We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Nouba

La Nouba
Ranked #49 of 87 Coffee & Tea in Cardiff
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Neighborhood: Llandaff
Description: postcode CF5 2JJ
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I regularly go to La Nouba with a group of Deaf friends. The staff there are welcoming and very aware of the communication needs of deaf customers and will do anything to make their visit a good experience. The food is excellent, all homemade, well cooked, tasty and very moresih. Having said that after a main course I have rarely had enough room for one of their delicious looking puddings. The owner Anna, as well as preparing the foods will always find time to pop back and fore and have a friendly chat. You are never rushed, or encouraged to leave. You can pop in for just a coffee/tea or have breakfast or lunch, the full Welsh breakfast well worth a mention. Will continue to go back again and again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
penarth
Level Contributor
465 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Good food, music too loud”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I visited this cafe with my son and mother. Waitress service, which is always a plus. We ordered fishcakes with wedges and salad and 2 baguettes - one with prawn mayo and the other with brie and grapes. The service was quick and friendly and the food delicious. Unfortunately, our visit was spoilt by the loud background music and the door being opened by a member of staff and left open in gale force wind and lashing rain. She then disappeared, all the other diners looked frozen so I closed the door! Despite this I would return and recommend.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louiseholistic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Breakfast at La Nouba”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

Have been taking an elderly friend here for breakfast once a week for quite a few months now and she loves it. Anna and her staff are friendly and welcoming and the food and coffee is pretty good too! It is a small cafe where the food is freshly cooked, lovely soups and cakes but the breakfasts are superb!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriceCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Went in last week for the first time. Menu although small provided a good cross section of food. All the food was cooked in the kitchen and fresh. I had the soup chicken and pearl barley. It was so filling I could not eat for the rat of the day. My husband had quiche of the day which he said was deliciIous. Will definitely go again.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Quick service and tasty meals; some lovely home made cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Always excellent and go there often for lunch during the week. Lovely atmosphere. Anna deserves lots of custom

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teacherllandaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Nouba also viewed

Cardiff, South Wales
Cardiff, South Wales
 
Michaelston-y-Fedw, Cardiff
 

Been to La Nouba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing