We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of eating in restaurant 16th September”
Review of Maltsters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maltsters
Ranked #16 of 47 Cardiff B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have eaten here on a number of times and the food is usually of a very good standard. This was also the case on Sunday when we had the Sunday roast. However,it is the service which really lets this place down. There doesn't appear to be enough staff to cover the tables and even when they are around they don't always want to acknowledge you. If this could be improved it would be an amazing place! Also on a positive it is great to find a place serving Sunday roasts in the evening!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just spent 4 nights at the Malsters Llandaff. This is a good base for reaching Cardiff City Centre, either on foot by walking the Taff Trail or a short bus ride into the city.

We were given a warm welcome on arrival and allocated room number 1. The room was clean, spacious, the bed was large and comfortable. Free Wi Fi, Cable TV, Tea and Coffee making facilities, iron and board. The bathroom was a good size, full size bath with rain shower, plus a built in TV screen at end of bath.

We settled in and went along to the Bar for a light lunch, the bar was really busy for 3.00 pm on a Friday afternoon, which was a good sign. Lunch was enjoyable, so we reserved a table for an evening meal. Glad we made the reservation as the pub was full of diners. Dinner was also enjoyable and considering how full the bar was we were served quickly. Locally sourced produce on the menu, with lots of choice.

Breakfast was also enjoyable with a good menu choice. Warm Welcome, Good Service.

Llandaff Green is picture perfect with the Cathedral - Magnificent sight. Must be explored to appreciate its history. Took the Taff Trail on to Cardiff Castle, ambled along through the playing fields and on through Bute Park. Took about 50 minutes in total to reach the City Centre. Lovely Walk on a bright sunny Saturday and then Sunday Morning.

On Check Out we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay and we felt that the management were interested to hear our reply. In all, yes we did enjoy our stay, we were pleased with the location, facilities, service, friendly staff and glad that we chose the Malsters for our visit to Cardiff.

Room Tip: The Malsters is a busy Gastro Pub, so you will hear some background noise until around mid night whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam9566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed at the maltsters for one nightin August.We stayed in room no 1, which was ok, but was very dusty if you looked around, especially the bedside table lamp bases which if you ran your fingers across you could see the trail of dust.We had dinner and both the portionswe hadwere on the small side of average.Breakfast ok butnot much choice on the cerealsno fruit available . Theres more to stayingin a Hotel than having a fastinternet connection .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

There are only a few rooms above this modern gastro style pub but they are comfortable and I did love having a TV to watch while in the bath. Also great to have a computer and fast connection. The pub is comfortable with sofas and a nice atmosphere. I have eaten here a few times but there are better places to eat unless you are into Gastro pub style food. Llandaff has the feel of a village and there are some extremely good restaurants on the high street, my favourite being Calla Bella. I just love walking past the cathedral, through the old cemetery, along the sports fields to the river, from there its not that far to walk into the centre of town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Maltsters. Appreciated the remodeled room which had a Mac computer with internet access. About the same cost as most of the other Wales hotels we stayed at, and much nicer. Dinner was very good. Breakfast was above average and gave us the chance to explore the restaurant rooms (and memorabilia) while they were empty. They did only have minimum staff, so restaurant service was slower, but still good. We thought being in Llandaff was a better choice than staying in Cardiff and would definitely recommend Maltsters. (The pub was noisy into the night, but we turned on the air fan and the "white noise" drowned out the sounds.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgiechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

the decor and gadgets in the room, mean there is something there to put a smile on everyones face. However improvements to the housekeeping, the fine details, cracked/chipped crockery, would make this first class.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I took my family there for a meal before they left Cardiff as we had previously (on numerous occasions) had a lovely meal there, found it strange that it was so empty at 7pm on a Sunday night, when it's always been heaving busy when we've visited with attentive staff and prompt delivery of tasty food… NOT LAST NIGHT!

The service was slow and inattentive; food was not as described, not tasty and very greasy.

Firstly we had to find the menu ourselves, we were ignored by the waitress, secondly we had to wait for the waitress to finish chatting to another member of staff before we were able to order our food, then we were told after ordering that two of the meals that we liked the sound they had ran out of, one of which the crab and scallop risotto could be made with cockles instead, however when it arrived at the table (almost 10 minutes after the other two starters had arrived) there were no cockles to be seen - and was unable to get the attention of the waitress to mention this and was so hungry after waiting so long that I just ate it, when the waitress came to clear our table she did not ask if we had finished or if we had enjoyed the food, just cleared the plates.

We had to wait an incredibly long time for the three of us to receive our main courses after the disastrous starters. We asked on two separate occasions how long our mains would take, to which we were told they are just being plated up, but the waiting continued. There was only another table of 2 in the restaurant area at the time. Which would neither explain the lack of hand towels in the toilet.

Finally, two of the main meals were ok, although the gravy looked like it had been sat on the plate for a while, they'd messed up the sides as we had asked for them not to be covered in pesto - this was corrected by the manager shortly after the mains arrived at our table - however at this point we had not noticed that the duck with noodles and vegetables were swimming in oil, I’ve never seen anything so greasy and picked bits of the over cooked duck and limp overdone vegetables out of the oil and shop bought sweet chilli sauce that had been poured in whilst awaiting the waitress to return to check on us or just to catch her or the manageress as they walked pass, but to no success. I spent the evening with a strange feeling belly as I have never consumed so much grease.

This was a terrible experience considering how lovely it once was. Such a shame, I’d like to know how it could suddenly change so drastically. We didn't even bother staying for dessert and refused to pay for the duck, we shall defiantly not be returning any time soon because of this terrible meal, was very sad that I couldn't send my family off having had a better meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.8 mi away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
1.7 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 74 in Cardiff
585 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,222 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#2 of 47 in Cardiff
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maltsters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maltsters

Address: 42 Cardiff Road | Llandaff, Cardiff CF5 2DS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Cardiff > Llandaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Price Range: $111 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maltsters 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maltsters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maltsters Hotel Cardiff
Maltsters Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing