We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Techniquest

Techniquest
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.32*
and up
City Sightseeing Cardiff Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #12 of 158 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Interactive, hands-on exhibits make this science museum the perfect destination for families.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Lockers / storage
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Took 4 under 5s to techniquest they loved it very age appropriate , feels safe for them to run around, staff very helpful and informative when showing the children how the exhibits work, nice little cafe for snacks, not expensive, have now bought a season ticket!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nan0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    260
    68
    21
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for those children who enjoy hands on stuff!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Techniquest is one if the best science based places that we've visited and we've visited lots in our time. Everything is hands on, which suits my 6, 10 & 12 year old to the ground! They don't appreciate museums where you are not allowed to touch anything. This museum has thought of every minor detail when designing it. It's set in the beautiful surroundings of Cardiff Bay, which can be seen from inside the museum. As children get older it's hard to keep them amused, but Techniquest had children of all ages in it & they all appeared to enjoy it. :-) We caught the train from Gloucester to add to the adventure, which is reasonably priced if using a family railcard.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

busy but get there when doors open to enable a go on everthing children and adults will love shop expensive staff friendly getting a bit tired round the edges but worth entrance fee

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank letsgo888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
500 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Hands on science and interaction for the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Right in cardiff bay with plenty of parking, Brilliant for the family, there is lots of interactive stuff there too. You can stay for hours and keep kids entertained. 9.30am-4.30pm on weekdays during local school term time (Tuesday – Friday only). Beware the admission prices as follows!

Adult


£7


Child (4-16)


£5


£4.50

Concessions


£5


£4.50

Family Group (2 adults and up to 3 children)


£23


£20.70

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I went to techniquest with my wife and grandson and we had a fantastic time.
Its AMAZING really because i'm 70 and I still really and thoroughly enjoyed
it. Brilliant for the family, there is lots of interactive stuff there too. You can
stay for hours and keep kids entertained. There are clean facilities and all
I can really say is it's faboulous!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnb186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Techniquest also viewed

 

Been to Techniquest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing