We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff)
Nearby Hotels
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$174
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Cardiff Gate(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$178
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$169
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tanes Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$73
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Cardiff North Hotel(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveler rating
182
360
409
287
387
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
360
409
287
387
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
792 - 797 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Last minute mid-week booking. Very easy to find and drive into hotel car park with plenty of parking available mid afternoon. Efficient, helpful and friendly staff at reception. Large open aspect room on 10th floor had finest view of Cardiff I'd ever had. Public areas like lobbies, lifts, etc. could do with a spruce up as looking tired. Good continental breakfast apart from the coffee which was dire. Location is excellent being directly opposite the CIA and approx. 200m from John Lewis. Parking was £7 per 24 hours. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Higher up the better for the views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Goodwickboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

No ice bad service no fridge an absolute dump avoid like the plague I honestly have to say this the worst place ever for breakfast all you have is toast and a boiled egg and ceial with no milk just crap

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here the night before my daughters graduation as it was an early start for us. Booked via booking.com and was £36 which included continental breakfast for both of us. Room was fine, twin beds and plenty of room, one problem was you couldn't open any windows and luckily there were 2 fans in the room although only one worked! It was great until whoever were staying in the room next to us put on a music channel very loud! It sounded as if it was playing in our room! Due to this did not have a good nights sleep and probably won't stay here again! Shame really as it is well positioned for those visiting Cardiff!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is first and foremost a budget hotel. It is as central as you can get without paying a fortune. The hotel isvery basic, and the staff are great. Treat it as a place to sleep and get ready, and then off you go into the bright lights of Cardiff. Stopped there for 2 nights and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank renuk39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is awful!! As others have said the corridors smelt of wee and the rooms were so hot and stuffy it was unbearable. The only positive was the friendly receptionist. I cannot believe you cannot open the windows!! A fan was in the room but it did not make any difference. To boil the kettle you had to put it on the floor as the sockets were in the floor and the cord was not long enough to put on the table. Definitely not worth the money and definitely will not stay here again or ever recommend it .

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at Citrus Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality (Formerly The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff), responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews