We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but don't be fooled by the Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but don't be fooled by the Spa”
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has good service, good rooms-
All of which you expect for this price tag and a 5 star venue. I was very disappointed after travelling down the private spa lift to find the spa was very basic with a sauna, steam room and then a cold water pool. No jacuzzi, hot tub or anything particularly special

I somewhat expected this Spa to trump other hotels particularly given the efforts the hotel goes to (private lift, gowns etc).

The service was excellent, rooms were large with a great view, balcony was a bit disappointing given the dividing partition between rooms (very close to other rooms).

I would visit again- but not sure of the price tag.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Busyjetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your comments although we are somewhat confused. We have a very large hydrotherapy pool with jacuzzi and jacuzzi contour beds, a salt water corridor leading to the swan neck fountains together with a 15 metre swimming pool within the Marine Spa.

Your comment regarding service are most welcome and we hope to welcome you back to St David's soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    1,043
    692
    315
    164
See reviews for
444
2,052
79
400
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (861)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at St David’s Bay Hotel several times over the past few years, and most recently earlier this year. The rejuvenated Cardiff bay is a very pleasant location and this hotel (In my opinion) is the jewel in the crown. Every room has a panoramic vista of the bay, and sitting with my wife Debbie breakfasting on a continental breakfast was a perfect start to the day. I think my first visit was in 2007 and on each subsequent return it has been a quality experience to treasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy_hartigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Your words are very kind and I am so pleased you continue to enjoy all that St David's has to offer. A warm welcome awaits your next visit.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel may have been five start at one time, but it no longer is. Based on other hotels we've stayed at I would not rate this any higher than a three star. The location of the hotel was very good with great access to water taxis for a trip to the Castle. The staff were very courteous and pleasant. We were asked at check in if we wanted a newspaper, replied that we did. Never did get one and when we called to ask for it were assured that the concierge had delivered one to our door; we would also have been charged for these if we had not checked our billing.

The breakfast was very good, but we were a little disappointed not to see more local dishes on it. The wait staff in the restaurant were excellent.

Overall our experience wasn't bad, but we were glad that we paid discounted price with breakfast included. Had we paid more we would have been very disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caldasgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and the individual service that the St David's prides itself on. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in room 308 (a standard room) which had a nice view across the bay to the marina and restaurants. The room was on the whole clean and spacious it was disappointing that a five star hotel hadn't maintained the furniture a bit better. The leather on the seating was worn and cracked and the table legs needed some fixing, we would also not have expected to see cobwebs in the room. A mini bar in the room would have been nice and some free wifi would be easy to provide considering the room price and its free availability at lots of other hotels in lower price and star brackets. These might seem like small issues but they are the difference between a four and a five star hotel - quality complimentary toiletries and big fluffy towels were included as you would expect. The breakfast selection was good and the vege option was tasty which is rare in chain hotels. We would stay here again if visiting this part of Wales.

Room Tip: Stay higher for better views and explore the nearby restaurants for some fine dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenjisUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your breakfast at St David’s. I can advise that areas of the hotel are currently being refurbished and we hope you choose to return on a future occasion.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a conference. Room was amazing, beautiful views over Cardiff Bay.
Staff were all superb and really helpful. Massive thanks to the concierge who went looking in the dirty robes in the spa where I'd stupidly left a necklace in the pocket. I had a fab hot stones massage from Sue in the spa, which I would highly recommend. The spa was lovely, if I'm being super critical I thought the pool part of the spa was a little small. I was expecting it to be bigger having recently visited the Celtic Manor and I missed a steam room. Nevertheless it was very good and all the staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Really tasty breakfast with lots of variety. Bar drinks very pricey but you expect that in this kind of hotel. I paid £7.50 for a large rose.
A fantastic stay in this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed the facilities of the hotel whilst here for your conference and your kind words have been passed on the team and in particular Sue and the conceierge boys. Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed for one night for a conference. The staff were polite and very helpful. The room was clean and a lovely view over the bay. The down side was we were served with a hot lunch but nowhere to sit down and eat it, this was not finger buffet. The evening meal was OK but people gathered in the bar area after dinner but there was only a few stools to sit on. There was a large choice of food for breakfast, but the cooked food could have been better.

Room Tip: I would eat out, the food is expensives and not up to the standard I would expect. This is the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay whilst here on your conference and your comments regarding seating during the buffet have been noted and we will feed these back to the conference organisers. The bar area does get very busy, particular during evenings when we have a live singer, which I hope you was still able to enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back to St David's in the near future.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

some of the reviews say that it is too sterile. This hotel was our choice after a month long traveling around Scotland and Ireland during we stayed in various B&B and hotels. I must say that we really enjoyed our stay there as the room was really spacious and light with the ceiling-floor windows, beautiful view, comfortable bathroom.... we couldn't wish more.
We stayed there for 2 nights and divided our time among the city /walk distance/, spa and just relaxing in a king bed.
Of course, if you are looking for something really romantic with all details than it can be a bit sterile but the hotel itself is modern and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and particularly the unique style and setting of St David's. We very much look forward to your return.

Kind regards.
Graeme Barclay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,079 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,221 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing