still see a bill for £30 very easily each visit. The breakfast wasn't much better very expensive if you were paying we had to ask for our tea twice no marmalade and staff who didn't really seem that interested plus I asked for brown sauce when she bought it to the table with a "here's your brown sauce " it was quite obviously red sauce
I would highly recommend take a stroll and visit one of the numerous eating venues in Cardiff bay save a fortune and get 10 times better and quicker service

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel's unique setting and I am sorry that dinner did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your constructive feedback which will be discussed with my Operations team as I assure you that St David’s has an ongoing commitment to supporting our guest’s needs.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

stayed for two nights in the beginning of February 2013 , corner room water side 401 lovely views from two side of the room very nice , clean, well laid out with welsh cakes and snacks available, staff were very good nothing was to much trouble, Jeff the concierge is a legend if you want to know anything about Cardiff he's your man he is a credit to the hotel top bloke makes you feel just that bit special ,
the spa was great very relaxing and enjoyable ,with a private lift from all floors to the spa its not a cheap hotel but then if you look at all you get for the costs its not unreasonable really , lovely rooms quality spa and pool great surroundings and a fantastic location and outlook from all the rooms ,
The only reason i didn't give a 5 star rating for this 5 star hotel is the breakfast ! i have had much better breakfasts in much lesser hotels , as i said this is a 5 star hotel , the breakfast should reflect this and at £19 for full welsh (well full English as there is nothing welsh on the plate sadly) i would expect much better ,on previous stays we enjoyed a very good buffet breakfast with everything you could desire all top quality, but this time you can see that cut backs have been made , the main breakfast is brought to you from the kitchen but the items had been standing under hot lights and the bacon was dried out, the fried eggs had hard caps on the yolks and was just not what i wanted from a 5 star hotels breakfast , the toast is made with very cheap bread , the pastries are small and cheap and were over cooked , this may seem a bit unfair but as this is mainly a bed and breakfast business its an important part of the stay , in my opinion , so come on st davids sort out the breakfast and give us the 5 star start to the day we should be getting , other than that moan , we had a very good stay and came away very happy and relaxed 9 out of 10

Room Tip: the higher the better and nearest to the water , opposite end to the reception
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gshockxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. I was disappointed to hear that breakfast did not meet your expectations and I can advise that the team will look into the comments an take the necessary actions to improve. Once again I thank you for your comments and look forward to seeing you back at St David’s in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night at the beginning of february! The hotel reception is simple yet so gorgeous. The amazing view you have when you look up at all the floors infront of you is so pretty! We stayed in the junior suite and its was a stunning room. Very clean. Very spacious. There was a welcome leaflet on the bed on arrival, a bottle of brut wine, welsh cakes, pringles, 2 belgian chocolates and a bottle of still water on each side of the bed all as promised. The bathroom was spotless!! Not a mark or a spec anywhere! The balconies were very big and we had lush views of Cardiff Bay. The room service was unbelievable. We had ordered 2 12oz sirloin steaks 2 ciabattas and 2 alcoholic bevarages and it was in our room within 15 minutes. Our steaks were cooked to perfection and the garlic ciabatta was cruchy on the outside and soft in the middle which was gorgeous! Then an hour later we ordered a bottle of sparkling wine and it came in a beautiful ice bucket with 2 glasses and the wine was chilled to perfection. The only bad things i could think of is that if you are a bit weak with heights then the 4th floor up might be a bit high for you. Also the balcony which you walk out onto by the setee area, it was a huge step over the bottom panel and when its raining it can be slippery. All in all I would definately stay in this hotel again. It was clean, peaceful and all the staff were fabulous!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your excellent comments. We are delighted we were able to accommodate your needs and look forward to welcoming you back to St David’s in the future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I organised a day and night hen party in the spa and hotel for 15 of my friends and the service was awful. The staff are useless, I called countless times to book the spa and each time I was promised they would call me back when the diary was open. This never happened, the staff were rude and not very accomodating considering we were spending about £2K that weekend with them.

When we got there they were nice enough and let us check into the room. The spa and pool is great, the facials were fab but paying £30 for a really bad shape and polish is a joke - no hand massage, cuticle treatment nothing. We were five minutes late going up to the spa rooms and someone rudely came down to get us and told us off.

Typical example of a 1* pretending to be a 5*.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurkeyFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments referring to our staff being useless are disapointing and strongly refuted. I hope you were able to bring any concerns to the attention of the Duty Manager at the time for immediate resolution. Treatment times and punctuality are crucial so that we can ensure all guests are allocated their full treamtent times. I apologise if you felt that you were being reprimanded rudely for being late and rest assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,186 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: $111 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing