We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Stay”
Review of Maltsters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maltsters
Ranked #16 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This really is excellent good quality accommodation a couple of miles from the centre of Cardiff. Situated on Cardiff Road this pub offers just 5 top quality rooms with ample parking at the rear but get a voucher for free parking from the bar as it's a pay & display car park if not a resident. The rooms are well appointed TV in bathroom was a nice touch if not a bit over the top but free Wi-Fi is good. Good selection of beers food was excellent but the stay was made by some really good staff but Steve gets top marks he made our stay and the reason this place got top marks from our group.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank KVS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 210 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Have been here several times and have not been disappointed on any occasion at any time of the day. Friendly staff and good quality food makes this pub high on the list of places to eat in Cardiff and well worth a visit whether you are a local or a visitor to the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank vivandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Popped in for something to eat before attending the Llandaff Cardiff Ghost Walk. We were attended to by the bubbly and friendly Olivia. As we were in a hurry - we had less than an hour to get to the ghost walk - we impressed upon Olivia that speed was of the essence. I'm happy to report that the three of us had our drinks and meals and were on our way in less than forty-five minutes.

The meal itself was delicious, pork belly and mashed potatoes. The pork bellies were delightfully tender and, for pork, quite trim, so there was no need to cut away oodles of fat. The crackling was excellent also, and presented as a flourish sticking out the mash; nice touch. The stand-out of the meal however was without doubt the truly unbelievable mashed-potatoes. Now, I'm not one to wax lyrical about mashed potatoes normally, but in this instance I'll make an exception, because the the mash was so tasty we all agreed that it could be happily eaten it on its own!

We weren't able to sit in the restaurant because it was fully reserved, so we had to eat in the bar section, which was no great hardship. I mention this only so that anyone else intending to visit the pub might book ahead if they want seating in the restaurant (at least on a Friday evening).

I'm happy to recommend this pub based on my experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank tayobowyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

A traditional pub serving excellent food. The batter on my fresh haddock was divine - the best I've ever tasted. The busy restaurant, on two levels, is very popular with locals and no wonder! The refurbished rooms with tasteful décor are modern, clean and comfortable, and well-appointed. You can watch TV in the bath but it's not compulsory! Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. There are only five rooms, so book early!

Room Tip: The rooms are at the back of the hotel and quite quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Did not stay but had a great time with friends at the restaurant in November. It seemed to suit all types of customer from the beer drinker to those in family or friends' groups who were in party mode. Very friendly and helpful staff so keep it up please.
We have re-booked for our annual Xmas bash so will re-review after that. There are standard things you would expect on the menu but also some unusual treats such as guinea fowl which my friend ordered. The waitress brought the dish as the 1st to be served and asked in total innocence "Who is having the guinea pig?" I do not know if the kitchen staff were pulling her leg or she just got it wrong but her face when she realised went a bright shade of pink! We all laughed and enjoyed the innocence of youth trying to do her best. It could not help being a great atmosphere after that! Alan

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed the night after a business trip nearby. Room not huge, but we were only there one night, but very comfortable and well equipt with a TV in the bathroom to watch from the bath! Don't have that at home. Dinner and breakfast first rate. Staff friendly and efficient. Will happily stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Spent a fabulous 2 night stay..rooms were fantastic..meals were too. Lovely village ..friendly staff. Was in cardiff visiting our daughter whos in uni there,the malsters were very accomodating to our needs. The breakfast was outstanding and we also had our evening meal on the sunday..highly reccomend it was lush!!. We have already booked again for april..see you then xx

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Beverley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 47 in Cardiff
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltsters

Address: 42 Cardiff Road | Llandaff, Cardiff CF5 2DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $111 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maltsters 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maltsters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltsters Hotel Cardiff
Maltsters Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing