We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place.”
Review of The Pot Bistro

The Pot Bistro
Ranked #17 of 1,246 Restaurants in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cosy bistro with 40 seats, offering a range of homemade breakfasts and lunches using locally sourced produce, and a range of seasonal drinks. The cafe transforms into a French style bistro every Wednesday through to Saturday evening, serving up classics such as Steak Tartare to start, followed by pan fried seabass with steamed mussels, langoustine & ratatouille, and a brulee to finish. Always a cosy, relaxed atmosphere.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“LOVE this place.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I go here a lot as it is local to me but also because it's amazing. Cute and quirky with lovely staff and even lovelier food. They cater for vegans and coeliacs right through to meat eaters. The food is always amazing and the drinks are great too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rose F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lileddins, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Rose thank you for this lovely review. I'm really glad you enjoy your visits here. Thank you for supporting us too! Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    106
    26
    10
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cosy, quirky, tasty and friendly”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Had Eggs Benedict with 2 regular americano coffees for £10. Perfectly cooked, the sauce wasn't too rich and the eggs were nice and runny. Perhaps the portion was too generous but better too much than too little.

The coffee is smooth and creamy and is served with a little cookie and a little pot of milk.

At 1pm on a Sunday it is packed so there is a little pressure to eat up and move on though not from the staff who are all super friendly and efficient. Visit early morning or later in the afternoon for a more relaxed visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baz069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lileddins, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you Baz! Lovely photos too, though I wish I'd wiped the coffee dribble off the side of the cup, that's my bugbear! Really glad you enjoyed your visit and your eggs bacondict too.
Many thanks for the review,
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A lovely little cafe with great cakes”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a little gem of a cafe, with a very French feel about it. The cake is good as is the tea, served in jolly crockery. The staff are young, helpful and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Purryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lileddins, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you! What a kind review and thank you for taking the time out to write it.
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Thé Perfect Place for a Spot of Lunch”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have walked past this unassuming little café so many times without realising what a wonder it is. Once inside however, it immediately becomes apparent that Thé Pot is quite the little gem.

The kitchen is completely open and on display to the maximum 20 or so customers that can be cosily seated at any one time. The walls are very tastefully decorated and even the music selection is excellent. The tables and chairs are all mismatching, salt and pepper come in little jam pots and you even get a cookie with your tea (!) It’s these quirky little touches that really make Thé Pot stand out. Not at any point do they feel forced or contrived, but warm and genuinely adding to the dining experience. Service was also absolutely top-notch.

All this praise and I haven’t even mentioned the food!

The menu is small but perfectly formed, with several breakfast/brunch options, salads, sandwiches and other scrummy-sounding fare, including a fantastic array of drinks. There is also a specials board with two or three daily options and a sweets board with some unusual and equally yummy sounding cakes (courgette & lime; apple, cinnamon & almond).

I ordered the broccoli, feta and walnut soup of the day, which came with two large hunks of wonderfully soft home-made focaccia. My dining partner went for a goat’s cheese & roasted vegetable sandwich – also on focaccia, which came literally bursting with filling! Both were delicious and generous portions and, at £4 each, I think present excellent value for money.

Unfortunately, due to the generous size of our lunch neither of us could manage a cake (shocking!). But I suppose that gives us an excuse to go back…not that we really need one!

Go for breakfast, go for lunch, go for afternoon tea and cake. Whatever you do, just go, and leave with a big smile on your face and tasty food in your tummy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lileddins, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice positive response. I really appreciate it and I'm glad you enjoyed your meal so much.
Your feedback can make or break a business so thank you again!
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Adorable”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Absolutely wonderful tiny little place with ramshackle furniture and a kitchen that looks too small for your average bedsit. From this they somehow rustle up tasty breakfast/brunch dishes. One word of warning: this process is not fast. DO NOT go here if you are on a tight schedule because you'll probably end up cranky and I'd hate anyone to think anything bad about this place. If you have time for a chilled out brunch that gets to you as soon as the limitations of the cooking space allows, this is the perfect place. Staff are friendly and smiley.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0rnc0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lileddins, Owner at The Pot Bistro, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am grateful for all of your feedback and really glad you enjoyed your brunch! It really means a lot that you have taken care to write a review, as these things really have an impact on our business. Thanks again,
Natalie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pot Bistro also viewed

 
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to The Pot Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing