We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location .....poor quality room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed March 28, 2011

The location of this hotel is the only positive thing I can say about this hotel! I booked a standard room and was expecting a budget type with a bit more of a 'boutique' twist. The room although a good size was very very bare. No pictures on wall, poor quality duvet cover, only 1 pillow each etc. The room was boiling hot due to the lovely sunny weather but there was not air conditioning. The wall mounted fan did not really do the job....goodness knows what it would be like in the summer as there were no windows to open. Our room was on the 9th floor but only 1 lift was working which ment we had to wait an age for the other one. That lift felt like it was about to plummet to the ground floor making all sorts of horrible noises. I would only recommend this hotel if all the other hotels in the area were booked!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catchyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 6, 2011

Thank you for your review your comments will be discussed in the next Managers Meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,294 - 1,300 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2011

The Big Sleep is great location and thats it. We stayed in the excutive suite which is
suppose to be of a higher standard. The sheets have holes in them the deco is really shabby leaking taps, aloud sqeaking noise when the lift is being used. One lift is broken
and the one that is working gets stuck on the 2nd level.
This Hotel is a disgrace the list goes on it is so dirty and for the money that we paid £99 for one night is disgusting. Good view of the city through the dirty windows this Budget hotel needs a visit from Enviromental Health Department and the Welsh tourist board.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 28, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to put a review on Trip Advisor. The issues that you mentioned will be investigated immediately and acted upon accordingly. Sorry for any inconvenience caused reference the lift - it was broken by a guest, solicitors are dealing with this. On a positive note, decorators are currently inhouse painting and decorating bedrooms and public areas.

In the future if you use the hotel again and have any issues please make the Duty Manager aware of it immediately so they can deal with the matter promptley.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I needed somewhere cheap, central and last minute. Having stayed in the big sleep in Cheltenham but this is what I like about it. No nonsense, its not trying to be somewhere its not. Its a budget hotel that is a lot cheaper than most other budget hotels. Check in was quick, and when I had problems with my TV they sorted it out with no problem.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmat11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

I booked the Big Sleep owing to its proximity to the Cardiff International Arena as I had tickets for Westlife. Having booked I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and was slightly concerned. How pleasantly surprised we were, the reception was bright and airy, staff friendly and the room was more than acceptable. The hotel was overlooking the Arena whcih was excellent for us and there were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. For the price I thought it was very good and I would stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westlifer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I needed somewhere cheap, central and last minute. Having stayed in the big sleep in Cheltenham I new about its 'ikea' qualities, but this is what I like about it. No nonsense, its not trying to be somewhere its not. Its a budget hotel that is alot cheaper than most other budget hotels. Check in was quick, and when I had problems with my TV and asked for an extra blanket they were sorted out no problem.

The room was a decent size and did its job. The shower was slightly annoying as it would loose its power after a minute or so, and then come back on straight away. (a bit like at the swimming pool where you have to keep pressing the button). But when it was on properly it was lovely and warm and powerful. Breakfast lots of choice, although there was no cooked, there was enough to fill you up.

Two bad point to note however. You do take your life in your own hands when using the lift, and there is only one working. Being on the top floor I didn't fancy the stairs up, but did use them on the way down. Also I didn't have a hairdryer in my room and had to borrow one from a friend who was staying in the radison next door. There was a communal area on each floor that should of had a haridryer in it but I couldn't find it.

I would much rather stay in this hotel than any other budget hotels that you pay twice the price for and get less. Please don't expect miricles from this hotel, but the location, convienience and simpleness of this hotel does make it a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tantalictarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

stayed here for one night only,(thank god) 5/3/2011. 1 lift working, was a nightmare,very,very noisy,doors banging all night students having party's knocking on my door at 1 in the morning,trying to open my door.tea stains on the wall,bed like sleeping on a piece of hardboard,1 thing that i cant complain about was the breakfast,was continental but a great choice.needs double glazing to drown out the trains going past.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank harleyfarley01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am very pleased to read that you had such a good experience whilst staying with us. We hope we can accommodate you again in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

There are too many negative comments to write about this place, start wasn't great in trying to find the place, and trying to navigate the one way system, got to the car park which has about 10 spaces for a hotel that can hold what looks like over a 100- got directed around one way system to a car park to pay 5 pound, which wasn't the most secure and worried about the car most of the stay, got to the room and it was soo dirty, curtains, carpet, and bathroom, toilet did not flush! And had a about 2 hours sleep with people coming back from nights out, banging doors and parties in rooms, no night porters checking hallways, as drunken yob passed out in hallway, banging doors! Eventually quitened down around 5am woke up next mornin with sore backs from matress, and tiredness from being awake most of the night! Possibly the worst hotel I've stayed in, stay away at all cost!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dez28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review based on your recent stay at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff. We always appreciate guest feedback whether it constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you had such a negative experience whilst staying with us. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will pass these comments to our Maintenance and Housekeeping teams to be dealt with straight away and make sure it does not happen again. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 74 in Cardiff
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 74 in Cardiff
870 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: $54 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. Alternative parking is also available at a charge which is walking distance from hotel. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing