We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“allow plenty of time”

National Museum Cardiff
Book In Advance
More Info
$16.44*
and up
City Sightseeing Cardiff Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #7 of 158 things to do in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Witness one of Europe's finest art collections. Five hundred years of magnificent paintings, drawings, sculpture, silver and ceramics from Wales and across the world, including one of Europe's best collections of Impressionist art. The building also has galleries showing the diverse natural history of Wales, as well as a journey taking you through the Evolution of Wales (with dinosaur displays) from the very beginnings of time to the present day.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
143 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“allow plenty of time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I agree with other positive reviews. We made the big mistake of only allowing half a day for the National Museum and Art Gallery and ended up rushing to see some things and missing others altogether. It had much more to offer than we were expecting for a city the size of Cardiff and could easily have spend the whole day there. Agree the café near the front entrance is a bit draughty, would try the downstairs eatery next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank profecto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,178
    491
    104
    12
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leics
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great range of displays”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fantastic museum. Gorgeous building. Knowledgable staff. Great art (Welsh and otherwise) including Rodin/Van Gogh/Monet. Kids loved the hands on gallery and the natural history displays. Could spend days there! Cafe looked tempting but far too cold to sit there and enjoy it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mrs_m_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful paintings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Art lovers will be enthralled by the amazing collection of paintings, especially from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. We were able to look at French impressionist paintings close up, without hordes of people disturbing us. Much else of interest to children and adults in the museum sections, including some fantastic examples of Celtic jewellery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank orangegillyflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Museum with a Welsh Touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have been spoiled with the museums of London so far in our trip through Europe, so this museum wasn't up to that level; however, it is a great museum with a nice Welsh feel to it.
First, it's free, and my fiancee and I love free sites.
There is a nice variety of collections, and they are well presented. The history of earth presentation focuses on how the history of the earth relates to Wales, which I thought was a cute (although a bit welsh-centric) method of display.
There are plenty of different displays to see, and there is also a beautiful art gallery on the floor above, including some paintings by Renoir and Monet.
We needed to spend 4 hours before we would catch our bus back to London, and this museum filled that time up nicely. They can even take your luggage and safely store it for you, which was much appreciated.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalterND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Awesome - don't miss this one!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stunning museum in the heart of Cardiff Civic Centre. Breathtaking interperetation, fantastic art collections, history, geography all magnificently presented. I cannot speak too highly of this museum. The collections are outstanding, the staff are always willing to help and assist.

IT IS FREE TOO!!!!!!!

Useful car park at rear of building (£4.00 as at January 2013 - get token from the super book and gift shop).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MIBModels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum Cardiff also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to National Museum Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing