We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, food and garden”
Review of Y Mochyn Du

Y Mochyn Du
Ranked #774 of 1,214 Restaurants in Cardiff
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great location, food and garden”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Close to Sophia Gardens and Cardiff City Centre, this pub provides reasonably-priced, good quality bar food. The extensive garden area makes the Mochyn Du a popular destination on a sunny day. We had fish cakes, lasagne and one of the fish specials. All were excellent and large portions. Free wifi a bonus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JZHendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    113
    64
    60
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shavington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great pub close to the cricket ground”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Food was very nice and reasonably priced. There was a good choice of real ales which were all well kept. Excellent pub

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“good place”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We like coming to the Mochyn Du - it's always clean, the food is nice - the toilets could be a bit cleaner but it's a good atmosphere - i wouldn't come here for a romantic dinner with my husband but it's a great place to grab a pub lunch with a few girlfriends and have a few drinks. Da iawn !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Perfect location to spend a sunny afternoon”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Y Mocnyn Du (The Black Pig in Welsh) is an amazing traditional pub in a tranquil location in Cardiff nestled by Sophia Gardens between Bute Park and Cathedral Road. They have a massive terrace area off one side, and a smaller area off the other. On a sunny summer day it's packed yet peaceful. They have a limited yet tasty menu with daily specials on the boards inside. The fish finger sandwich is my fav, although I'm not massively fussed on their chips, but theirs are proper rustic and home made, so even if they're not my favourite they still get full marks from me on that. I go mostly for the atmosphere (which during rugby matches is far from tranquil!), and for the selection of fantastic Welsh beer and cider.

I highly recommend getting there early, taking a board game and sitting in the sun sipping an icy cold beverage.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glitterhoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lost it's mojo”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Used to love this pub but it's gone drastically downhill recently. Food not as nice, service slow, staff miserable. On my last visit it took ages to get a drink as they only had one member of staff serving (who looked utterly bored) and then another member of staff eventually came who was equally as unenthusiastic about being there. A lot of dissapointed people at the bar who were waiting to order food only to be told unapologetically that they had stopped serving food an hour early because they had been so busy- this was Bank Holiday Monday, what do you expect!? Eventually when I ordered my pint of lager, it was seriously off and gave me a dodgy stomach! Sorry Mochyn Du, you used to be one of the best places to go in Cardiff but there are now far better places in the surrounding area to drink/eat. Nice beer garden though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LobbyLimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Y Mochyn Du also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 

Been to Y Mochyn Du? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing