We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I wanted a great value hotel and this did exactly what it said on the tin. Staff were helpful and friendly accommodation was basic but beds and room was comfortable. The breakfast was great especially as the price included breakfast There was plenty of choice and plenty of it. I would recommend this hotel and would certainly stay again should I visit Cardiff again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyhammer190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    322
    384
    279
    381
See reviews for
184
559
108
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I've been coming to the Big Sleep about once a year for a number of years, usually to go to concerts in Cardiff. I've found it good value and dependable, and this weekend was no exception, although the price did go up (as did all the other hotels) because of the presence of the speedway in town. What the Big Sleep has is a great location, minutes from all the concert venues (indeed almost on top of the motorpoint arena), lovely views (even from the 4th floor I could see down to the bay, charming and helpful staff, and functional but clean rooms (crisp linen and plenty of towels).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC50-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked this as we had spent a bit of money on other hotels during this trip. Thought for one night give it a go. The photos on the website make it look a lot nicer than what it is. The hallways are very noisy and the doors slam. We stayed a Sunday night of a long weekend and there were quite a few drunk guests. The fire alarms went off during the night which were a series of false alarms and nobody knew what was going on. You get what you pay for which I understand but this was far worse than expected.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherpa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Cheltenham
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

A friend and I shared a twin room on the night of 31st May. It was an ideal location for the WI AGM as the venue the Motorpoint Centre was just across the road. I had been a little concerned after reading some of the reviews but we had no problems at all. The bed linen was snowy white and the beds comfortable. The room was a good size the bathroom too and the shower was great. I agree the 'furry' curtains were a bit strange. We had tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast on a Saturday was not served until 8am (7am on weekdays) and as we had an early start we asked for a 'breakfast to go' and this contained juice cornflakes, milk, cheese, a snackbar, apple and banana so adequate for most people. Rooms were at a premium that weekend as the speedway was taking place so were very expensive and some hotels were only taking two night bookings so at £89 we felt this was an acceptable rate. We both felt the room more than served the purpose of providing a clean comfortable room exactly where we wanted to be. There are ample places to eat and a good number of shops including John Lewis and Cath Kidson just a few minutes walk away. Both lifts were operating if a little slow. Our room looked out onto the nearby railway line but we were not aware of any noise. We were in room 304 so we could have walked up the stairs.

Room Tip: Room 304 at the back of the hotel was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanFeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here last night as we were going to gig at The Motorpoint Arena. Perfect spot. Right opposite venue. Room was clean, shower worked, and bed was comfy.Breakfast was much better than we were expecting. Yes it's a bit tired and has VERY strange curtains but it was perfect for us.
Top Tips
NCP Peller St £5 for 24hrs. (next door)
£3.50 a pint of Stella in The Radison (opposite)
Bellinis restaurant (St Davids shopping center)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BristolGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Big Sleep in Cardiff last night and it cost us £35.00 including breakfast for two of us! The room was large with a king size comfortable bed. Tea & coffee - The bathroom was a good size with a full size bath & shower, toilet & heated towel rail. Clean towels, shampoo / shower gel. The reception staff were friendly and were happy to help - a nice welcome!
The breakfast room was spacious and clean but a little like a canteen - but do not be put off by that as the service was help yourself to as much as you wanted.
We would use this hotel again for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: there was no swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Okay, the Cardiff one is in need of TLC, but it's what you pay for. Although, the big sleep in eastbourne was great, really clean and staff were great. Cardiff just needs a bit of updating, the website isn't wrong, it just shows a cleaned room. Just remember it's noot going to be a 5* hotel-it's cheap as chips if you want luxury you have to pay for it. i would sleep there again, the kids loved it and we could pay for a meal out with the money left and still have some! I don't see your lots problem-go to a 5* hotel-but you will have to pay 3x+more

Room Tip: Higher up you go the quieter it gets :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 74 in Cardiff
1,165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#16 of 74 in Cardiff
1,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing