We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cardiff Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. David's Hotel
Ranked #15 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cardiff Overnight Stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lovely hotel.
Fantastic Views.
Stunning pool and spa
5 Minutes walk to the Millenium Centre and an abundance of restaurants.
Hotel Restaurant food was expensive but excellent. Service was slow.
I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: High room to get the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we hope you chose to return on a future visit. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,055
    700
    317
    167
See reviews for
455
2,075
80
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Our eagerly awaited Spa experience at St David's was such a disappointment. On leaving, both my friend and I rated it 5-6 out of 10 which, given it's a 5 star Spa, did not compare in the slightest to the likes of The Sanctuary or Champneys. I usually read Trip Advisor reviews before making any bookings but on this occasion I didn't (I wish I had!). Had I of done, I would have seen that the hotel on the whole got very good reviews but the Spa did not rate very well at all.

Anyway, rather than write a scathing review on Trip Advisor I thought I would first speak to the Spa Manager thereby giving them the opportunity to look into matters. This took two emails to ask him to call me (as his details were not openly given on their website). He telephoned me on 17/10/2012 and I talked through our concerns. He noted that we were holiday at the time of the phone call and that we would be home on Saturday 20th October. He said he didn't want to disturb our holiday and he promised to call me the beginning of this week, 22nd October. Has he called back? No.

That's how much they value their clients.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnoyedWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
I was disappointed to read your comments. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with the Spa Manager.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Plus point - spectacular location and views of Cardiff Bay
negative points - tired and rooms in need of updating. Upon complaining, the manager pointed out that they're in the process of doing this but that doesn't make up for it when your room hasn't been done! even without a tired room, problems like a dirty teaspoon in the room, soup spoons laid out for breakfast cereal spoons, poor quality breakfast buffet food etc. mean that in my opinion this is a long way short of being a five star hotel. The noise in the foyer on the Saturday night made it feel more like a cheap budget chain than anything special.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stever145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I booked a twin bedded room for me and my mum to stay for two nights. We were given a room which was obviously for a disabeled person. No bath and no chairs to sit on (only our beds). The bathroom floor was like an ice rink when wet which was a hazard. Prior to booking I had requested a gluten free diet for my mum. I was reasured that this was standard and not a problem. No gluten free bread was available at breakfast, they had ran out. This was very poor and limited my mum with what she could eat. The menu was very limited and extremly expensive for the quality served. On a positive note the bar staff, restaurant staff and reception staff were all very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If booking a twin request a room that is not dsigned for a person with a disability unless you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. The issues mentioned will be looked into and any corrective action will be implemented accordingly.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Me and 3 other girls stayed for a weekend for our birthdays and we had such a great time, The hotel was amazing and could not fault anything, The rooms were great very comfy!! The staff were all very helpfull especially Nathan the night manager, He really did go out of his way to help us, He ordered us taxi's and told us all the good places to go to. He really was very very helpfull.

We cant wait to stay their again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you, we are delighted we were able to accommodate your needs and look forward to welcoming you back to St David’s in the future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Took my partner here on his r&r/birthday and had a wonderful time, good location 1/2 hr walk into Cardiff centre. We had a beautiful room with 2 glass walls that overlooked the harbour, was truly stunning. Food was posh nosh, beautifully presented and very filling!
The hotel were very helpful and assisted me making this perfect! Did want to come home!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted we were able to accommodate your needs and that you enjoyed our unique and individual service. We look forward to welcoming you back to St David’s in the future.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Our daughter booked a day at this spa for us as a treat, when we arrived we were told we couldn't have lunch unless it had been prebooked, we were told we would have to get dressed and go to the bar after 2pm(we had arrived at 10am. there were no robes and a considerable amount of lockers were out of order!! The pool was full of babies and there is no steam room only a sauna.
We went up for our treatments at 4pm the staff were totally confused as to the treatments we had bookedand we were led off to seperate rooms.I ended up having a different treatment to what i had booked and was told the one i had booked and paid for wasn't available! my husband was made to treck from one room to another in between treatments and had said the therapists were awful and talked continually as did mine.
My facial was one of the worst i have had, needless to say we won't ever return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clare47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJones2011, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I was disappointed to read your comments and I am sorry to read that certain elements of your stay did not meet your expectations. Please be assured your comments will be discussed and addressed with my Management team.

Kind regards,

Graeme Barclay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,130 reviews
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,261 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.2 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. David's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Property: The St. David's Hotel
Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing