We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so good this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“not so good this time”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

The last time I stayed at the Big Sleep was Dec 2007, here for a two night stay this time. We have stayed there before & love the location, on a previous review I suggested that arriving early to get one of the limited number of free parking spaces. However we were caught out this time, the hotel has turned the ground floor bar into a conference room, & delegates had filled the spaces. Also the hotel now charges for parking at £6 per day. We were directed to an open air car park 5 minutes walk away, which cost £5 for 24 hrs.
As for the hotel itself, nothing much has changed, rooms are clean & bright, minimalist. Corridors & lifts looking a bit scruffy. Have always found the beds to be very comfortable, but they are quite low to the ground.
Breakfast much more basic this time, the only fruit available was apples, & only one flavour of yoghurt (toffee). Otherwise toast, cerials, croisants, juice, tea & coffee.
The one very good feature of the Big Sleep is the location, we were attentding a concert at the CIA which is opposite, & it is a short walk to the shops.
I would stay there again, however I would also look at one of the many other hotels that are now open in the vicinity, even if they cost more

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinaCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    315
    374
    278
    378
See reviews for
178
554
108
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

This was mine and partners second stay at the Big Sleep as stayed there a few years ago and enjoyed it - location is great for CIA and shopping, views from top rooms are fabulous - communal areas fine but the hotel is pretty minimal and does look a bit shabby from outside, parking is also a problem if you don't get there early as spaces are limited and very tight also you have to pay for parking on top of the room price. For this particular stay we booked the penthouse suite, we were impressed, the room was massive, biggest bed I have ever slept in that was on a plinth in middle of room with a nice flatscreen tv at bottom and bed and bedding nice and clean and comfy,, modern if not very comfy furniture, sofa, an odd shaped chair, dressing table etc and storage cubes for clothes. The bathroom was fairly small but clean and bath had jacuzzi, water was really hot. Tea coffee etc provided. Loved the 'carpet' curtains too - very shabby chic. Only let down was fact that there were workmen on the railway behind the hotel that started work very early on the Sunday morning and woke us up and also that the breakfast was continental - my partner was most disappointed he didn't get cooked brekkie! Also while we were having breakfast the fire alarm went on staff in breakfast room didnt seem too bothered but did tell us half heartedly after good 5 mins that we shoudl leave, we left and ended up outside in rain, went back in when we assumed it was safe as no one came to get us only to find hardly anyone else staff included had bothered to leave.....thought that was quite disorganised and potentially dangerous. That aside we like the hotel and would probably stay again though I think now with so many other hotels springing up in Cardiff, the mangement need to be bit more on the ball and get the hotel up to a better standard and offer a better service to keep competitive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriaplum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

We stayed mid week in a standard room which was sufficient, clean and basic but was fine for what we needed. The staff were very freindly and helpful, the car park does get full but there is an NCP with negoitated rates close by. After staying in many travelodges this was a breath of fresh air, bed was very comfy and didn't have the thought of dubious stains while sleeping in it. The room was basic but like the whole place, pretty funky. Breakfast included was ample, cereals, toast, pastries, yoghurts. Certainly a place I would return to.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djkeri
2 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2010

we have just returned today from our stay in Cardiff. We stayed in The Big Sleep Hotel. Rooms very Clean and Spacious- nice big bed, basic but for a short stay absolutely fine. Nice bathroom and shower facilities en-suite, the only food we had there was the continental breakfast but was very nice, Rooms can get cold but just half n hour after putting the heater on it soon warms up nicely. Nive lively colourful rooms. we had no trouble or noise from any other guests.

The location of the hotel is brilliant right across the street from St.Davids shopping centre which also has a food court inside with restraunts such as Nando, Yo Sushi and TGI Fridays. Cardiff International Areana- is right on the door step of the hotel so no need for taxis

Also Cardiff bay is a good 2 mile walk away but well worth it when you see the beauty of the place. Overall we had a brillant stay at the hotel but i wouldnt recommend it for a whole weeks holiday but definatly for a short stay like we did.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I've been to Cardiff a few times now, and thought this would be convenient, although knowing it looked slightly scruffy from the outside. I thought maybe the whole chic boutique claim they make would brighten up the inside. Wrong. Athough the staff I met were pleasant enough, the place was filthy from the outset...carpets tacky and the lifts disgusting (and very small, although only one was working). They were busy - and I arrived on a Sunday morning...so I had the benefit of the hung-over patrons coming down for their morning beers!
The whole place was so unclean, scruffy, and not the kind of place I felt either welcomed or safe, so I didn't even check-in. I forfeited the pre-paid room and headed for Premier Inn, which was infinitely better for only twenty pounds more.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carioca316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

This is a nice hotel in Cardiff! Don't expect too much as you only get what you pay for however it is good value for money and I would recommend to anyone looking for a cheap place to stay for a couple of nights!!

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishouldknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We expected everything to be budget and so were not disappointed when we checked into our railway line facing room. The service in reception was helpful, the continental breakfast better than expected, facilities in bedrom fine - but the bed - ouch. It was competing with the floor for comfort.
Other budget hotels (eg Premier) have gone to great lengths to provide good sized comfortable beds. Come on Big Sleep make it happen.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRL8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, April 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
1,156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing