We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More expensive and more run down attempt at a travel lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
1 review
“More expensive and more run down attempt at a travel lodge”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

The price was comparative with most of the bigger name mid range hotels, but from the reviews and photos it looked like something a bit different, but a similar quality. What it turned out to be was a run down old building, with similarly run down rooms; all coridoor carpets were covered in wine and other un identifiable stains, whilst in the room we were greeted with very grubby looking curtains and bathroom, plus a falling apart picture of John Malkovich on the wall which was barely held together with yellowing sellotape. The cynic in me would say a lot of artistic license was used with the advertising photos. Walls are paper thin, windows are single glass and ours faced onto a busy railway line, and a building site, so we hardly slept due to a combination of the welders the trains and our neighbours. Breakfast left a lot to be desired, and the little things like a kettle in the room wouldn't have gone amiss.

Plus points were that the staff were reasonably friendly, and the hotel is easily walkable distance from the center of the city.

The welders outside were obviously not a permanent feature of the hotel, but nether the less, we will not be staying there again.

If you have a thing for John Malkovich (every single room appeared to have a picture of him in) then this may be the hotel for you. Otherwise I would suggest trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aj020883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    305
    368
    276
    375
See reviews for
169
542
104
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2012

read reviews after booking and started to panic but dont belive all you read. hotel is basic but as i didnt pay for luxury i didnt expect to get it ( some obviously do). 2 0f the 3 rooms i booked had flush problems but we fixed 1 ourselves and didnt actually need the other room. the rooms and bedding were clean but the comical thick furry cyrtains were very very dusty and overdue a wash. breakfast is basic buffet but ok. parts of the hotel are shabby and due an overhaul but the staff were very friendly and helpfull.one lift broken but never had to wait long.parking very limited but multi storey in next street is only £5 for 24 hours. ideally situated for motorpoint arena and shops. you hear the ocasional train and some traffic but it didnt bother us.
found the people of cardiff very friendly and helpfull. would use this hotel again

Room Tip: 10th floor quite,corner room had plenty of light but if you dont want music beat from arena at front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Budget hotel on a par with Travelodge. Have stayed here twice and will probably return - with the lads but not with wife and/or kids.

Recent stay was to see Noel Gallagher at the Motorpoint Arena. Big Sleep is directly opposite. You couldnt get any closer and its only a 5 minute walk to the rest of the city centre, so no taxis to worry about.

Hotel has its own (limited) rooftop parking. Cost us £6 for 24 hours.

Reception is fine and they do serve drinks. Rooms are very basic and the beds and showers are ok but you'd want better in your own house.

Breakfast is buffet style which is great if you are French, I guess. If, tho, you are English or Welsh, skip it and find a cafe!

All in all, great for a group of lads / lasses who want a cheap cheeful city centre stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

BEWARE - A stay at the Big Seep hotel in Cardiff could cost you more than you thought! We stayed at the hotel on 31st October, Halloween, a big mistake. Other reviews mentioned that groups, hen and stag parties used it and yes there were a few groups at the hotel that night mainly dressed up and celebrating the witching hour! There was such a group two doors down from our room on the 9th floor, they didn’t disturb us so not a problem.

On departing the following day (1st November), we left our room in a reasonable condition taking into account the tatty nature of the room. We have stayed there before and that room was also in a similar condition. The entire hotel needs a complete refurbishment but they have no money to do that. How do I know? I had an e-mail on 6 November headed in part “damage to room”. A rather fuzzy picture of a red spot on a blue carpet was attached as “proof“. I could not tell you if the carpet in our room was blue or grey, it was so old and faded! The e-mail stated that following check out on 1st November, housekeeping reported that there were red “fake blood” spots on the room carpet and leading to the room we had stayed in. As the last occupants we were blamed and they had to clean the room carpet and that they had taken £50 from the card we used to book and pay for the hotel room!

As two people aged 36 and 48, we are not in the habit of dressing up and actively avoided such “ghost and ghoulies” groups that peppered town on Halloween. The hotel did not believe us and still took the money! I pointed out that the room two doors down had similar red marked on the floor by the door, and maybe the occupants or housekeeping had walked or placed something on the still wet fake blood or whatever it was and had transported it down the corridor and into our room, who knows. I know there was no damage in the carpet when we left and that because we booked direct with the Big Sleep, they blamed us and took the money, quite fraudulent I think!

I will now have to take the Big Sleep hotel to the Small Claims Court to try and get the money back. Why should we pay for someone else’s damage when we left the room in a reasonable order? If we had damaged the room in anyway, then fair enough, we should pay for it. If you are thinking of booking a room at the Big Sleep, think carefully, even if it is a cheap price, you may end up paying a lot more than £35 to help maintain and repair the hotel room you stay in!

Room Tip: All rooms are of poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daybreak1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My best advice - Don't ever consider staying at this hotel.

This hotel seemed to be adequate for a stay over in Cardiff after a home international Rugby game. (We lost!)

The hotel web site has somehow found the only redeeming features of this property and undoubtedly took pictures when it was first completed.
I have been a student, I have stayed in budget hotels; this is a truly awful place. At £35-40 a night you may accept creating compromises. At £120- this is unacceptable.
The management have just cashed in on a big event in the fantastic city of Cardiff. It is my home town. I now live in London.
I wanted to take my new girl friend to my home town to enjoy the best of the city. This was not a good start. As a note the management; at the very least, a hotel guest expects a comfortable bed. You failed! These beds must be the originals from 10 years ago..... This is just unacceptable.
The staff, unlike any other receptionists, did NOT ask anyone if they enjoyed their stay. I am sure they were tired of hearing complaints.
Laundry in the hallway, all day; just gently fermenting. Std issue institution carpet tiles everywhere. A really nice touch; it's so nice to walk on, bare foot.....
Curtains made of the material that your gran has around the WC to catch the drips!!!! Nice touch....
Noisy corridors and a lift that you always expected to break at any minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Service was good, Rooms were clean & cleaned daily.. (minus the curtains)
The place was quiet at night even on the saturday night so i dont see what all the bad reviews are about.. I had no problems at all.. 1 lift still out of use, but the other worked fine and no waiting around for it.

Worth the £30 odd a night easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found the Big Sleep hotel to be a fair budget hotel, if you manage to get a room at a reasonable price. We stayed here on a Sunday night, which only cost us 39 for the room, which we thought was ok value. The hotel itself is not an attractive building, in a built up area of Cardiff, but is in a great central location, especially for the Motorpoint Arena, which is literally on the other side of the road. Our view out the window was very disappointing - wasteland and train tracks, although the train noise wasnt too intrusive). The tiny carpark (up a very steep, very narrow slope and shared with next door - make sure you park in the correct area!) and reception/bar are on the 2nd floor, and there was a single working lift to the other floors (not a big problem if the hotel is quiet, but I imagine it gets pretty crowded in the summer). The room (7th floor) wasn't a bad size, but it was very sparsely furnished. The bed was comfy, which was the most important thing, and each room has a TV (and on closer inspection, a kettle etc was located in the cupboard, which we didnt notice till we were leaving) and an ensuite. The only real downsides were the state of the filthy 'fleece' curtains which made you cringe when pulling them, which has been mentioned by several previous reviewers, and the fact that the bath tap/shower were connected and the tap wouldnt completely turn off as the knob had broken, meaning there was little water/pressure in the shower, as most was going down the bath plughole! This resulted in a mediocre shower experience. Breakfast was plain and uninteresting, but it is definitely worth having a cinnamon pastry. The carpark was very convenient, at £6 a day but if youre not on the ball and out by half 10 you incur a charge.
All in all, a convenient but unspectacular place, maybe slightly below par for a place like Cardiff. Probably wouldnt stay again unless we were desperate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BimChim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 73 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Property: The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing