We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to set back a few decades!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Neath, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you want to set back a few decades!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I will try and be as objective as I can. This hotel has some good points amongst the bad.

Good - the shower was really powerful and the was a heated towel rail with large bath sheet towels.

Bad - don't really know where to start!! Firstly, the corridors were ridiculously narrow and had more than a hint of Eau de Urine about them! You step into the room and it was like being taken back into a 1980s poor standard university hall of residence, chipped paintwork, very basic furniture and the furry beige curtains were really spectacularly dated and disturbing.

That said, it was cheap (for a reason obviously), in a perfect city centre location and the bed was comfy.

If you don't have high standards or are not easily shocked this would be an ideal hotel room for you, although my advise would be to stump up a few extra quid to upgrade to a travelodge!!

John Malkovich, if this is your Hollywood dream I don't know what you are thinking (he part owns the hotel).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsNeath_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    291
    359
    272
    371
See reviews for
164
531
100
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

after booking a 2 night stay for a large group of us we turned up and the place looked a little run down but at the end of the day you get what you pay for, i can tell you now we never payed for the hotel staff to pack one rooms belongings and move them to another room with out telling anyone :( not only was it moved with out our knowledge but the items of cloths were thrown into a suitcase on top of used shoes getting all creased and dirty, i was disgusted by this and the fact the staff had no idea why we were angry.
i can only hope others do not get treated like us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Barrow upon Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Before I start I will say we only paid £29 for a double room with continental breakfast for 2 people for 1 night. This place is odd I guess they think the bright paint is different it just looks messy. It is a very basic hotel with very basic breakfast but it is in the centre of Cardiff with some parking at a reasonable price which is good for a city centre. And I agree the staff are very friendly.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dalfaber16B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar South Wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed here on June 12th.2013. Visited Cardiff to go to the Bon Jovi gig. Booked this hotel well in advance (pay on arrival £50.00 including continental breakfast) & was impressed that this hotel was one of the very few in Cardiff that hadn't hiked up their prices by a couple of hundred percent because Bon Jovi were in town (as at least one well known chain had done). On arrival, the check in was simplicity itself. On entering our room (706) we were surprised at how large & airy it was - with an equally large bathroom. First impressions then were very favourable. This impression continued through the very basic breakfast in the equally basic breakfast room the following morning (We ate our fill from cereals, croissant, petit pain, toast & fruit, tea fruit juice & coffee). The only slight problem was the double bed - the steel mattress springs of which did prove uncomfortable & I think needed replacing urgently. Other than that, no probs & we would certainly stay here again!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure your mattress is comfortable!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night. Hotel is in a superb position and staff are friendly
That were the only good points hotel is full of hen & stag parties so don't expect any sleep as they run wild all night
Rooms are clinical, dirty and have thin walls.
Breakfast went in decided against trying anything.
The curtains are a strange furry fabric but are so old they are full of dirty filthy dust lines they are fascinating to look at though
Basically unless you like hostels are young and likely to be stinking drunk give it a miss

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Well lets start at the beginning as all good reviews should start

Found this 'hotel' online and their website looks very professional very appealing and it looks like a place you would want to stay and hey a great price too...

Upon turning up to the 'hotel' this was were everything went horribly wrong .. thank god we didn't pay the extra £6.00 for parking at the 'hotel'. There were a maximum of 10 spaces available all of which were in use but the NCP round the corner and a little bit more was better value at £5.00 for 24 hours.

Check in went well, friendly staff very helpful this I am afraid is where the pleasantries ended.

walking through the double doors bags in hand young daughter in the arms of my partner we had to ascend the converted office block in one of the two 'hotel' lifts ... well I think you would be better putting on climbing gear and going up the front of the 'hotel' the lifts were horrendous creaks, groans and scraping all the way up and smelling of some illegal substance that the previous occupant had neglected to share ...

Out of the lift into the room ... turn around and find somewhere else .. dirty carpets, dirty sheets, holes in the wall and worst of all the TV .. it didn't work unless you can understand the Welsh language.

The room itself was erm lets say interesting, on the 10th floor high above Cardiff without air con and an electric heater than was permanently on with despite us unplugging it. The bed, well lets put it this way, I think those detained at her majesty's pleasure have better sleeping facilities than this broken bed, pillows not existent the duvet what duvet. Looking around we have some rather fetching fleece curtains in bight 60/70s colours and this was replicated in the bathroom.

The bathroom was clean and basic, had everything you could need and was a step up from the bedroom.

Breakfast, I would at this point like to say, please don't eat this, we looked around and were not impressed, trusting only the toast to give to our young daughter who looked at me as if to say "and you expect me to eat this because" she eventually gave in and ate the toast grudgingly but made her opinions known to the full extent that she was not happy.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel, I would advise those looking to opt for Cardiff Prison not far down the road, a far more enjoyable say is bound to be had there rather than The Big Sleep Cardiff.

Room Tip: Run do not book this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is not a hotel it is a hostel rooms were dirty and dated so warm as you can't open any windows I would never go back and stay at this hotel. Very noisy with doors banging all night. The room hadnt been cleaned

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sher29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing