We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget with a capital B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Budget with a capital B!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Stayed here on a quick visit to the city on a limited budget. I'm used to Travelodge / Ibis standards (basic but clean) but found this more like a poor standard hostel with rooms.

Hotel in major need of refurbishment and investment. Ripped curtains in my room as well as paintwork coming off the walls. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FIrstname S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    304
    368
    276
    375
See reviews for
169
541
104
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My previous review of the Big Sleep states that I would stay here again, but would try to find somewhere else first. However my husband booked it when he heard that Bruce Springstein was coming to the Millenium Stadium Cardiff, it was the first place he thought to try & was able to book a room for £44 b&b (we checked a few days after the concert tickets had gone on sale & the price had jumped up to £160 for that night.)
There's no change really, although everywhere seems to have had a lick of paint. To be fair the beds are comfortable, rooms & facillities basic. The room was very hot when we arrived in the afternoon, the small fan on the wall did little to cool the air. Much cooler at night though, but our room faced the railway line so could hear the trains running from about 5.30 am.
Breakfast the same as before except no yoghurts this time.
For the price we paid & the location for one night it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinaCloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Air con would have been great given the heat but considering the price, location, friendliness and helpfulness of the staff I'll book in again.

With seemingly every bar in Cardiff closing at 12 and Springsteen not finishing until 11.30 it was a godsend that the batman at the big sleep was happy to keep serving!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJGrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very ideally situated for Millenium Stadium, Cardiff Bay, High Street, Rail and Bus station all within minutes away. The breakfast is free and consists of pastries, cereal and fruit mainly. However, it was very basic to say the least. Windows could not be opened and in the midst of an heatwave it was sweltering and too uncomfortable to sleep in. There was a stagnant smell in the air and the toilets most of the time wouldn't flush properly which I didn't think was acceptable. I stayed for three nights and would not go back. I'd rather stick to a Travelodge but if your looking for somewhere to spend a night and look around what Cardiff as to offer then the Big Sleep Hotel wouldn't be too bad for the location. However, I wouldn't recommend staying their for longer than a night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Cardiff
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

In the really hot weather the hotel would benefit with air conditioning especially as the windows don't open. Pleasant stay apart from the room was too hot. Nicely furnished hotel with a great location very central to Cardiff city centre, breakfast was included which was standard value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Yasmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here twice now. Perfectly adequate for the price, comfy beds and helpful friendly staff. The only downside is the heat and non openable Windows. As to the title of this review, you'll understand when you see the curtains!

Also, I am aware this is a long shot but I accidentally left my hair straighteners when I was filling up my water bottle from the drinks fountain on the same floor as reception. They are white GHDs, I checked out this morning (21st July) so if anyone happened to pick them up up I would be truly grateful if you could contact me! A good stay apart from my own stupidity leaving belongings behind!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonandStars90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is ideally placed in the city centre, and the rooms were spacious and clean. The beds were comfortable, the showers were good but there was only extremely hot water available from the wash basin taps (no way of turning the temperature down as the controls didn't work). The curtains were a horrible furry material, and ripped in one room. The staff were very friendly and helpful, supplying a fan to replace the broken wall fan in one of our rooms. Breakfast was fine too - plentiful coffee, juice, pastries, cereal and fruit. So overall fine for one or two nights for the price we paid, but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croatiabuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing