We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't really know where all of the negative reviews came from”
Review of Juboraj Lakeside

Juboraj Lakeside
Ranked #461 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Price range: $13 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Juboraj Restaurant Group is one of the oldest, and almost certainly, one of the great Indian and Bangladeshi restaurants in Wales having won numerous awards.The Lakeside restaurant with its Raj-like splendor has been at the heart of Roath Park for over15 years. This purpose built restaurant, architect designed over two levels, caters for small intimate meals to large group parties with ease. Specialising in quality British produce, served fresh, and cooked to your individual needs using authentic Indian spices. Choose from Welsh beef, New Zealand lamb or outdoor bred chicken dishes. Add into the equation their legendary Onion Bhajis and renowned fresh naan breads and they promise you a meal to remember whether it be lunch with work colleagues or dinner with friends and family. Dinner in Cardiff can at times be a tad impersonal, but all Juboraj restaurants extend a warm welcome and offer a friendly, personal service. Wether you’re dining alone or with a party of up to 50 people you’ll be well taken care of.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Don't really know where all of the negative reviews came from”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Don't normally write as many restaurant reviews as hotel ones but given the number of negative reviews I felt like I should write one. Service was very good, food was very good, nice and busy inside so the ambience was good. Only reason I could not give 5 was due to them being out of a dessert we wanted and not being able to serve espresso as the machine was broken.

I am a very fussy Indian eater having lived in India and am more than happy to have this as my local!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGooner81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj Lakeside, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It's always good to get a positive review from someone who has experienced Indian food in India. We're sorry we were out of the dessert you were after and you'll be glad to know that the coffee machine has been fixed already!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    20
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Staff made thee evening”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Took a relative here for a treat last week he's in his late 80's and now wheelchair bound so given one of the previous reviews we were slightly apprehensive. We had no reason to be, the staff wer charming, really could not have been more helpful.

As for the food, first rate, and I consider myself to be a bit of a connoisseur when it comes to INdian food, having lived spent quite some time traveling in INdia over the years.

Well done guys, your a credit to your industry.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank someoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj Lakeside, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Many thanks for your review. It means a lot to the staff at the restaurant when we pass these reviews on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience....”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lovely food, good prompt service and a nice looking restaurant... Try and avoid weekends as they are very busy, I went on a Wednesday, much more relaxed.... Recommend it very much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj Lakeside, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We are pleased you liked the look of the restaurant as we have been working hard to re-furbish over the last few months. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Average food and very expensive.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Went sat night with family.
Great quick pleasant service but food overall average at best.
Bill for 3 including one child was over 70 quid which we felt way overpriced.
Would not eat there again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cardiffelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj Lakeside, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are sorry you felt the food was only average. We strive to make sure we always serve the highest quality meals we can. We are also sorry that you felt the bill was high but would point out that the Juboraj Guarantee ensures that only the highest quality New Zealand lamb and Welsh beef, and the finest 100% fresh chicken breast and freshest seafood available, is used in our dishes. This unfortunately means that our prices can be higher than some Indian restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not the cheapest curry in Cardiff, but definately one of the best.”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We've been coming here for years and have never had a bad meal. The food is excellent quality and if you look out for their special offers to can also be good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VGreen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan P, Public Relations Manager at Juboraj Lakeside, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. The Juboraj Guarantee ensures that only the highest quality New Zealand lamb and Welsh beef, and the finest 100% fresh chicken breast and freshest seafood available, is used in their dishes. For this reason we may be a little more expensive than other Indian Restaurants in Cardiff but we feel it is more important to prioritise the quality of our ingredients over low prices. As you mention we do have some very good value deals in our lunch menu as just £6.95 for 2 courses - Yes you can eat Indian and Bangladeshi food for lunch! Millions of Indians and Bangladeshis do it everyday! We also have an early evening meal deal - Just £9.95 for 2 courses! Check our website for details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juboraj Lakeside also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Juboraj Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing