We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Inn”
Review of Maltsters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maltsters
Ranked #17 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Maltsters, Cardiff for 3 nights in August. On the first night we were shown to our room (no.5) and we're very pleasantly surprised by the modern decor of the room and the bathroom. In the evening we enjoyed a couple of drinks on the terrace. The next day we were introduced to the Maltsters Welsh Breakfast, a monster with egg, bacon, toms, beans, mushroom, toast and tea, which kept us going all day. The 2 days in Cardiff were very enjoyable not least because the Maltsters is right next to the bus stop which goes into town - take advantage of the day ticket so you can go anywhere for a cheap price. Note also that the Maltsters is right next to the cathedral. There is another review that mentions the noisy road, but I cannot agree as there was no noise to speak of, or certainly none to keep us awake.

Room Tip: Go for first floor 3 - 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 215 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

We've been going to the Maltsters since its revamp several years ago, and enjoyed good food, excellent service, and pleasant surroundings...but over the last couple of years, we've really noticed it going downhill...I'd agree with the previous reviewers about the badly prepared, overpriced rip-off food, but it seems to be getting worse...as do some of the staff - the older staff (managers, maybe?) and some of the waitresses are very polite and helpful, but there are a lot of young, chavvy kids in the bar with bad attitudes and poor manners. I know it's a busy bar, but it often just seems unclean, sticky, and basically unwelcoming. A shame, but time to stop going.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonOuest, General Manager at Maltsters, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Sir
I am deeply disappointed that you have recently had a poor experience at the Maltsters. Whilst we pride ourselves in our freshly produced, home cooked food, our fantastic real ales and a wonderful warm welcome whether dining or staying with us we are always happy to discuss when our guests feel that we have not lived up to their expectations.
Should you feel you would like to discuss your disappointment with me personally then please feel free to contact me directly.
Yours sincerely
Matt McCormack
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago with my boyfriend and was very impressed with the whole stay.

Firstly, it is very cost effective; we spent around £90 per night with breakfast included (they will freshly cook as many dishes as it takes to fill you) and free parking.

Our room was decorated beautifully, with japanese-looking doors into the ensuite and a TV in the bath (was definitely impressed with that)..
You also get a widescreen TV on the wall in front of the bed, with as many channels as you could need, and a Mac on the desk! We both thought that was a great idea for playing music etc.

Breakfast was delicious, with options such as full welsh breakfast and smoked salmon and egg bagel (yum!). Also everything was spotless.
The bar has a nice seating area outside and offers great food all day at a very reasonable price.

Can't wait to visit again- this will definitely be our favourite hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLoveGuru01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This establishment encompasses a popular, lively bar, a restaurant & a hotel. Each component would rate, at least, as "good".

They have only five rooms. No. 1, their premium room, is well appointed, spacious with a large, very comfortable bed and numerous, novel luxury touches. Prices are moderate and an excellent breakfast is included. Additional bonuses are that it is easily accessed from the nearby motorway network, there is free car parking and the attractions of central Cardiff shopping, Cardiff Castle and the Millenium Stadium are within walking distance.

Room Tip: No. 1. - large & luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macduck9244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The good
Smooth check in.
TV in bathroom very cool.
Bar lovely for a drink.
Staff friendly and efficient.
A problem we had was delt with quickly.
the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was fab.
The not so good.
The first room we were checked in to was dirty. (We were moved very quickly).
The tea tray was in a strange place nowhere near a plug.
The soap was in an odd place too so if in bath you could not use it.
Some touch ups needed as there were a few chips in bath etc.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidWalesMissh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I found this hotel via Trip Advisor and following booking contemplated cancelling after drilling down through the reviews. So glad I didn't! Very clean, very comfortable and very friendly staff. I'm amazed at some of the reviews and how pedantic people are in regards to this place. I'd guarantee that there homes are not anywhere near the standard of this small "family" run business. Give it a go, you wont be disappointed, especially with the full "Welsh" breakfast, cooked by an English chef. I hope I have to visit Cardiff again, if only for another peaceful night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twoten65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights for a short break and to visit the attractions in Cardiff. Excellent room, large TV and a Computer for free use! Small niggles in the bathroom, Toilet roll dispenser directly above the Cistern behind you, prehensile arms needed or take it off aand rest it on the side of the bath! When using the sink it was too easy to step back and touch the very hot radiator/ towel rail. Apart from that a comfortable large bed, Ironing board and iron in room. Slight problem with the tea making equipment, no point in the storage area so had to be moved to one of the bedside tables. Staff superb, mainly young and couldn't be more helpful. Food portions large and tasty, good wine list and a selection of Brains Real Ales. Bus stops for city centre just over the road plus shops and other food outlets.

Room Tip: We had room 5 but cannot comment on the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 88FatBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.1 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
2 mi away
Old Post House
Old Post House
#12 of 47 in Cardiff
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Exchange Hotel
The Exchange Hotel
#1 of 47 in Cardiff
242 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,356 reviews
5 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltsters

Address: 42 Cardiff Road | Llandaff, Cardiff CF5 2DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $110 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maltsters 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maltsters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltsters Hotel Cardiff
Maltsters Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing